Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glen Park Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Principle Jean Robertson is amazing in being able to chart a course of change for so many stakeholders in the school and in the community at Glen Park.

Glen Park Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I am thankful for how teachers and administrators understand that education needs to tailor to the needs of the student and isn't success as a one -size-fits-all solution.


Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a community member
Jean Robertson is an outstanding Principal. It has become a neighborhood school the last 2-3 years. My son started kindergarten in 2014. The PTO is very strong and their is a great since of community. Principal Robertson and teachers so far have embraced learning differences and challenges and go the extra mile for our son. Don't go off the GreatSchools.org rating system - go see for yourself!!! A+

Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
We got into Glen Park three years ago. It's our neighborhood school and we went in with a little trepidation because we'd heard mixed things. Luckily principal Jean Robertson came to the school that fall, and has made so many changes that last year -- when our second child got into Glen Park -- we felt extremely lucky. The teachers are great: caring, dedicated, excellent educators. Jean's energy and vision were just what was needed to kick off a true school-wide revitalization. The neighborhood has taken note -- in the past two years, there's been a marked increase of neighborhood families requesting Glen Park -- and the school also continues to attract a diverse student body from Glen Park and beyond, which (to us, anyway) sets it apart from some of the trophy schools in SF. Please don't let our low test scores deter you. That's old data; with Jean's influence, I am confident the numbers will improve soon.

Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
Glen Park School is one of those SF public schools that is making an amazing turn around. Mrs. Robertson, our innovative leader/principal, is beyond capable to make our school one of the most progressive SF public schools. She took her last school, Grattan, from a dump to pretty much the best school in the district. After 3 years of her guidance, we already have pretty much every extra curricular activity, from full arts program (music, instruments, visual, dance) to social emotional programs to our outdoor project-based garden classroom. One thing that might help parents who look at this sight is that the low 2/10 score is based on testing that is more than 2 years old and that actually don't even exist anymore under the new core curriculum. Do not base your idea about our school on that score because it's just not accurate!


Glen Park Elementary School 3

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
I would like to give this school a 3.5 but I feel that it is heading strongly towards a 4-star school. The Principal, Ms. Robertson, is starting her second year. She replaced a popular Principal who had been there for 29 years and Ms. Robertson is bringing a new perspective, new energy and giving the school a invigorated charter. The school has a great after care program and is developing a garden project this year. The only negative lies in Parental involvement. Many of the other top schools and even schools on par with Glen Park have PTO organization that raise over $300k a year. Glen Park is well under $100k. The PTO is improving but it will take a lot of highly motivated parents to push this school up to the levels of Alvarado, Clarendon and even Sunnyvale. But we will keep trying!

Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
Hoping this school will remain a SF Hidden Jewel, we are VERY happy with the diverse staff, warmth, and down to earth PTO this school community has. Currently there is a FT Counselor, Literacy Specialist, Outdoor Education Coordinator. School leadership is pushing literacy and empathy curriculm so only good things are to come.

Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
Glen Park is a great school with a student population that is truly representative of the great diversity that San Francisco offers. Glen Park has great teachers and a very, very competent new principal. My son has attended Glen Park since Kindergarten. He is in 4th grade now and is excelling.


Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started Kindergarten this year and we have been very happily surprised by Glen Park. The parent involvement is strong and the new principal is highly promising. I believe that Glen Park is becoming a strong and enjoyable school. The teacher has been facilitating the transition and my daughter, who typically has difficulty with changes and transitions, has been supported in the right way to ease that big adjustment. We are hoping to get involved more and more and to support this school in its efforts.

Glen Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
My son will be 1st Grade on August 19,2013. My Son Really Love This School, The Teachers Are Really Nice. The Building Are Nice. My Son Went Summer School There. His Sister Also Went To Glen Park Elementary School Too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glen Park Elementary School
151 Lippard Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94131
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (415) 469-4713
Last modified Glen Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top