Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Guadalupe Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Frederico, and Ms. Farr are fantastic and dedicated teachers. They have both made lasting impact on my grandsons. They have been supportive and encouraging.

Guadalupe Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
Speaking from our families experience only, I have to say that we are challenged to encourage more persistence, grit and determination in my grandsons to endure the bullying and mistreatment from these few students.


Guadalupe Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
The school had a strong program that developed respect in its students in the past. That is no longer evident.

Guadalupe Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
The students are confused. The administration has not addressed their reasons for supporting negative behavior with the student body.

Guadalupe Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
The actions of the current administration supports negative and bullying behavior. This contradicts the lessons and policy of the past few years.


Guadalupe Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2016
- a community member
Both my grandsons attend Guadalupe. The older of the two is in 5th and the younger in Kindergarten. Their experiences are very different and worth reporting. The school was a surprisingly good elementary option from preschool through the 5th grade for my older grandson. The teachers were for the most part attentive and engaged and the administration supported them with good anti-bullying and good citizenship policies. That has drastically changed with the new principal and now there are children attending in the lower grades who regularly defy adults (parents and teachers) with foul language and behavior. The teachers are intimidated and not supported by the administration who actively support the misbehaving children in front of the adults, students and teachers they attacked. My daughter was physically attacked by one of the children and my husband and grandsons have endured verbal and physical attacks. The veteran teachers who are concerned told my daughter they are helpless and implore her and other parents to make it known. It used to be a good school but I can't recommend it now.

Guadalupe Elementary School 5

Posted June 19, 2006
- a teacher
The teachers at this Excelsior neighborhood school collaborated over many meetings and put in hours and days of extra work to create a grant with the San Francisco Education Fund to weed outthe library and purchase a wide variety of new and vibrant books to help their English Language Learners grow. They cleaned up the library and are barcoding all the new books to be checked out via a computer system. This is a dedicated staff. The principal this year was new following another principal who'd been there for over 10 years. Parent involvement is beginning to grow.

Guadalupe Elementary School 4

Posted November 25, 2004
- a parent
Guadalupe teachers are hard working and dedicated. You can see consistency in discipline policies across the grade levels. Staff is friendly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Guadalupe Elementary School
859 Prague Street, San Francisco, CA  94112-4516
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (415) 469-4718
Last modified Guadalupe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top