Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miraloma Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 364 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2006

Miraloma was not on our first round list of schools due to it's proximity to our home. We did however add it to our second round list and were thrilled when we were assigned to it. Two weeks after starting, our daughter got accepted to a private school we were considering. We decided to stay at Miraloma. Our daughter is in first grade, this is our second year. She is reading well above state standards, is doing second grade level math and gets art through every lesson. The school has a poetry and a phy. ed. program that is funded in part through the PTA. The school is safe, diverse both ethnically and economically, the teachers and principal are exceptional and accessible, and we are part of an amazing community. The school also has a great afterschool program, a must for a family with two working
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2005

This is a wonderful school where you feel everything is how it should be. The kids are happy and the parents are very involved. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable to all. The strong principal and teaching staff make this a great place for any child to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

Miraloma is an amazing small, friendly school, and it keeps getting better. Marcia Parrot, the principal, is dedicated and knows most students by name. She personally assures that all the teachers are great, and has lots of training opportunitys for them. Many parents are from local co-op nursery schools, and used to working 20+ hours/week for the school. What more could you want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

We've just started in Kindergarten and love the strong sense of community that Miraloma has. The principal is great and has a broad vision for the school which is to focus on each child. There are dedicated teachers who go above and beyond to make the learning experience a good one for every child. We also really like the aftercare program because it is structured and flexible and has been a great way for our child to meet other children across the grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

I think Miraloma is an up-and-coming school that is really beginning to turn itself around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We had a lot of anxiety over choosing the right school for our children. We are so happy with Miraloma Elementary and are pleased at how our children have grown. The teachers are very friendly and approachable. The parents are great and are really working hard to improve the quality of education at the school. The principal is a tireless leader who has pulled this school together and created a wonderfully safe and enriching atmosphere for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2004

I had 4 children who attended Miraloma. This school and the district have all the same curriculum--I should know I worked for the SFUSD for 18years. the students are below average. I moved to another County and my children were below average for their grades in comparision to the other children. After one school term at their new public school my children improved tremendously. That was 4 years ago, now our eldest daughter is a straight A student approaching Calculus this summer in school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

We happened on Miraloma 2 years ago and do not regret turning down our spot in what was our 'first choice' schlool. Marcia Parrott is an amazing Principal; she knows every student by first name and is intimately involved with every students education. My son has had the most talented and dedicated teachers I have had the privledge of getting to know. They are alway open and egar to discuss my son's progress and willing to change to suit each child's needs. The Mirlaoma Educational Enrichment Program (MEEP) is a wonderful afterschool program. Students learn Karate, study Drama, and have access to Forign Language Study as well as time for homework and outdoor play! The Miraloma PTA is an amazing, growing organization! All of the parents and staff members who are involved truly love what they do and are dedicated to making Miraloma the best school in San Francisco!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

Our son is five and originally started kindergarten at an expensive private school, but was soon asked to leave because they found him unwilling to participate in a meaningful way. We soon thereafter enrolled him at Miraloma where he quickly was made to feel welcome by his new teacher and classmates. Best of all our son is finding his new school to be a most enjoyable experience. As parents, you simply know when your child is happy and doing well. We now couldn't imagine our son going to school anywhere else or getting a better education at any price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2003

We have a kindergartener at Miraloma Elementary School, which is located on top of Mt. Davidson in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. We feel very lucky to be at Miraloma. The small school feeling makes it easy to build a community where parents, teachers, students and staff come together to make it a very welcoming place. Together we are continuing our goals for making academic achievement, health and safety, and a comprehensive arts curriculum a priority, so our children can thrive. Some of my favorite things about Miraloma that I think make it a special place are the morning assembly, the weekly sing-along, the bright and sunny school facility, the growing parent community, the fabulous and dedicated teachers, an outstanding, friendly and committed principal, and a diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

I have a kindergartner and a second grader. When we started at Miraloma the energy and excitement was beginning to build, now I see all the hard work has been appreciated. The school community has grown and we are so excited that other people have noticed. Miraloma is an example of the staff and parents working and achieving together -with nothing more than our children in mind. Marcia Parrot is the kind of principal who is on the playground, in the classroom and there for the kids, parents and staff. Her dedication is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2003

Miraloma is everything we hoped elementary school would be for our child outstanding teachers, top-notch facility and a wonderful sense of community among families. On several occasions, different teachers have confided that they love teaching at Miraloma and that they have a advocate and mentor in Principal Marcia Parrott. My child s teachers have both been talented educators with insightful perspectives on my son. What was one of my greatest concerns going into the school has turned out to be a personal joy the energetic and friendly parent group. Parent involvement has grown exponentially since Ms. Parrott joined the school 4 years ago and is making great contributions to the arts program, improving the facility, supporting the teachers and much, much more. There is a sense of excitement at Miraloma as well as a commitment to the needs of all the children and families in this diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

The leadership provided by the Principal, the quality of the teachers, and the level of parent involvement is exemplary. The Principal maintains order in a cheerful manner, from the beginning of the day with the orderly morning drop-off scene, the welcoming and community-building 'morning circle', to the end of the day, with the orderly pick-ups scene. Ms. Parrott seems to have a simple-to-follow, efficient way of handling all aspects of the running of the school, and a warm and welcoming presence. The teachers knowledge base is extensive, and their enthusiasm for their work and genuine interest in the children is everything a parent could want. The PTA raises thousands of dollars for supporting wonderful activities and programs at the school and so far I've seen no evidence of politics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2003

I have two children at Miraloma--one in fifth grade and one in first grade. They are both extremely happy and doing great academically and socially. They have had amazingly gifted teachers and the school gets better and better every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

