Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 491
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
Monroe School is a great school because the Principal is very involved with the parents needs and students. You get after school programs, which are really helpful for parents that work. My daughter is on 1st grade and she is happy with the school and the teachers. Any school is good if the parents get involved in their child education and the principal cares about the parents and student involvement. I only give 4 stars because there is construction going on right now, and it is a little noisy; however the children are safe in the school site. It is great school.

Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been enrolled at Monroe for two years and the experience has been mostly positive. The teachers are great and the curriculum perfect for my child. The diversity of the school is probably it greatest attribute but also one of its greatest challenges. The many cultures, languages and backgrounds make for a well rounded learning environment.


Monroe Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
Monroe is a wonderfully diverse and unique school located in the Excelsior district of San Francisco. The coveted Spanish immersion program has been a wonderful opportunity for our son, and we look forward to another adventure with our incoming kindergartner. The staff and principal are very approachable and warm.

Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
My daughters have been at Monroe for one year. I find the the teaching quality to be excellent. The community and arts programing are really amazing. The curriculum in the bilingual spanish program is really engaging. I love the school. There is massive construction going on at the school, so that will be a challenge. Overall, I've been really pleased.

Monroe Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just finished kindergarten in the Spanish Immersion program and had an excellent experience. The teacher she had was top-notch, and it seems like all the other K teachers were great, too. She went in speaking about 10 words of Spanish and now native Spanish speakers comment on how good her Spanish is. She's also reading really well in English, thrilled with science and math, and experienced some great arts programming. We are really pleased and look forward to another great year. This school is a hidden gem, with a wonderful, warm and social justice focused community.


Monroe Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
I'm so happy that our son got into Spanish Immersion program and this school is so diverse., LOVE it! Teachers and support staffs are Amazing!

Monroe Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
My son is in third grade and we have had an fantastic experience at Monroe. Amazing teachers who keep the kids engaged, and incredible leadership by the principal, Ms Steiner. I was very surprised to see the below comment. All of the parents I know at the school love the school and are in awe of our amazing and dynamic principal, who works so hard for all of the kids.

Monroe Elementary School 1

Posted February 06, 2011
- a parent
The principle and staff members favor students and label others. The principle over reacts and allows her staff and her "favorite" students to mis treat other children..............


Monroe Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
Monroe is proud of its three Academic Programs: * Spanish Two-Way Immersion Program - The Immersion Strands goals are bilingualism and bi-literacy in Spanish and English for students from different language backgrounds while achieving proficiency on state standards. * Cantonese Bilingual Program - The goal is for children from Cantonese speaking households to learn high levels of academic English for the core subjects, while maintaining and enriching their home language of Cantonese. * English Language Development Program - The ELD strand uses English as the sole language of instruction for both English native language speakers and English learners to achieve proficiency on the state adopted curriculum.

Monroe Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2010
- a parent
Great community of staff, students and parents. My daughter's middle school teachers are impressed on how prepared she was for middle school (particularly her Spanish Immersion classes).

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monroe Elementary School
260 Madrid Street, San Francisco, CA  94112
(415) 469-4736
Last modified Monroe Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monroe Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top