Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lick (James) Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2013
- a community member
james lick brings back a lot of good memorys.. im an ex student (69) ! ! yes a very long time but it was one of the best experience that I had..and it still brings a smile to my face whenever I think about my time at James Lick,,,

Lick (James) Middle School 4

Posted January 05, 2013
- a community member
I really enjoy attending Lick. I do feel challenged academically and I am glad I picked it. I have found problems with our principal, who changed the dress code this year to make it much stricter and less admitting. Lots of my friends are there with me, so it loosened the tension last year. Overall, it's a pretty good school, even with its history of gangs and bullying and violence.


Lick (James) Middle School 3

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
My daughter just started this year. I have heard good things, but some negative comments about the principal. I am hoping my daughter adapts. Today I already heard something I didn't like with disruptive kids.

Lick (James) Middle School 4

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
The only year that worked for us was 6th grade, although I loved almost all my son's teachers. When the past principal left a lot of them left with him as well as the academic performance and spirit. New administration tends to be patronizing and condescending when you make a suggestion or a comment as parent. It most be hard for those great teachers that remained. Parents need to stand their ground and ACT, put pressure and protect their kids from becoming the tail of Lion.

Lick (James) Middle School 2

Posted April 19, 2010
- a student
Most students are disruptive, and there are quite a few bad teachers. I don't feel challenged at all at James Lick. The whole school community is suffering because of the budget cuts.


Lick (James) Middle School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
My Daughter is in 6th Grade at James Lick this year. She absolutely LOVES her new school. She says this school is the best thing that has ever happened to her! The other kids are great and she has made a lot of new friends. The teachers are great and the after school program offers lots of different activities. The Musical Theater program and the Art classes are also great. I would recommend this school to anyone.

Lick (James) Middle School
no rating

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended James Lick for the past three years. Most of her teachers were amazingly dedicated and strong. I am concerned about the future of the school based on my interactions with the new principal and vice principal. I must say that I felt heard about issues but no real action took place to remedy problems and I felt that I was looked upon as atrouble maker. Hopefully, this year will run smoother and parent voices will be heard.

Lick (James) Middle School 4

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
My daughter was well prepared for high school honors classes - she enjoyed going to James Lick My son is in 7th grade and is challenged and enjoys school - both my kids are high achieving GATE students and they were well served at James Lick - I feel that the differentiation really worked better than segregated tracks. Strong art program, lots of community building with the student and family community


Lick (James) Middle School 5

Posted April 05, 2009
- a student
I was a student at this school. I graduated in 2008. This school is a very good school. All of the teacher are hard on us, but was good that they was. I am very happy that i wen't to that school and if you are reading this you should make your child so to this school. This is a true jlms graduated

Lick (James) Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
We've been thrilled with James Lick. My daughter is thriving academically and socially. The teachers are talented and dedicated. They give 150 percent to the kids. My daughter is doing great in all her academic subjects--even math, which hasn't been her favorite subject in the past. She also loves all the arts that are available, including chorus, dance, and studio art electives and a musical theater production of 'Bye Bye Birdie' as an after-school activity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lick (James) Middle School
1220 Noe Street, San Francisco, CA  94114-3714
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (415) 695-5675
Last modified Lick (James) Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top