Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 722
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roosevelt Middle School 4

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
The principal is very available and works hard to do a good job. The teachers that I have met are fantastic. Ahead of the curve on the common core curriculum in Maths. The English/social studies teacher is very engaging. It is a welcoming body of people. The building itself kind of looks like an old prison on the outside (imo). But there is a huge internal renovation going on inside to make the classes bright, fresh, functional and up-to-date. There isn't a blade of grass on the school yard, which is sad city school syndrome (hence 4 instead of 5 stars). But thankfully daily PE classes use the Rossi Park and pool. They also do a "rock the block" regularly. The staff care, the parents I have met are interesting, interested and say their kids are very happy at Roosevelt.

Roosevelt Middle School 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a community member
This school is one of the best schools out there, now some people think it has an unfit education but this is wrong, they have excellent teachers who are intelligent, but not to the point where they are TOO serious, or pessimistic. The school is ethical and offers many extracurricular classes such as orchestra and home economics, bullying is rare in this school and it is a lot of fun. The school is very resourceful such as in ways of raising money. One way they did it is they had a 150 word spelling test to put contestants in the year's spelling bee, but, also the number of words the child spelled right, if the parents signed off, they would pay a dollar for every word their child spelled right, of course, they didn't force the parents to pay the donation and they could make a flat donation and just donate as much as they see fit for themselves but everyone donated enough money to pay for educational field trips and new equipment to improve classes and education.


Roosevelt Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
I love this school! I will really recommend this school because it's AWSOME. There are great teachers that will help you improve your skills. I am in 6th grade now and so far i am really liking this school

Roosevelt Middle School 5

Posted January 12, 2013
- a community member
I really enjoyed my time in RMS. The staff is amazing, teachers care and you learn a lot. Students are very together and have high school and academic spirit.

Roosevelt Middle School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
The hidden gem of middle schools in the SFUSD system. Energized faculty, highly-visible principal, relatively small size compared to other middle schools in the system, good overall academic performance, and high participation in school sports and band. Parent involvement is not as strong as I've seen in other schools around the district, but improving.


Roosevelt Middle School 5

Posted November 18, 2011
- a community member
Awesome school, really cool teachers and it's fun!!!! I was not sure if I should go to Roosevelt but now I am happy I did because it's the best school ever!!!

Roosevelt Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
Roosevelt MS is a fantastic school! Strong leadership, excellent teachers and nurturing environment. Our son loves the school and is thriving. We highly recommend Roosevelt!

Roosevelt Middle School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
My kids THRIVED at this school. We moved here late into the year 2009/10 school year. My kids already had the "new kids in school angst" along with the middle school jitters. After 1 week into the school, both kids, 7th & 8th grade, had made quality friendships. The kids also excelled in academics as well as sports and band. The life lessons learned there, as well as the academics, will get them far in life.


Roosevelt Middle School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
I love Roosevelt Middle School because of the care they give to every student.

Roosevelt Middle School
no rating

Posted September 30, 2010
- a parent
Because the kids are awesome! the parents are involved. The administration rocks!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt Middle School
460 Arguello Boulevard, San Francisco, CA  94118
(415) 750-8446
Last modified Roosevelt Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roosevelt Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top