Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
My daughter started K this year, and we have two other kids who will follow her there. We are *thrilled*. A few things that stand out: the teaching staff is absolutely excellent (teacher organized a play date with all the families at the start of the year, she is constantly writing home and very involved with the families, the kids adore her, and my daughter is excited to read and do math); the administration is responsive, present, proactive and inspiring; the school resources are just remarkable, from a kiln to speech therapists to reading specialists to outdoor science instruction (with a dedicated science and garden teacher!); the physical facility is attractive and clean; the community is remarkably diverse, which is especially important to my family (my kids are black); after school program is just super (yoga, singing, ballet, lots of crafts, good snacks, warm care providers); parental involvement is outstanding (90% of parents in our class gave money, many are frequently in the classroom and helped with a maintenance day); community resources are very cool (two live theatre performances at a children's theatre, field trips to natural science and fine arts museums, etc.); discipline is warm and proactive and generally the community of families is inclusive and friendly. I am thrilled to be at this school and just so thankful it is nine years! I also really like that the K-2 campus is separate from the 3-8 -- it's nice to have a nurturing and small campus for the young kids. Thank you Claire Lilienthal.

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Clarissa -- our K teacher -- is an incredible teacher, leader and person. She clearly is a teacher out of true vocation and passion. Thank you for your warmth, your skill and your deep commitment.


Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
So far, excellent. Our K teacher is simply amazing. So warm, yet clear limits. Very inspiring to students, and very tuned in to the social emotional growth.

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
AT least in K it is just a requirement to read five books a week and for the kids to write them down and draw a picture. There is a formal discussion including everyone right now (led by Principal) about appropriate level.

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
It is a public school... but generally it's a pretty sweet place. There is pretty good adult supervision at recess, etc., but there still are kids from many different backgrounds making their way.


Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Lots of healthy discussions around racial diversity, inclusion of special needs kids, restorative justice, and overall good communication.

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Love the full inclusion program, and the "lunch bunch" to bring inclusion students (special needs) together with mainstream students for conversation and friendship.

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School 2

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Two kids at CL starting in the mid 2000. Lower grades were very good but in middle school falls apart. CL can't afford any secondary language (incl Korean), formal art, music or science lab. PTA does raises lot of money to support great track and field and outdoor ed program. 6th grade math and science is taught by an instructors who my children, and myself, found to be an incomprehensible rambler (she is on sabbatical this year). Both 7th and 8th grade science and math are taught by two individuals who are disorganized, and unable to control a class room. Efforts to work with them to publish the homework on line was dismissed. The administration could not compel them to do it, even with the availability of good online HW and grade tracking tool. Use of tutors with science and math home schooling is the accepted norm which explain the test scores. My kids are not prepared for high school math/science. I am suspect of the high scores. Consider CL for grade school but be prepared to look for a middle school that provides those "extras" and a wider and more competent teacher base with a more responsive administration. In hindsight, I regret staying at CL.


Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School 4

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
Have 3 kids in the school. None have special needs. They are learning and thriving.

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School 3

Posted September 24, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at Claire Lilienthal for all of the years (K-8). I really enjoyed going to the school until I hit 3rd grade. The teachers are very good at helping the kids hit the standard, as well as helping students who need extra help. As a student who generally had no problem understanding the concepts they were trying to teach, there was nothing to do. The teachers insist on teaching everything for the remedial students, but have no experience teaching students who accel in a given class. The school tends to focus most on the students who need help, along with the students who present behavioral problems. As a student who had neither issue, I coasted through the system, but was never challenged. That being said, it is a public school, and one of the better ones in San Francisco. The PTA does a tremendous job of fundraising, we have many all school events, and the teachers make an effort to connect to the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School
3630 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA  94123-1411
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (415) 749-3516
Last modified Lilienthal (Claire) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top