Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


O'connell (John) High School 5

Posted August 22, 2010
- a student
Everyone is involved, and you can see the teachers at work trying to improve everything. The staff makes sure the students are safe. They provide good opportunities for college.

O'connell (John) High School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a community member
John O'Connell is in the Hart of the Mission district. The Staff is amazing and dedicated to the students. This school is a small community within itself and has family enviornment. Students have many supports and if taken advantage of they can go far. Out of class 150 in 2009, there 70 students apply to a 4 year university. JOCHS, is truely making some postive changes.


O'connell (John) High School
no rating

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
I am very impressed with the administration, teachers, and staff at John O'Connell High School. They are truly committed to ensuring that all students go to college. This school has a very strong AVID program. The teachers are committed and provide students with incredible support and motivation to take them from where they are at to reach their best potential. This is a small school that offers incredible opportunities and programs for students. There are a variety of interesting after-school programs and qualified staff that work closely with students. Their commitment to excellence, building their community, and supporting students in a challenging environment is commendable. The school Principal is receptive and active, he is a strong leader with a vision. There is a core of parents that are involved and are the security at the school has a good relationship with students, they are always looking out for the safety of students. Love this school!

O'connell (John) High School
no rating

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
I can loved this school I went here and this may not be a well known school, but once your there you say why don't people know about this school. The Principal is also great, and makes sure everything is safe and perfect.

O'connell (John) High School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2009
- a community member
This school is great. I too went to this school all for years. And it's up to you as a student to take everything they teach and LEARN. I know many of my classmates went on and actually got jobs in the field they were learning. In fact, they helped many of us get jobs even before we graduated. I highly recommend it. Especially for those students who really want to get a head start in gaining skills they'll need for a job. Real skills.


O'connell (John) High School
no rating

Posted October 16, 2007
- a student
I went to this school for all four years of high school, and it is by far the worst school in the city. I did not learn one thing here, I was not prepared for college.

O'connell (John) High School 4

Posted May 27, 2006
- a teacher
As a DREAM school, the students at O'Connell must work had to succeed. They are not alone however. A dedicated staff and strong administration that are helping to turn this school around.

O'connell (John) High School 3

Posted August 26, 2003
- a community member

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

O'connell (John) High School
2355 Folsom Street, San Francisco, CA  94110-2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (415) 695-5370
Last modified O'connell (John) High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top