Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Traditions Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 182 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

Overall, New Traditions is comprised of a great community with highly involved families, along with an ambitious, goal oriented principal with a proven 8 years record of improving the school scores level to the top of SFUSD schools in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

We love our neighborhood school. We love the active parent community, high diversity of students, and the creative bright teachers and friendly principal. Our son had a great experience during his kindergarten and 1st grade years at New Traditions. The teachers were fully engaged.and catered to all of the kid's needs in their classroom. We look forward to the years to come at this up and coming school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

Principal was useless. Just absolutely no idea on how to successfully administer a school that should service and respond to a diverse, culturally-enriched student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

We love this school! It's a warm, caring, compassionate learning environment. My child is thriving here. While this was not our first choice schools, we could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2012

New Traditions is a wonderful school. My child couldn't be happier going there and is learning so much. The school community staff and parents are warm and welcoming and dedicated to improving the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

We love this little school! I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartener at this school and I have only seen the school improve over the years I have been there. The parent community is warm and inviting. The principal is a rock star (principal of the year!) - she keeps our test scores rising while maintaining the arts enrichment throughout the curriculum. The school is truly diverse by languages, ethnicity and family composition. I love that it is small and that we all know each other - it's like a small town school in the big city. My kids look forward to going to school every day and adore their teachers. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

I couldn't be happier with this school for our daughter! She started in kindergarten last year and is now a first grader and LOVES going to school every day. The school is small and really inclusive of everyone. She knows children in all grades and there is a real sense of community within the school - students, parents, teachers. There is significant parent involvement and the faculty and principal are really dedicated and involved in the school community. The best part is the arts focus! Every WEEK, my daughter has music, drama and art classes and there is a variety of after-school programs for a fee (Spanish, chess, drama, ceramics, piano). Fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

New Traditions Alternative Arts School has been a great school for our daughter and our family. Our daughter is thriving in her education, social skills and artistic expressions. Our family has found the school to be welcoming and appreciative of parent involvement. The teachers and administrators are dedicated to the school and the community. We love that the school is small but rich in socio-economic and racial diversity-- as well as inclusive of children with learning and physical disabilities. All of the children participate in visual and performing arts. There are exciting changes underway as the school is beginning a 'greening' process and turning part of its blacktop playground into garden areas. The school is located in a quiet neighborhood near Golden Gate Park, just north of the panhandle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

NT is a small friendly clean school with a strong arts focus. Everyone in the school knows our kid by name. Our kindergarten teacher is very dedicated. He has a very organized way for parents to volunteer and at least 4 parents volunteer once a week. We ve had many fieldtrips both thru the class and informally afterschool. We really like the art program, you'll notice that the art projects of all the kids are very good. (Which I take to mean they are really teaching) After school my kid is booked up with classes that she loves (Chess, Ceramics, Drama, Piano). Works out well too since I just need to pick her up an hour later. No one group is more than 1/3 of the school, so it has lots of diversity without having a dominate group. Most importantly my kid is excited to go to school every morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

New Traditions is a special place. Its small size (160 kids) and truly diverse population (one-third caucasion, one-third African-American, one-third Asian/Hispanic) make it unique in San Francisco. We love the late schedule; it starts at 9:30 which makes for relatively mellow mornings. It's full of interesting, artsy, progressive, engaged parents. The teachers are outstanding and because of the small size the teachers know most of the kids, not just the ones in their class. It makes for a very comfortable and warm environment. Art and music education are important to us and New Traditions has really delivered. My child is very happy and is doing great academically. So many places say this, but it truly is ' a hidden gem of a school.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

I really can't say enough great things about this school. My daughter is in 4th grade and we've moved around a lot, so this is her fourth school but she's doing great. She s very bright and creative and is flourishing here much more so than in the strict academic high-test score public school that she attended a couple of years ago. She is in GATE (the gifted program), studies drama, dance, violin and visual art, adores her teacher and her classmates, and is getting a solid academic education. The class sizes are small, the principal and teachers dedicated, and the parental and community involvement is the best I've seen. My only wish is that the school had more funding, but that can be said of any small public school in the city. I'd highly recommend New Traditions to anyone looking for a great community arts school for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2007

New Traditions is a beautifully diverse school rich in different cultures and well traveled parents. It lives and breaths the old saying 'it takes a village' with it's community and hard working families, teachers and on site YMCA program. The principal has an open door policy to her office and works hand in hand with the PTA to support the school. The PTA is strong and passionate and funds a beautiful art program (which, by the way, has a kiln). You can find the San Francisco Ballet teaching within the walls of New Traditions as well as The Conservatory of Theater. This old school is equipped with two pianos and an amazing vintage stage that is used daily for arts education. The teachers are happy, knowledgeable and caring and go out of their way for their students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

