Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marshall (Thurgood) High School 4

Posted December 16, 2012
- a parent
I am the parent of twins here. They have excelled at Thurgood. There is lots of clubs, sports and different activities for them to be involved in here. They have maintained honor roll grades while taking honor classes. The teachers seem to really challenge these young bright minds. I am very happy with our choice of Thurgood!

Marshall (Thurgood) High School 2

Posted April 20, 2011
- a parent
the student is OK, but the teacher don't know what is schoolloop, after two years been on the internet. i talk to te principle, he said two years ONLY, give him more time, what kind of school with this team


Marshall (Thurgood) High School 5

Posted November 15, 2009
- a parent
For us, Thurgood Marshall Academic High School has been the perfect school: great depth and breadth of curricular offerings, reasonable class size, excellent teachers. There are lots of sports, clubs, and other extra-curricular activities. Marshall is also a San Francisco Math Circle site.

Marshall (Thurgood) High School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Thurgood Marshall is working hard to make the school one of the best in San Francisco. AVID and Dream Academy are just a few programs that are inspiring the students to have better than average grades to move on to four year colleges.

Marshall (Thurgood) High School
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
Thurgood Marshall may not be the school with the highest test scores but its the home of many, many wonderful students and faculty.


Marshall (Thurgood) High School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
I am a senior at thurgoodand i've felt nothing but hope at this school. More and more the students try their best and that all that matters. Sure there are a few bad seeds, but doesn't every wise tree give a few bad seeds? I was considered a bad seed when i first entered thurgood, I had double english classes in my 9th and 10th grade year but in my 11th grade year i was in english honors. I worked hard and got what I deserved! All my years here, I have been involved in the polynesian club, people think you have to be polynesian to join but you don't many of the club members aren't polynesians! Marshall Students Are The Future! Schedule a visit and come on down you won't be sorry!

Marshall (Thurgood) High School 5

Posted June 30, 2007
- a parent
I am a proud parent of Junior at Thurgood. Starting with her discovery as a freshwoman three years ago of 'good teachers' and 'good students' I volunteered at the school in the mornings and evenings, joined the PTSA and Site Council. I found dedicated staff, sharp teachers, and a small school setting very supportive of my daughter. We have both worked hard to improve not only her grades, and what she learns, but to make sure we have good courses, our arts and sports programs back. Starting with 9 people on the PTSA, growing it to 40 her sophmore year, and 140, her junior year. Our goal this coming year will be 200. Thurgood is a small school (700 students) with a very diverse population. Opportunities to participate in leadership development, sports, and clubs are very good. My daughter has fun playing volleyball, and serving as her class president. Join Us.

Marshall (Thurgood) High School 5

Posted June 27, 2007
- a parent
Thurgood Marshall is one of the best High Schools in San Francisco! Currently two of my children are enrolled there, one is going to be a senior and the other will be a sophmore. The school staff is incredible. Parents are encourage to be envolved in the school by both volunteering, attending school events, and PTSA and SSC meetings. The teachers are well educated and really know how to relate to the student's needs. My daughter, the senior, started needing both 9th grade english and english support and just last year she was enrolled in 11th grade Honors English! I truely believe she wouldn't have been able to achieve this at any other SF Public School. I look forward to my 3rd child attending there in 3 years. Please schedule a visit and check it out for yourself, I don't think you'll be sorry!


Marshall (Thurgood) High School 4

Posted February 05, 2007
- a student
I am a student at thurgood marshall and I picked thurgood marshall over lowell and washington, and for the three years that I have been here, I have no regrets on my decision. The teachers are amazing and so is the administration and students.

Marshall (Thurgood) High School
no rating

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
Marshall needs lot of improvements. My son and we parents were dissapointed that half ofstudents were not willing to learn at school at least. He is leaving for one of U.Cs. I hope a new principal can make restructuring this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marshall (Thurgood) High School
45 Conkling Street, San Francisco, CA, San Francisco, CA  94124-1931
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (415) 695-5612
Last modified Marshall (Thurgood) High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top