Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
91 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 121 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Presidio Middle School 2

Posted May 03, 2016
- a parent
My son was attending this school and was bullied by more mature students. Yet, personnel was blaming mostly my son for "being a target", or ignored the bullying at best. Can't tell much about other subjects, but math education is extremely poor (as it is in the majority of public and private schools in the US). Students are not taught to think, only memorize some techniques without proper understanding.

Presidio Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Language Arts teachers are caring, knowledgeable, fun, fair, and communicate well. The material they teach is impressive and embraces diversity.


Presidio Middle School 3

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Presidio is highly overrated. HIGHLY. They changed principals right before school started this year with absolutely no warning. I'm sure that was deliberate, but it speaks to the transparency of their communication with parents. They did away with GATE, which I don't necessarily mind even though my kid qualified for it. However, for "differentiation" they have a two teacher system for each classroom. So, two teachers in the same class for LangArts/SocSciences and for Math/Science. In some classes, it works well. Both teachers teach, communicate with students and parents, etc. In others, it's horrible. One teacher does all the work. The other hardly ever speaks to the class, never communicates, certainly doesn't help with any so called differentiation methods. School Loop is what they use to track homework and grades and to communicate with the parents. Unfortunately, only some of the teachers bother keeping up with this. You can also forget about getting a timely response to an email (if you have it answered at all). Even though there is a scheduled hour for science, my kid's class ends up doing double math the majority of the time. This means their science grades are based on very few assignments in addition to the rather horrible fact that they are not learning much science! It's very easy to get lost in the shuffle here. Admin doesn't care. Only some of the teachers do. The teachers who do care are very good. I've seen it especially in the LangArts teachers. We're not in band, but I've heard they've had problems this year, and yes, NO communication. The quality of education is fine for the most part, barring the lack of science, but it's not the most amazing middle school in SF like they like to claim.

Presidio Middle School 1

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
I toured this school with my child expecting a "great school" with a score of 9 but we were extremely disappointed. Saw one child ditch. Saw teachers yelling at another child in the hall during class to shut up. Administration took pains to be rude. Busy Geary street and small concrete play ground for such a big school. Don't be fooled. They look old school and act it.

Presidio Middle School 2

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
This so school shouldn't have this high of a rating. My child is getting bullied and comes home with bruises all over. He tells me that he tries to tell an adult but they brush him off like dust


Presidio Middle School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
The is is overrated school. don't send your kids to this school. The teachers (some) aren't helpful, they don't teach at all. People at the office are also helpless...they should retired.

Presidio Middle School 1

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
I think Presidio Middle School is one of the most overrated middle schools in the city. The administrators, staff and teachers do not about the well being of your child. They mostly care about their STAR testing scores and maintaining their status. There is a big lack of concern for the behavior of students and teachers and counselors either look the other way and ignore it, pretend as if it isn't happening, or they just don't care. Some teachers and staff are so old that they are only at the school to collect a paycheck. I'm thinking "If you don't want to be here, I'm sure there are a bunch of unemployed YOUNG, VIBRANT, and YOUTHFUL teachers willing to take up the spot and make a difference in a young kids' life." However, there are those few (and, I mean few) teachers that actually make kids accountable for their actions (i.e. homework assignments, actions toward other students, etc.) but unfortunately, they go unnoticed. The administrators are super unorganized, unethical, and uncaring - They let the troublesome kids get away with murder and punish good kids who they know won't defend themselves. The school has been a huge disappointment and I'm glad my child is leaving.

Presidio Middle School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a teacher
I have two kids in Presidio. The school is large and the classrooms have 35 students on average. Parents must rely on school loop to keep in touch with teachers who are too busy to contact parents if there is a problem. That said, my kids love the school. They are both in AP classes and thriving. There is a culture here where it is cool for boys to study. My kids friends are diverse, studious, with a good school/play balance. I decided on this school for its academics;and, when I walked around the playground the students were not clumped up in separate racial groups, but playing together. The band program is amazing. The administrative staff I have dealt with have been helpful. I wish the classes were smaller.


Presidio Middle School 1

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
Not pleased with the school: expected much more from it: teachers communication with kids and parents doens't exist. Noone cares about your child at this school: just asking for money every Wednesday. Will be looking to change the school next year. Very dissapointed.

Presidio Middle School 5

Posted October 29, 2011
- a parent
I was nervous about sending my daughter to such a big school, but we're been pleasantly surprised. Mostly excellent teachers, challenging work, a reasonable level of homework, good drama, PE, sports, chorus, jazz band, orchestra, and outdoor education options like trips to Yosemite. It probably helps if your child comes in knowing some classmates and can learn well in a fairly traditional classroom setting.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Presidio Middle School
450 30th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94121-1766
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 121 reviews. (415) 750-8435
Last modified Presidio Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top