Both of my daughters attended New Traditions their entire K-5 years. They have both received an excellent education (and also scored very well) in a atmosphere that celebrates diversity and the arts. The principal is now working very well with the students and faculty after a difficult start. It is a small school and very diverse and that may not make it for everyone - but if you value involvement and community it is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

New Traditions is a small school with a diverse student body and caring, supportive teachers and after-care staff. What makes it exceptional is the focus on arts in the curriculum. There is a strong core of dedicated parents who in addition to fund-raising for the arts also volunteer time in the school. It has a welcoming atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

New Traditions is not in our neighborhood and we have never heard of it until we got our school assignment. We toured the school and decided it could work for our child. There were things that impressed us. It has an arts focus. Most of all, it's a small school with a 'small town' attitude. Everyone knows each other and watches out for one another. The staff is caring...all the younger grade teachers know our child. It's one major benefit of a small school. The PTA held 2 picnics and an orientation for incoming k students. By the first day of school, our child knew her teacher, spent time in the classroom, and made a few friends. We also got to know some of the parents prior to school starting. There is diversity...economic and racial. The principal and her teacher have always been available for individual conferences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

I ve read over the many ratings and was compelled to write a response. I am a young single mother and I chose New Traditions for my only little girl in 2000 because my cousin attended the school over fifteen years ago and is now an artist who travels the world. As a native Western Addition resident, I ve watched the school metamorphosed from a school housed in someone else s school into a marvelous microcosm of San Francisco. My daughter has spent her full k-5 experience at NT. I would not change a thing about her time, her education, and her wonderful friends. In third grade, she was identified as a GATE student and has discovered she gifts in scscreen writing and dance. I recently moved to the East Bay and fought hard to keep my daughter in the school. No, no school is perfect, but this one comes very close. I ve enjoyed the support of the parents and students, and yes from the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

New Traditions was actually 3rd choice on our lottery list, but a huge disappointment. The principal has problems with follow through. Chaos reigns supreme at this school. The teacher quality is very, very spotty - some are great, ours was really, really bad. I was lucky to get a transfer to another school, and now keep asking our new teacher, 'am I on another planet? Is this a dream?' The experience from one school to the other is like night and day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

The problem, as I can understand it, is the principal. She encourages negative reinforcement rather than problem solving. After school, parent involvement, though, are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

Well first off I thought that the academic programs at this school was fairly ok for my child's learning development. My children did enjoy some of the extracurricular activities it had to offer but was very costly for something that's only once a week... However I wasn't too pleased with some of the staff at this school. I thought they were highly unprofessional and a bit snooty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

This school has 40% low-income students, but the problems of low-income children and parents are ignored. It is run as if it were a private school, or a school in an upper-middle class suburb. Some great teachers; at least one snippy and judgemental. Extra-curricular activities are very expensive. Principal's attitude about discipline is more the 'You're bad' type than the 'You've done something wrong and we need to correct it' type. Continual emphasis on donating money discourages low-income parents from participating, when they might otherwise be willing to volunteer time. There's strong involvement on the part of a small group of white-collar parents, but some of their attitudes also effectively discourage participation from low-income parents. It's a nice, clean, safe school for non-minority, middle-class children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

873

Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

873

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
20%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females76%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state20%

Math

All Students75%
Females79%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females71%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females64%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females95%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females77%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females79%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females86%
Males83%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students65%
Females50%
Males83%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 27%
Black 24% 7%
Hispanic 14% 51%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Asian 11% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Maria Luz Agudelo
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 750-8479

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • MUNI

New Traditions Elementary School Before and Afterschool Program (after school program)

About the program
  • The New Traditions Before and Afterschool Program operated by Buchanan YMCA maintains a balance of academic support, enrichment and recreation everyday. Offerings include outdoor sports, gardening, dance, cheer, music, and cooking. This fee based program does offer financial assistance, please contact to find out if you qualify.
Operated by
  • Buchanan YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 7:30 am
End time
  • 6:30 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 3-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
Website
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Roosevelt Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2049 Grove Street
San Francisco, CA 94117
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 750-8490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

San Francisco Day School
San Francisco, CA



The Discovery Center School
San Francisco, CA



Grattan Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT