Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Francisco Middle School 4

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
I am looking for a grate middle school for my child. The location is hard to parking but the place is save.

Francisco Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2013
- a community member
It's great I love it so far I'm a 6th grader and its The best.People there are so friendly.


Francisco Middle School 5

Posted July 07, 2012
- a community member
This is the best school ever. I had so much fun in this school. The fun parts were having so many activites and camping and other lunch games. And the p.e department has taught kids to play sports so well that they won so many awards

Francisco Middle School 4

Posted November 23, 2011
- a parent
Small school w/ engage and caring staff. In sixth grade, all students are given a planner and taught how to use it. 100% of the teachers use school loop. In sixth grade, there is block scheduling with one teacher for math/science class and a different teacher for language arts/social studies class. In science, they read and have assignments from the newspaper "weather page." They study the scientific method and developed and documented science experiments. The 6th grade goes to the Headlands Institute overnight which is educational, fun and cohesive class experience. The principal parked cars during Fleet Week to pay for it! In 7th grade science, they study biology and genetics. On Halloween they made edible cell models (watermelon with gummy worms, m&ms, etc representing all the basic parts of the cell). Also frog dissection. There will be 3 new science labs soon. In 7th grade LA, they combine lit. w/ social studies - midieval times around the world; reading classic ancient Greek tales, Arabian Nights & King Arthur. They write formal essays, create skits and make posters. Similar to 6th grade. In PE students learn life-long exercise lessons like how to ride a bike!

Francisco Middle School 5

Posted November 26, 2009
- a student
I am an eigth grader at Francisco Middle school, I join all sports and is in all honors classes. Once people hear about Francisco MS, they instently think about all the negative things that have happened, but in order to judge this school, you must go here. Our teachers are great, PE is outstanding, and in sports, we very well also. Actually, the softball team made it to championships two years in a row, thanks to wonderful coach Ms. Sui, and helping coach Mr. Jung. Our principal and vice principal, are epsecially what keeps us going. Very helping and very inspiring to all students. I would difinitely, let my children attend this school.


Francisco Middle School
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a student
Overall, Francisco is a good school. Except for the rare fights and occasional mini food fights. As long as you do your part, nobody is going to punch you for no reason. I graduated from Francisco in 2009 as a school newspaper editor with outstanding algebra skills and top student in U.S. History. There are some good teachers in Francisco that really do beyond their part. Special thanks to James Michael Estes, my English and US History teacher, and my editor-in-chief for the school newspaper Francisco Free Press. Unfortunately, my class is the last class he taught in Francisco. Also special thanks to Helen Yee, my algebra and science teacher. Her algebra class might get a little dull sometimes, which is the definition of math to a lot of people, but she really teaches algebra. Memories of middle school will remain with me to my grave. -CL

Francisco Middle School
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
The students are the kindest and smartest. The teachers are the best and the administrators are Fabulous!

Francisco Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Despite having the option to attend private school, our daughter has had an excellent experience at Francisco. Her teachers are exciting, devoted, and talented, and she has flourished learning from them. She is in the honors program, which I highly recommend. Even the PE department is exceptional, and has won numerous awards. Definitely consider this school!


Francisco Middle School
no rating

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
The school is very attentive regarding all students and family members.

Francisco Middle School 2

Posted June 04, 2009
- a parent
Thios school has a long way to go. They really need to work hard on their race issues

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francisco Middle School
2190 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA  94133-1949
(415) 291-7900
Last modified Francisco Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francisco Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top