Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 254
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Peabody has a really involved PTA, intense school pride, an incredible principal and dedicated teachers. We have been there for 3 years and it keeps getting better. Every family is asked to give $1000 so there are a lot of gaps filled in that that government doesn't fund in CA.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
We really enjoyed our brief time at Peabody for our 2 daughters for K and 1st/2nd grade (SDC). The teachers and principle (and all staff) were great. We would love to stay, but moved to Pacifica (where home prices are more affordable).


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a community member
Hi, former student here! I'm now in high school. I want to say that George Peabody has given me so many memories that always make me smile whenever I think of them. It is tremendously terrific school because everyday was a day of learning and everyday was a day of fun. Your child will love it, I know I did. (5th grade teacher Mr.Gelfand is awesome! I wonder if he still has silent lion, the class pet!) -former student

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
It's no secret that Peabody is referred to as a public private school. If you are lucky enough to have your kid(s) attend this school, you also know you must assume responsibility to ensure its success continues. About 8 years ago, parents got together, determined to make Peabody what it is today: a small school with an incredible principal, fantastic teachers and has a community of parents who commit to raising over $200k/year. And the fundraising is from bake sales every few weeks, but by simply writing a check to the school for at least $1000, and often much more. Giving even $10k a year is still cheaper than a private school, and knowing all the other parents are also giving the most they can in time and money to the school means you get to send your kid to a school of devoted, grounded families who become your friends and community, who share your same educational values and provide the school with the resources and support it needs to ensure our children receive the best education possible.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a community member
This is our first year at Peabody. What a fantastic school! There is such a great sense of community here. There is alot of parent involvement. The teachers are dedicated. The students are engaged, happy and learning. With less than 300 students for K-5, this school is on the small side, but it is all to the benefit of the kids.


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
My son is really enjoying kindergarten at Peabody. He actually gets out of the car every day and runs into the playground -- he's so excited every day to learn, to play, to see his friends. Peabody was our first choice because of its small size, small class size, community feel, its reputation as a really good school, and Principal Vroegh, who sets a very high bar of excellence, pride, dedication, and caring. Peabody is a place you just want to be part of. It's down to earth and fun and we feel really lucky to be a part of the community.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
we loved this school for the year my son was in kindergarten 2009-10. we moved to walnut creek, not because of any problem with the school. because we wanted better real estate. anyway, i know i will miss it. it was our first choice in the lottery and it was a great year.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
Peabody is a real beacon of learning. We live across town, and got a spot at Peabody by accident. Accident or no, we could not be happier. Our daughter's teachers are engaged, responsive and the principal, Mr. Vroegh, knows every child. She is thriving as are her friends and classmates, no matter where they are on the learning spectrum. And the parent community is active and positive. There are just wonderful families there - people and kids you are happy to know, and know better every year. I feel confident that my child (and our younger child following behind her sister) will be well-educated, supported and seen at Peabody.


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
It's a small public school with a fantastic principal and teachers. My daughter has learned so much in the past 2 years at the school and she loves school. The PTA is extremely strong which supports many after school classes, such as piano, spanish, yoga, art, sports, tree frog trek, chess and many others. We love it

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
This school has be absolutely wonderful and an amazing transition into kindergarten for our daughter and our family. The principal is outstanding and very actively involved, we love our daughter's teacher - she comes home with stories and pride in what she's absorbed each day. Everything from the garden, wonderful Coach Mary, Ms. Wong, Ms. Wanda, Ms. Tam, Nori caring for our kids on the play structure - the library, inviting PTA and absolute sense of community, we truly feel blessed to be a part of this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peabody (George) Elementary School
251 Sixth Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94118
(415) 750-8480
Last modified Peabody (George) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peabody (George) Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top