Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Traditions Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Principal Hodgson can be seen everywhere -- greeting kids by their names, teaching in class,meeting with parents, collaborating with the PTA and SSC, hosting events to support PTA fundraisers and more... And he does it with a smile on his face. We are so lucky to have him!

New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
We have two kids here. One moved from a Catholic school where she was until middle of third grade. The younger one is in K. We could not be happier. We have an amazing principal. He is an educator, energetic, committed, compassionate, and present. The community is great and has a strong PTA. The teachers are dedicated, experienced and very effective. The school has an unparalleled art program without losing focus on academics. My children are thriving and learning a LOT! Go Dragons!


New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
Overall, New Traditions is comprised of a great community with highly involved families, along with an ambitious, goal oriented principal with a proven 8 years record of improving the school scores level to the top of SFUSD schools in the city.

New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We love our neighborhood school. We love the active parent community, high diversity of students, and the creative bright teachers and friendly principal. Our son had a great experience during his kindergarten and 1st grade years at New Traditions. The teachers were fully engaged.and catered to all of the kid's needs in their classroom. We look forward to the years to come at this up and coming school.

New Traditions Elementary School 2

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
Principal was useless. Just absolutely no idea on how to successfully administer a school that should service and respond to a diverse, culturally-enriched student body.


New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2012
- a parent
We love this school! It's a warm, caring, compassionate learning environment. My child is thriving here. While this was not our first choice schools, we could not be happier.

New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
New Traditions is a wonderful school. My child couldn't be happier going there and is learning so much. The school community staff and parents are warm and welcoming and dedicated to improving the school.

New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
We love this little school! I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartener at this school and I have only seen the school improve over the years I have been there. The parent community is warm and inviting. The principal is a rock star (principal of the year!) - she keeps our test scores rising while maintaining the arts enrichment throughout the curriculum. The school is truly diverse by languages, ethnicity and family composition. I love that it is small and that we all know each other - it's like a small town school in the big city. My kids look forward to going to school every day and adore their teachers. We couldn't be happier.


New Traditions Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
I couldn't be happier with this school for our daughter! She started in kindergarten last year and is now a first grader and LOVES going to school every day. The school is small and really inclusive of everyone. She knows children in all grades and there is a real sense of community within the school - students, parents, teachers. There is significant parent involvement and the faculty and principal are really dedicated and involved in the school community. The best part is the arts focus! Every WEEK, my daughter has music, drama and art classes and there is a variety of after-school programs for a fee (Spanish, chess, drama, ceramics, piano). Fantastic school!

New Traditions Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
New Traditions Alternative Arts School has been a great school for our daughter and our family. Our daughter is thriving in her education, social skills and artistic expressions. Our family has found the school to be welcoming and appreciative of parent involvement. The teachers and administrators are dedicated to the school and the community. We love that the school is small but rich in socio-economic and racial diversity-- as well as inclusive of children with learning and physical disabilities. All of the children participate in visual and performing arts. There are exciting changes underway as the school is beginning a 'greening' process and turning part of its blacktop playground into garden areas. The school is located in a quiet neighborhood near Golden Gate Park, just north of the panhandle.

Nearby schools

New Traditions Elementary School
2049 Grove Street, San Francisco, CA  94117-1123
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (415) 750-8490
Last modified New Traditions Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top