Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hoover (Herbert) Middle School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 04, 2016
- a community member
There are a couple of parents that put in a lot of work volunteering and trying to make a difference.

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 04, 2016
- a community member
Seems like there are so many days that the student has no homework at all. I haven't seen a tough assignment from school yet.


Hoover (Herbert) Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a community member
There are some teachers that do not care. They seem like that are just putting in their time before retirement.

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 04, 2016
- a community member
Not fair to student when teachers don't try to do a good job teaching. The students are trying to learn and teachers are not setting a example example.

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School 2

Posted April 04, 2016
- a community member
My child had a few terrible teachers. Disorganized, uncaring, do not listen. Tried to talk to a teacher about an assignment and teacher just walked away. Spoke to a counselor which said there was nothing they could do. Just terrible.


Hoover (Herbert) Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2015
- a community member
I'm a seventh grader this years and I love Hoover. I am graduating in 2016. Some of the teachers aren't really good, but a bigger majority of the teachers are really good at teaching. The counselors are super nice. Hoover gives you freedom and that's what a kid want but they don't give you too much freedom so it doesn't get out of hand. There are also a lot of sports programs. I'm glad to to be a hawk. Lets Go Hoover Hawks!!!!!!!

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School 1

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
I've had two kids in this school and the school continues to change and with each change things are more unstable, unhappy teachers, fights and bullying among studnets with a teacher right there and they won't intervene. It is ok for student to attack another student and the victim is not allow to defend themselves, the bully is not punished and sent to behavioral change classes which doesn't change the bullying. So yeah, this is a very large school and yeah the bullying getting is worst, sometimes the bullying is done by the teachers. So I'm really disgusted right now. Then there's the PTA fund. In 2012-2013 school year, we found out that over $6000 was spent on food and the money didn't go to better the school for the students or staff to provide an better learning environment. This school year 2013-2014, there is almost no parent involvement and the PTA is doing as little as possible. I am sad to see how much this school has changed when my oldest went here to the way it is now. There's no information going home to the parents so even being at the school or talking to other parents who are involved, there is nothing.

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School 4

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is about to complete her first year in Spanish immersion at Hoover. The two Spanish-language teachers (Spanish and Social Studies) are new(ish), and there are disciplinary issues that sometimes disrupt class time. I'm unimpressed with her Science teacher, but that hasn't held back her progress. Otherwise, our experience with Hoover has been very good. My daughter loves band and has gotten a lot out of the program. Her English and Math teachers are first rate. One of the reasons we chose Hoover was their adoption of ALEKS, a terrific math software program that adapts to the individual's grasp of the subject matter. I always get prompt response from her teachers when I contact them via Schoolloop. I've been happy with the social aspects as well. There are lots of clubs and sports available, and from day one the student body was welcoming to the incoming sixth graders. I haven't had direct experience with the discipline problems other reviewers mentioned, so I can't speak to that. But I am impressed by the principal's commitment to the school community, and the positive social and anti-bullying sentiment school-wide.


Hoover (Herbert) Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
II work for the SFUSD and have substituted at Hoover in the past. My family lives in the attendance area that feeds into Hoover. It's hard to believe what has happened to this school under the current administration. Because of a lack of discipline for the chronically disruptive students, the entire school suffers. There are no consequences for behavior which is totally unacceptable. The last time I filled in for a teacher, I was verbally abused by some students, in front of the entire class. I reported it to the office. (The rest of the students were fine, btw) When I returned the following week, nothing had been done. I found out that I was not the only member of the staff who had experienced the same type of "verbal bullying" without any consequences. I love teaching, but, will not send my 2 sons to Hoover. If this can happen to me, I do not want my sons to experience the same thing; disrespect, verbally bullying, and allowing a few kids to disrupt classes, while the administration closes it's eyes.

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
Have had 2 kids here . Good teachers, but the administration (the principle at the head) do not handle discipline issues, turn their backs to it, no consequences and pushes a policy of inflating grades. No wonder the grades are meaningless and the teachers demoralized. My last child will go into private school next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hoover (Herbert) Middle School
2290 14th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94116-1841
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (415) 759-2783
Last modified Hoover (Herbert) Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top