Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Denman (James) Middle School 5

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
My kid is a high achiever coming from Miraloma and is extremely happy at Denman. The amazing teachers are keeping him engaged, and have gained his respect from day one. He doesn't feel a difference in class size (going from 25 to 35) because the kids behave and are respectful towards their teachers. There is a lot of technology at the school as the principal makes it a priority. They have robotics club, Maker lab, coding elective and it is one of the first four schools to get computer science in the core curriculum in all grades. The school is becoming very desired and even with expansion to 750 students this year (from around 600), there is a long waitlist. You're lucky if you can get in!!

Denman (James) Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
jDMS was our feeder. My daughter chose this school sight unseen, based upon information listed about clubs, enrichment and other. She has had the best 6th grade experience, better than we could have hoped for entering middle school. With the combination of energetic Teachers, staff, and excellent PE program it has been nothing short of excellent. In her words " I am learning so much!" A true bonus school and hidden gem. I almost don't want to share!


Denman (James) Middle School 4

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Denman has been the perfect school for our 8th grade daughter. She has found acceptance, friendship, and opportunities for growth way beyond what our family expected from a middle school. The teachers are wonderful, administration has a vision and pursues it, and the parents are great as well. My wife and I have made good friends here, too! The school has many clubs, my daughter participates in two or three of them a year.

Denman (James) Middle School 4

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
My son only recently started at Denman. We are part of a growing group of families coming from the Miraloma Feeder. We are pleased with the school, so far. The teaching seems top notch. The principal has vision and passion. She is spearheading many new innovative programs. My son is making friends and feels safe and comfortable at school. It is a friendly welcoming environment. The student body is diverse in every way and that only enriches my child's learning experience. It is one of the few school that I toured that is implementing the district Restorative practices program fully and with real commitment. This is a school going through rapid change and it is exciting to be a part of those changes. We like that this is one of the smaller public middle schools in the city. The after school program is great and free. The school is a gem in the rough still some polishing needed, but well on it's way!

Denman (James) Middle School 5

Posted March 14, 2011
- a community member
James Denman is a great school! Their teachers are great and educate you fairly well. I began in 6th grade with a 7th grade reading level and ended with a 10th grade reading level. The best part of the school is their Band/Orchestra. The class has lots of spirit and the teacher is hilarious! Those are the memories I'll remember the most. It's also a very diverse school with friendly people. The counselors are understanding and open to talk most of the time. The best part is that the school has many clubs for students to join. I joined about 3-4 clubs and it was a blast! You meet new people and you become a bigger part of the community. Speaking of community, they have a garden next to the school where students are able to work with plants to beautify the community. The only con would be PE. I didn't feel very worked out because they provided us with a lot of free time. Otherwise, I would rate this school a 9/10.


Denman (James) Middle School 5

Posted March 20, 2010
- a student
man james denman middle school is the bessst bestt besssst middle school i ever chose! the best three years of my life in currently an 8th grader going to jdms. and i keep losing my mind about graduating. it makes me wanna cry when i hear graduate because i really love this school and its a good place to meet friends.and when you go here you wont regret because you have good sports teams! and fun field trips like to the giants games and sixs flag but for 8th graders and ahve a greaat time! choose denman! it rocks ima miss denman thats why im going to balboa to be close :D

Denman (James) Middle School
no rating

Posted March 15, 2010
- a student
The school has great fun and caring teachers, although most students do more playing around than working. JDMS has math honor class for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade and has proven to be a pretty good tracks and baseball teams. It also has orchestra, volleyball, and basketball teams. I would rate it 6/10

Denman (James) Middle School 5

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
james denman is the best school my daughter has chosen she loves it and its a very awesome school. she loves it so much since the first time she saw it. i recommed you to chose james denman. she currently about to graduate and says sad for her to leave . she met awesome friends and now she hates to leave it a very good school


Denman (James) Middle School
no rating

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
I recommend your child to go to JDMS. JDMS is a wonderful school.They have Gread Math and Language Arts classes. My son in 6th had a 5th grade reading level now as a 8th grader he has a 9thgrade reading level. JDMS has the 2 best science teachers and they were voted best by SFUSD.They have a great Band and Orchestra program also. Parents dont want there students to go to JDMS beacause they say there many kids who may influence there child to be bad.Well not really true.I say other middle schools children are worst than Denman.

Denman (James) Middle School
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a student
james denman is an awesome school. every day i have fun here.

Nearby schools

Denman (James) Middle School
241 Oneida Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112-3228
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (415) 469-4535
Last modified Denman (James) Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top