Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
I have 1st grader and incoming kindergartener at George Peabody and we could not be happier. There is a very strong community/PTA which raises money for additional teachers, etc. not covered by the state. The principle is very hands on and deeply cares about the teachers and children. The teachers are dedicated to children and go beyond what is expected. They feel appreciated and supported by the principle and the community. The school has two after school programs, after school classes and lots of fun community activities scheduled throughout the year. The school is small which is a huge plus; everyone knows each other and the older kids look after the younger ones. I feel very lucky to be part of this school.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2014
- a parent
Peabody has a really involved PTA, intense school pride, an incredible principal and dedicated teachers. We have been there for 3 years and it keeps getting better. Every family is asked to give $1000 so there are a lot of gaps filled in that that government doesn't fund in CA.


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
We really enjoyed our brief time at Peabody for our 2 daughters for K and 1st/2nd grade (SDC). The teachers and principle (and all staff) were great. We would love to stay, but moved to Pacifica (where home prices are more affordable).

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a community member
Hi, former student here! I'm now in high school. I want to say that George Peabody has given me so many memories that always make me smile whenever I think of them. It is tremendously terrific school because everyday was a day of learning and everyday was a day of fun. Your child will love it, I know I did. (5th grade teacher Mr.Gelfand is awesome! I wonder if he still has silent lion, the class pet!) -former student

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2012
- a parent
It's no secret that Peabody is referred to as a public private school. If you are lucky enough to have your kid(s) attend this school, you also know you must assume responsibility to ensure its success continues. About 8 years ago, parents got together, determined to make Peabody what it is today: a small school with an incredible principal, fantastic teachers and has a community of parents who commit to raising over $200k/year. And the fundraising is from bake sales every few weeks, but by simply writing a check to the school for at least $1000, and often much more. Giving even $10k a year is still cheaper than a private school, and knowing all the other parents are also giving the most they can in time and money to the school means you get to send your kid to a school of devoted, grounded families who become your friends and community, who share your same educational values and provide the school with the resources and support it needs to ensure our children receive the best education possible.


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a community member
This is our first year at Peabody. What a fantastic school! There is such a great sense of community here. There is alot of parent involvement. The teachers are dedicated. The students are engaged, happy and learning. With less than 300 students for K-5, this school is on the small side, but it is all to the benefit of the kids.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2011
- a parent
My son is really enjoying kindergarten at Peabody. He actually gets out of the car every day and runs into the playground -- he's so excited every day to learn, to play, to see his friends. Peabody was our first choice because of its small size, small class size, community feel, its reputation as a really good school, and Principal Vroegh, who sets a very high bar of excellence, pride, dedication, and caring. Peabody is a place you just want to be part of. It's down to earth and fun and we feel really lucky to be a part of the community.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
we loved this school for the year my son was in kindergarten 2009-10. we moved to walnut creek, not because of any problem with the school. because we wanted better real estate. anyway, i know i will miss it. it was our first choice in the lottery and it was a great year.


Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
Peabody is a real beacon of learning. We live across town, and got a spot at Peabody by accident. Accident or no, we could not be happier. Our daughter's teachers are engaged, responsive and the principal, Mr. Vroegh, knows every child. She is thriving as are her friends and classmates, no matter where they are on the learning spectrum. And the parent community is active and positive. There are just wonderful families there - people and kids you are happy to know, and know better every year. I feel confident that my child (and our younger child following behind her sister) will be well-educated, supported and seen at Peabody.

Peabody (George) Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
It's a small public school with a fantastic principal and teachers. My daughter has learned so much in the past 2 years at the school and she loves school. The PTA is extremely strong which supports many after school classes, such as piano, spanish, yoga, art, sports, tree frog trek, chess and many others. We love it

Nearby schools

Peabody (George) Elementary School
251 Sixth Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94118-2311
(415) 750-8480
Last modified Peabody (George) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top