We are new to Miraloma this year. The school came highly recommended through a group of Co-op Parents we have worked with. Miraloma has history, diversity and a commitment to the family. I believe that the teachers, staff, curriculum and facilities are essentials to building a good school. But a great school is birthed when the good school is empowered and served by active families in a context of broad history and diversity. Miraloma's leadership has welcomed us as parents. The commitment of the entire community is contributing towards the making of one of San Francisco's better schools. A community of participants, not consumers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2003

My daughter started at Miraloma this fall. We are very happy with her kindergarten (17 kids), the class and the school. I've spoken to at least 10 other parents new to the school who say the same thing. Several parents I've spoken to have been in the waiting pool for other schools and would not now change even if a spot opened up in their original first choice school. Miraloma is small and personal, with has a great principal who is involved in every aspect of the school, and hugely supportive of the staff. The teachers are happy and committed. The building is large, bright and clean, in a totally quiet and safe neighborhood with a playground next door. It has an auditorium and a gym as well as a large lunchroom. There is A LOT of parent involvement- parents are staffing the library, helping in the computer lab etc- and the PTA is currently raising money for an arts program. This is a school with a great buzz and a lot of well-founded optimism among parents and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2003

We liked Miraloma from the first moment we stepped in its doors for a tour. Now that we're there we love it. Our son loves to go to school, and we are ever impressed witht the curricular things he tells us are going on in his classroom. Everyone -the parents, the teachers, the principal - is dedicated to doing what is best for the students. Having the neighborhood park adjacent to the park is great and more than makes up for the lack of afterschool activities. Our son does take Spanish after school on site, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2003

My son started kindergarten this year. As a shy child, I anticipated he would be lost in the crowd, but his teacher and classmates have brought him out and he is thriving. I am impressed with the parent participation, so much so, that I have joined the PTA and School Site Council to become more active myself. Miraloma is an overlooked gem with great leadership and outstanding community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2003

My son is in kindergarten and so far we are thrilled with Miraloma. He loves school and his teacher. I have yet to see or hear anything to make me think less of the school. Everyone is friendly, the program seems top notch, the facility is fantastic and my son is happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

898

Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

898

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females100%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females100%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females73%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state75%

Math

All Students83%
Females74%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females86%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students60%
Females66%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to state45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females93%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females93%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students89%
Females96%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 27%
Two or more races 18% 3%
Asian 15% 11%
Black 9% 7%
Hispanic 8% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50am
School end time
  • 1:50pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ron Machado
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 469-4069

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • MUNI

Miraloma Elementary School Afterschool Enrichment Program (ExCEL Program) (after school program)

About the program
  • Stonestown YMCA provides enrichment, recreation, academic support and field trips to students everyday after school.SFUSD ExCEL afterschool programs ensure involvement of teachers from students' schools to make sure that afterschool academics are aligned with the school day curriculum. Every school with an ExCEL program partners with a nonprofit community based organization to run activities and build bridges to the neighborhood.
Operated by
  • Stonestown Family YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Website

Miraloma Elementary School MEEP Afterschool Program (after school program)

About the program
  • Miraloma Educational Enrichment Program (MEEP) is an academic and tutorial program for students in grades K-5. Its main purpose is to provide a stimulating and enriching academic environment. MEEP is designed to encourage the academic success of students through positive reinforcement, and strengthening academic learning. MEEP is viewed as an extension of the Miraloma Elementary School community and adheres to SFUSD rules and policies. MEEP’s student body is made up primarily of students from the Miraloma Elementary School, as well as students from surrounding schools.
Operated by
  • Miraloma Educational Enrichment Program (MEEP)
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:30 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
Website

Miraloma Playground (after school program)

Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 5:30 pm
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
Website

Summer program 1

About the program
  • Each program has an academic, enrichment and physical activity component. The programs are based on a youth development model and include project based learning activities. The summer programs are operated by community based organizations that are contracted by SFUSD to provide the services based on grants to the school from California Department of Education. Each organization has a site specific enrollment process. Priority enrollment goes to the students from the school site. Students from other SFUSD schools are eligible to apply though in many of the elementary schools there is more demand than available slots. Funding changes year to year and program offerings change.
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
Operated by
  • Stonestown YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday

Miraloma Educational Enrichment Program (MEEP) Summer Camp (summer program)

About the program
  • Miraloma Educational Enrichment Program (MEEP), located at Miraloma Elementary School, is an afterschool academic and tutorial program for students in grades K-5. MEEP offers summer camps that emphasize art, dance, sciences, chess club, kids club, language arts, or sports (soccer, capture-the-flag, kickball, tennis, and basketball). Field trips are planned for each week, with venues such as the Exploratorium, the Academy of Sciences, the Randall Museum, de Young Museum, a Giants baseball game, and much more. The main focus for 2011 are Mandarin and Spanish Immersion. 2012 Week-long Summer Camp Sessions: Location: Saint Finn Barr School, 419 Hearst Avenue. June 11-July 20: Spanish, grades pre-K2. June 11-July 20: Art, grades pre-K2. Location: Miraloma Elementary, 175 Omar Way. June 11-July 6: Science, grades pre-K2 and grades 3-5. June 11-June 29: Dance, grades vary by week. July 2-July 20: Soccer, grades pre-K2. June 11-June 29: Art, grades pre-K2 and grades 3-5. Days/Times: Mondays through Fridays, 8am-2pm. Cost: 25 per week. Extended care: 2pm-5:30pm (5 per week)
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
Website
Phone number
  • (415) 859-9605
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Denman Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

175 Omar Way
San Francisco, CA 94127
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 469-4734

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oaks Christian Academy
San Francisco, CA



Maria Montessori School
San Francisco, CA


St. Finn Barr School
San Francisco, CA


Sunnyside Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT