Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Moscone (George R.) Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
George Moscone is a wonderful school with great teachers whom love tteaching their students and care very much about their well being. they teach the students to speak three different languages, say the Pledge of Legency. The principal is a very goo person and role model for the students.

Moscone (George R.) Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
They care about the students, my chilldren's teachers always let me know when there is a problem & try to find the best way to deal w/it.


Moscone (George R.) Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is now in the first grade at George Moscone. I have been repeatedly impressed by the quality of her teachers, the administration, and the staff. All are dedicated and professional. She loves school, is eager to learn, and there have been a wide range of educational field trips, even in the 1st grade. Finally they offer an exciting dance and visual arts program that she enjoys tremendously. The major down-side is that after-school offerings are limited and I had difficulty finding an appropriate one for her the kindergarten year.

Moscone (George R.) Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 16, 2008
- a parent
My duaghter just started kindergarten and I am so impressed with Ms Goot! She's incredibly patient, kind and an exceptional educator. The principal, Ms Zielinski, really is very dedicated to her students and the overall success of the school. If you're looking to expand your child's Spanish or Chinese language skills and instill a strong scholastic curriculum, this is the place to bring your child. If you're not a moring person, this will not be the best fit. But, taking into account what's gained, it's so worth waking up earlier. The only drawback is it's low diversity ratio.

Moscone (George R.) Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2007
- a parent
This school is amazing. Students tests are all high level. Ps. All the teachers are pushing their students very hard. I'll give this school two thumbs up. 5 stars = Excellent! :)


Moscone (George R.) Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 09, 2004
- a parent
This school seems very well organized under the (iron) command of Pat Martel. The school is pretty new and very tidy. Discipline is strong but does not seem harsh - I didn't see students being yelled at or threatened, but everyone knew how to behave. The pedagogic approach is, again, disciplined - although the school has many ESL students, the effort is to get all students reading and writing English asap. Although this is not an arts school, kids get dance and art time every week. School starts at 7:50 and timeliness is strongly enforced. This would not be the best school for kids who really can't deal with too much structure, but it seems to be successful with the ones who do attend. I liked the emphasis on trying to assure that everyone achieves and the pride that the principal clearly has in her school.

Moscone (George R.) Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2004
- a parent
I am most impressed with the quality of the staff at Moscone. Every teacher is fully credentialed and the average number of years of teaching experience is 12 years. Most of the staff has worked together at Moscone for almost ten years, and the principal has been at the school for 14 years. The staff makes decisions together and works hard to know and care for each student. Every child (including kinders) is known well by the principal and at least three teachers who are not their own teacher! With this kind of committed staff, it is no wonder I see kids excited about learning, proud of their achievements, and confident about their academic abilities. This is true even for those kids who don't get much academic support at home. It's energizing and inspiring.

Moscone (George R.) Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2004
- a parent
This is a great school. The teachers, staff and principal at Moscone are dedicated to one thing: helping the kids in their care to succeed. It's a no-nonsense environment where the kids know the rules--but also know that they are loved and appreciated. They feel themselves part of a school community, and want to do their best, not only for themselves, but for their families and their school. My daughter's teachers have been remarkable: effective, dedicated and inspiring. We're very happy to have our daughter at Moscone.


Moscone (George R.) Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2003
- a parent
Moscone school is the kind of place you dream about finding in its area. Well-disciplined, academically ahead, ethnically-diverse, economically diverse and always challenging. Moscone students and teachers work to earn respect and they deserve it.

Nearby schools

Moscone (George R.) Elementary School
2576 Harrison Street, San Francisco, CA  94110-2720
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (415) 695-5736
Last modified Moscone (George R.) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top