Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parks (Rosa) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 390 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

185 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2013

Initially skeptical about this school and San Francisco public schools in general, we now could not be more pleased with the education our grandchildren are getting. Most important is the positive attitude about the school that we see every time we come. The kids and teachers all have smiles on their faces both before and after the school day. Credit has to be given to the principal, teaching staff and the PTA for creating and fostering this culture.


Posted August 9, 2013

Our daughter will be entering 5th grade this year with her twin brothers entering 4th grade. Rosa Parks has changed completely since we entered six years ago thanks to our dedicated principal, teachers and sensei. This school not only teaches our children about their Japanese language and culture but they get first-hand experience on how diverse this city is. We also have the best group of families who want to see their children thrive in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

Rosa Parks. See the comment I wrote earlier. And submitted. I am a very happy grandmother, but not sure how this works. I was told I would have to verify my e-mail adress on submit, but I got the whole rate this school back again. I love Rosa Parks school.


Posted October 27, 2012

We enrolled out child for the Japanese language program, but discovered that there is so much more. I don't need to repeat all that others have already said about the stellar teachers, staff and principal. I completely agree. The garden program is fantastic. When we were out grocery shopping, my child wanted to buy celery and cucumbers--and actually bypassed the donuts. It is great that the school does not neglect teaching kids about nutrition. Parent involvement is probably the best in the district. Just stop by the school's popcorn stand during Cherry Blossom Festival and you will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

This is our 4th year at Rosa Parks and both our kids are totally thriving. I can't say enough about the teaching staff, Principal, and parent community -- all work together so well to support the vibrant and diverse environment in which our kids learn. My kids love going to school. They are reading voraciously, love math, and love speaking and writing Japanese (both of us parents were inspired to take Japanese language instruction by our kids' enthusiasm). They come home talking about what they learned in P.E., in dance, in the garden & nutrition program (we grow vegetables and have chickens!), and at Computer Lab. And they have great friends, whose parents have become our friends. Great people, great urban experience, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

My daughter reported, "I love my teacher." after her first day of school. And there really hasn't been any let-down since then. I have dealt mostly with the K and 1st grade teachers; all are good with the kids and effective teaching them. Other parents assure me the teachers are just as good in the upper grades. The principal has been a strong proponent of Restorative Practices for handling conflict, and we have seen the benefits of improved discipline as a result. He also oversaw a well executed merger of the Japanese program and the General Education program into a single Rosa Parks program. In many respects it's the parent involvement that guarantees the accelerating success at the school. We noticed it when we toured the school before attending. We continue to see it with parents in the classroom, chaperoning field trips, and interacting with each other in active Facebook groups. We couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I have a 1st grader in the JBBP program. This is her second year attending this school. As a parent we have had a great experience with the school. The teachers are dedicated and caring. The principal does a great job administering the school and integrating the staff, parents and students. A lot of the parents are involved and dedicate time and resources into the school. I am very appreciative of all of the work that the PTA volunteers do for the school. The best thing of all is that the children are happy, that definitely says a lot of the school. As parents we feel very fortunate to have found this hidden gem of a school and to be part of the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

I have a first grader, and definitely plan to have my 2nd child attend too. I speak Japanese, but my husband doesn't, so having my daughter get the strongest Japanese instruction possible is key to me. For Japanese, it's not just the everyday Japanese language hour she gets. Rosa Parks is nicely linked with Japantown as well as her wonderful after-school program, NLF, where she continues to get Japanese as well as additional options for conversation classes. I love that she is growing up with so many kids in the Rosa Parks - NLF circle. This is a special community, indeed. All this has significantly helped my daughter accept my persistance to speak Japanese to her. Before Rosa Parks, I had heard, "speak in English" from her, but now she has better context that her classmates are learning too. This is very important to me. I wasn't sure initially, but for general academic learning, I am very pleased too. Clearly, the teachers here are very committed to solid teaching. In my opinion, this is a total hidden gem that people don't notice unless they have a JP interest. The garden program too is amazing. 2 large blooming salad gardens, with chickens to boot. I am committed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

We are finishing up our 3rd year at Rosa Parks & we couldn' t be happier. Here's why: Our teachers are brilliant, creative, loving, dedicated. Our principal is kind, engaged, committed to student lifelong achievement. The staff are enthusiastic & act like they love being at our school. The parent community is involved, inclusive, positive minded & ever-present. Everyone above know the kids & their names. So much diversity! All are represented. The many school & community events, parades, performances, field trips. The enrichment curriculum. So much art, music, dance, performance & creative activities. The neighborhood. We are part of Japantown and Fillmore district & the kids know it. They have a sense of place & history of San Francisco. It makes them proud of their school. Our school itself: so many trees & gardens, so many playgrounds, meeting places, big, cheerful classrooms. Our nutrition, science, geography, reading programs, library & computer lab. But most of all I love my son's experience: he is thriving & LOVES school. He is motivated, engaged, reading above grade level. Best of all, Rosa Parks makes him want to be 'his best self'. And those are his words :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

