Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
63 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 115 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter completed kindergarten with Mr. Kallock. He was exceptional in developing powerful relationships with the kids and also scaffolding their academic and social-emotional learning. Principal Sousa has also been a beacon of warmth, intelligence, caring for the entire community. We now have Ms Charkins as our teacher in first grade. She has elevated learning and curiosity and dignity in the students to higher level. The last but not least component is the passionate and committed group of parents. We feel very fortunate to have such a wonderful public school in our neighborhood. McKinley has exceeded our expectations.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Both my children have thrived at McKinley. My oldest is now at Everett Middle School (McKinley's feeder school) and she and her McKinley alumni peers represented a significant portion of the honor roll students in the third quarter. It's quite a testament to the strong foundation they received at McKinley.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
From his first day at McKinley Elementary several years ago, my son has thrived. With one exception (in an early grade), we have been very pleased with the teachers our son has had. And my spouse and I found an open and inclusive group of parents and caregivers at the school. The administration, teachers, PTA and students all contribute to making this a high-quality elementary school in the middle of San Francisco.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
McKinley is an incredibly strong school right in the heart of San Francisco. While our API score is impressive (899) what speaks even more to McKinley's strength as a place for all children to learn is the staff. Starting with the school principal and going right on down through each of the grade-level teachers to the other learning professionals there is a strong focus on literacy (we have a PTA-sponsored literacy specialist doing early grade-level interventions with students), respect for learning and community, and a desire to help every student to the best of his/her ability. There is a very diverse student body (the most equal mix of African-American, Latino, Asian, and European caucasian I have seen at any San Francisco school) and a well-run after-school program. The parent community is very strong and fundraising makes sure we have an excellent arts and science program. I could not be happier with this school for my kids and our family.

McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Leaning into the new school year, McKinley is poised to start another fall term with the long standing, traditional welcome cook out. This is one of many culturally positive, inclusive events that are designed to build, tighten and strengthen an already strong community by building ways for new families to weave into the strong fabric of an excellent school.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
Feels like a private school. Small and efficient. My son is now in 1st grade and we have absolutely adored our teachers so far. It seems everyone is happy with their teachers. My son loves going to school. He says he wishes there were more school days and misses it on the weekends. We feel very lucky.

McKinley Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
fantastic community of parents students and faculty!

McKinley Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 02, 2010
- a community member
Awesome school, kids and teachers!


McKinley Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2010
- a parent
I love education and the idea of smart, prepared, interested kids..taking their place in the world..america is in bad shape..mind and body..

McKinley Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2010
- a parent
We have great, committed and kind teachers, joyful learning kids, and wonderful parent involvement. Good diversity and it's within walking distance!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McKinley Elementary School
1025 14th Street, San Francisco, CA  94114-1221
(415) 241-6300
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
McKinley Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 115 reviews. Top