Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


63 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
We love Lakeshore and our kids love school! With three kids, we have worked with many of the great teachers at Lakeshore and I am continuously amazed by the quality of teaching. There is attention paid to the abilities of each child and with focus on great reading and writing programs, math, arts, social studies and environmental sciences I feel that our kids are getting an amazing foundation. I love the diversity of the population, the green environment and the projects and community events.

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a teacher
I've been teaching at Lakeshore for nearly 20 years, and many of my colleagues have been here almost or just as long. There's quite a lot to love about this school, most recently we are loving our new administrator, Mr. Hartford, who has come in with fresh energetic positivity and the ability to parlay that into new academic initiatives that we teachers are fully behind. Lakeshore has touched the lives of a diverse community of San Franciscans over the years. I am proud to have been part of this community and look forward to continuing. Lakeshore staff believe in educating the whole kid, not just the part that gets tested, and we know that childhood learning is a journey not a race and that each child goes at their own pace. We have high expectations and give every child the tools to continue on their path.


Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Lakeshore has a beautiful campus, great teachers and enrichment programs and a really wonderful new Principal. This week our kids named school as one of their five favorite things. They come home joyful and full of stories and new things learned in the classrooms, gardens, art studio and community room. Most of all we love the multicultural population and the way the curriculum is designed to bring this perspective into all the subjects taught. This is an urban school for the 21st century where children are exposed to a community both international and local, where they learn ecology in nature and where they will form long lasting friendships.

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
What a difference a year makes! We have a fantastic new principal who is energetic, enthusiastic, and personable. The vibe this first week back has been amazing. Teachers are refreshed and looking forward to having a leader who will advocate for them. Students have a leader who encourages and motivates them to be at their best for their community. Parents have a leader who they feel has their children's best interest at heart and a passion for education. I am so glad we stuck it out and looking forward to the coming year, and years, ahead for our family!

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
I believe that in Elementary School, the most important thing is the quality of the teachers, since your child will primarily be spending their teaching time with one person. The reason I am so enthusiastic about LakeShore is the quality of the teachers. They have many teachers in the "sweet spot" - very experienced but not worn out. My son (going into fourth) has had a strong relationship with each teacher, and I have been impressed with how much they accomplish each year. The teachers have been available and open to talking to us about any concerns. Lakeshore is a diverse school with a lot of spirit. The children are happy, and kindergardeners get plenty of recess as well as strong acacemics. "Tours" often don't let you see the quality of what is going on in the classroom, but it is the most important thing.


Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Lakeshore has a great history of parent involvement. The curriculum has many enhancement programs paid for by the PTA such as poetry, visual arts, movement, choral music, and drama. The teachers are dedicated and hard-working as they focus on what's best for children's growth. The school community is on a positive trend with new administration and parents working together.

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I appreciate the school commitment to environmental awareness through various curricula, including the gardening program. The school's commitment to mindfulness in regard to interpersonal relationships is refreshing. Lakeshore is a large and diverse school. It is inspiring to see students, staff and caregivers work through conflict and emerge stronger and committed to the success of the whole.

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
We love our school, it's diversity of students and programs like Gardening, Motor Perception and Studio Art. Lakeshore has fabulous, committed teachers and staff. The before and after school programs Everyday Magic and Excel are amazing and accomodate working parents schedules. There are also Mandarin and Cantonese before and after school programs if you are interested in another language.


Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
We have two children attending lakeshore. We have had some very special moments here. The PTA funded programs are amazing: art with Sharon, gardening with Martha and Jean, music with Steve, just to mentioned a few. The teachers are very much committed to the students and to fostering relationships with parents. We are hoping administration this coming school year will bring together the lakeshore community of parents, teachers/staff, and consultants.

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children who attend Lakeshore and they both love it. The teachers we've had are wonderful and had went up and beyond for them and built a good relationship with each of them. We are so glad we are part of the Lakeshore community ... Oh and the parents involvement is also really good. It's an amazing group effort all around

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School
220 Middlefield Drive, San Francisco, CA  94132
(415) 759-2825
Last modified Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lakeshore Alternative Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top