This school is amazing! The teachers and the principal are committed to the students and they have a very nurturing approach. My son is in the 3rd grade and also in JBBP program and he loves it! Not only is this a great school but they also have great after school programs for the students. This school is definitely worth any parents consideration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

I love our school and so does my daughter. The principal is great, the teachers are excellent and the community of parents is involved and on it. We have a great language program, a garden, and even chickens on site. I toured many school when preparing for kindergarten and this school is as good as the best. I would advise all prospective kindergarten parents to check it out for themselves. Test scores have been improving year after year; this is a school worthy of your attention and consideration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

Our family moved to San Francisco from New York last year. Enrolled in Rosa Parks JBBP and the program/school has exceeded our expectations -- amazing, caring principal/teachers, active family community and spacious school facility which includes garden and chicken coop. We have participated in after school programs like Chess Club and PTA/PTCC events. Overall, we couldn't be happier as a family to have found RP/JBBP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

My child is in the 1st grade and we could not think of a better fit for her. The techers are committed, well-trained, and always approachable. The prinicipal is passionate about the school and the kids, evidenced by his daily exercise routine with students in the yard every morning. The Japanese Bilingual-Bi-Cultural Program has been excellent for my daughter and she is excelling in all areas. The only thing I would change is more parent participation but then again, that's probably something that every public school could use more of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

I couldn't be happier with Rosa Parks and the Japanese Bilingual Program. My child is in kdg this year and his teachers are amazing. He is happy. He learns an hour of Japanese every day and can speak, read and write. He is supported by a great staff, principal and the other parents in his class. If you are looking for a great school with language, support and diversity, come join our RP community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Our family's second year at Rosa Parks, and we have an incoming kinder next fall. We could not be happier. Paul Jacobsen is an excellent principal. He is very welcoming to parent involvment and really does care about the safety and growth of our children. Teachers are happy,supported by both administration and families. Run, don't walk to the EPC office and request Rosa Parks for your child! When I leave the playground for work each morning I feel very sure that we are in a truly great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

We couldn't be happier with Rosa Parks. The principal is great! It appears he works welll with the staff and is very motivating. He cares about the students and knows that the school plays a big role in raising the children. Test scores are improving. It's a great community. (Parent involvement is great for the Japanese Bicultural Bilingal Program. I'm not sure how it is for the General program.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

As a parent of a kindergarten student at Rosa Parks, I have to say that this hidden gem of a school, tucked away in Western Addition, fosters a nice, bright and vibrant learning environment for my child. We wanted to take advantage of the districts bilingual language program and am so happy that we have. The parent base involved in Rosa Parks Japanese Bilingual Bicultural Program (JBBP) is extremely active and engaged in all aspects of the school. In the Summer of 2010 a large section of the playground was transformed into a lush urban garden that flourishes and nourishes our children. (science and nutrition) A grant was secured to bring Grammy nominated jazz musician Anthony Brown into the classrooms to help expose curious minds to a world of music they normally don't have access to. The SF Symphony and the SF Ballet are heavily involved with special programming for the students. JBBP program has attracted students from all over the city and this diversity makes Rosa Parks Elem. a must see school for many incoming families. But above all else, the faculty, students and families that make up this community are committed to fostering a strong community school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

Improving through great strong leadership . School principal are very devoted to his work ,true leader , cares about his staff members, students, parent s, friends. The safety of the students are very appreciated. All the efforts, dedication are very priceless. JBBP cultural activities are awesome. Rosa Parks/ JBBP are TRULY the C>H>A>M>P>S <3
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I love the cultural events and the diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Native Japanese speaking Senseis providing Japanese language instruction, Active involvement in local community, Active parent involvement, Proximity to J-Town, Diversity of student population, Bussing to Japanese Afterschool Programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

796

Change from
2012 to 2013

+3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

796

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males59%
African American36%
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students71%
Females63%
Males78%
African American45%
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females55%
Males42%
African American7%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females78%
Males66%
African American56%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner56%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females54%
Males36%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate43%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students36%
Females42%
Males29%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females81%
Males42%
African American44%
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females85%
Males63%
African American44%
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students50%
Females50%
Males50%
African American25%
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 36% 7%
Asian 22% 11%
Hispanic 17% 51%
Two or more races 13% 3%
White 11% 27%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Jazz band

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Paul David Jacobsen
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 749-3610

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • MUNI

Rosa Parks Elementary School ExCEL Afterschool Program (after school program)

About the program
  • The Afterschool Learning Program serves kids in grades K-2. The program emphasizes and promotes math and literacy building through homework help and tutorials. Enrichment activities include sports, art, and other group activities.SFUSD ExCEL after school programs ensure involvement of teachers from students' schools to make sure that after school academics are aligned with the school day curriculum. Every school with an ExCEL program partners with a nonprofit community based organization to run activities and build bridges to the neighborhood.
Operated by
  • Buchanan YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 5:40 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 1-2
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Website
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Presidio Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 O'Farrell Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 749-3519

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Burt Children's Center
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT