Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Sheridan is one of those rare, hidden gems. The student population is among the most diverse in the city, and so is the faculty and staff. The teachers truly care about each student, and do a fantastic job at meeting the needs (and special needs) of all students. The family-style atmosphere also tends to the needs of parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles, and other guardians. Ask any of the students how they feel about their school, and I can almost guarantee that they will provide a loving and positive response.

Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Sheridan Elementary is a hidden gem! The teachers are so dedicated, creative, experienced, and full of energy. Students are so happy and come to school receiving a top notch education in a stable and small community. The principal has been part of the school for 18 years. She even grew up and lives in the neighborhood. Alumni always come back to visit because they love Sheridan so much . Sheridan definitely has a strong community feel and provides a holistic 21st-century academic education to all the the students! GO SHERIDAN STARS!!!


Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a teacher
Sheridan Elementary is an exceptional school. Students receive a high-quality, innovative education in a supportive and loving environment . The staff is comprised of dedicated, highly qualified, and kind individuals who go above and beyond to reach every student entrusted to them. One such example of this is their ongoing commitment to professional development. Almost all the teachers attend workshops to extend their learning in innovative approaches to instruction. They commit themselves to researched based instructional methods like Readers and Writers Workshop and science programs through the Cal Academy of Sciences and much more! They also have a wonderful support staff in addition to their phenomenal teachers including; a school nurse, social worker, parent liaison, psychologist, PE, Art, Music teachers, literacy coach, reading intervention teacher, paraprofessionals, instructional support teachers, not to mention their kind and caring principal. I highly recommend Sheridan.

Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a teacher
Sheridan school has very qualified, professional and respectful teachers and staff. The staff are multi-ethnic and bilingual who represent and serve their student population and community. The school promotes and teaches social emotional skills and community building activities as well as implementing a systematic Good Behavior Game (PAX) to ensure a harmonious learning and interactive environment. Rigorous curriculum and programs drive student achievement and success. High expectations are placed on students' behavior and academics. An active and supportive parental involvement (PTC) that politically and economically supports the school! Sheridan is a family! Sheridan is the STAR within the SFUSD district! Sheridan is a special SFUSD school because: Student of the Month assembly Student Council and Leadership Honor Roll Luncheon Computer Lab Sheridan Code of Conduct and Song Cultural and Academic Assemblies Sheridan Star dollars Sheridan Prize Cart star Technology (ELMO, computers, projector) in classrooms And Many More! Come by and visit us! Sheridan Stars!!!!!

Sheridan Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My foster child has been attending this school since third grade. I feel that the teachers and principal are supportive and considerate of her. She is not treated any differently. I appreciate that the teachers are firm with their standards and remember to reward for good behavior. She is very happy at this school.


Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a teacher
This small school is a hidden gem in San Francisco! The principal is a San Francisco native and so are some of the teachers/ staff that work there. They show a special dedication in constistant professional development. Sheridan's readers workshop program is innovative and comparable to the same program offered at some private schools. They recently adopted a good behavior game that promotes positive reinforcement as well as calm quick signals to refocus students back on their academic task; even the classrooms have been technically updated with ELMO's. The community is very welcoming and families have been sending their children to Sheridan for many generations . Stop by and judge the place for yourself , you will be pleasantly surprised. I would recommend asking the teachers about their current test scores.

Sheridan Elementary School 3

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
This is a relatively small, pre-K-5 school with a warm, caring atmosphere. The teachers are trained in a disciplinary program that is based on positive reinforcement, and I've seen it do wonders. Academically, the teachers are very solid and professional, and I know that they continue to seek further professional development in the latest innovations in teaching. The school is very diverse, and students/ families of all backgrounds seem to feel welcome and included here. Family involvement could be improved, though those who wish to be involved are encouraged and welcome.

Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
My son attended this school for a couple of years (2009-2011) and it was the best school experience thus far! We had to move out of SF, but my son wishes he could return to the school. The teachers were wonderful and the community was great! Some parents overlook this school because of the neighborhood, but the school has done a good job at keeping the children safe. I had another child attending a different K-5 school in SF, but the parent involvement and the diversity at Sheridan make this school a 10!


Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
I love Sheridan. My son has behavior problems and his teachers and staff have been very supportive and helpful. I know that my boy is loved at this school.

Sheridan Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2011
- a community member
As a member of this school community I take exception to the previous comment. True the neighborhood may not be the best but it is NOT a factor in this school. The Principal and staff are the most loving and caring I have seen in a school environment in many years. They care for the children and focus on education and teaching the children respect and proper behavior. Many of these children may not have the best home life but they know that they are loved and respected here at school. This is the type of school that will help these children become well adjusted and productive adults, able to survive in today's world. I would recommend it to anyone interested in their child getting a good and well rounded education. The diversity in the school population, staff and experience is truly an asset to the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sheridan Elementary School
431 Capitol Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112
(415) 469-4743
Last modified Sheridan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sheridan Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top