Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sherman Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 428 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2012

I am so thankful that my children are at Sherman. They have had excellent teachers that teach to them at their individual level. They also LOVE the enrichment programs such as art, library, garden, PE, computers, etc... Its a very positive and happy environment and my kids mostly look forward to going to school and doing well academically. I'm surprised by negative reviews, but I guess its because no school is perfect (particularly public schools) and each experience is individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

The young and inexperienced principal certainly has brought the school down. She has an unbelievable dictatorial nature. She often violates the SFUSD's guidelines and no one seems able to curb her. Maybe someone in the administration will wake up and see that her abuses are hurting the school and certainly irritating a large number of parents/taxpayers. I pity the teachers who have to work under her rule. Great that she is a Harvard grad but it was NOT in education. On a positive note the garden is awesome, a number of teachers are superior although many are quite young, the facilities are quite adequate; AND one of the greatest strengths is the parents who actively contribute their time and money to the school. There seems to be a great tradition of parent involvement that has carried through over the years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

I like this is school. It is the one of the best of best. My two children are in this is school. And Everything is the best. Keep it up! I love Sherman Shark!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2011

The entire Sherman community collaborates to ensure my son has a positive education. I respect the principal, the librarian, the speech teacher, the art teacher, the garden teacher, the fellow parents and the amazing PTA. I feel fortunate that my son can enjoy this lovely school. There is an expectation for parents to contribute time, talent and/or money, but I think this is a positive approach to counter he recession. Sherman Elementary PTA raises funds to support many "extras" and I think all families should do what they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

My son is starting his third year at Sherman (now is second grade) and has continued to thrive here. So far, we've been very happy with each of his teachers and have felt embraced by and have become a part of the community. I attended California public schools years ago during their pre-prop 13 heyday and can honestly say that none of the schools I attended had as much going for them as Sherman. I love the green schoolyard, the library, music and arts enrichment, and friendly and involvement group of parents. The principal is a rock star. My son cherishes his friends here and is thriving socially and academically. I feel so lucky that he's part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

It was Open House at Sherman this late afternoon. I was shocked to see the class schedule that was posted on the whiteboard. My son spends most of the instructional day on reading and language arts. The remaining minutes are relegated to "enrichment" programs. Do the teachers teach at this school? When I asked when Science or Social Studies are taught, the teacher just smiled and said, "That's how we do things at Sherman." As it is, my son is not getting any reading instruction. He's not getting proper Science and Social Studies education. There's really no point to being here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I am quite surprised with most of the reviews here. I thought I was the only parent who is unhappy with Sherman. Glad my negative sentiments are shared by others. Let's just see if there will be visible improvements in their academic programs. With the economy that we're in, expect more zealous and aggressive letters for donations 2x to 3x a week. The principal is really good at this. Her motto of "be a friend" is one of her pet projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

Sherman ES is a high quality school. Its strong academic program, nurturing environment and excellent teaching has more than prepared our kids to be successful in middle school. The teachers are the best and the school provided our kids with a solid curriculum and a variety of experiences that has made them well-rounded. We would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

Sherman ES with the poor leadership of the current school principal lacks challenging academic programs. Efforts are mostly geared at raising funds and donations. I am now beginning to think that ratings are based on the collections. Where does the money go? Kids are not learning, there's no tangible projects going on except for the garden which is not really that impressive. It's all hype about the school as well as the principal...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2011

Unfortunately, most of the negative reviews are accurate. The staff works hard to educate our kids, however a few do get away with low standards and expectations for the students, and I can only think that they are the administrator's favorites. My daughters are ill-prepared for this fall, and I'm absolutely appalled by the lack of instruction they received just this past year. The first grade teacher has her monotonous routines and lessons were hardly lessons, just busy work. My daughter goes home telling me her teacher told her to say certain things to us so we could think she was happy learning at school. Then there's my fourth grader who barely had any homework. Her teacher lectured behavioral kids in class on a daily basis, taking away learning and instructional time. She sat in her chair while having student teachers run lessons all year long. She has probably less than 10 years of experience. Seriously, this principal has got to go. The mood is unwelcoming with her presence. The Asian community is nonexistence as she pretends that there are parents and grandparents around to provide Chinese translations during the morning intake. Beware prospective families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

I was fooled by this school. My daughter's 1st grade teacher wasn't challenging even though she got all the best students from the previous year. She said she covered the 1st grade standards, but I know she didn't. A lot of busy work instead of homework. As a result, my daughter was ill prepared for 2nd grade. The administrator loves this teacher and that is why she is able to do the things that she does. I don't even want to write about the principal. My daughter is now attending a private school getting a real education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

This school has great teachers, but a horrible leader. The leader has been known and seen to yell at teachers, staff, parents AND children. She has no respect for anyone she considers beneath her (e.g. low income, uneducated). The school would be better off with a better leader who actually knows how to run a school instead of a tyrant who doesn't know how to compromise and whose policy is her way or no way. Don't let the beautiful setting fool you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

I am pleased with the school, except for the academic focus on reading. My child used to love to go to school, but recently has been forced to read only books at "her level" and not allowed to do other activities. She comes home and complains that "all we do is read," which is wonderful, but there comes a time when kids should also enjoy learning by other means. I noticed the staff is tired, and the creativeness and uniqueness of each teacher is slowly disappearing because each classroom now is looking all the same. I worry that my child is no longer being stimulated and excited to learn anymore. She wishes to learn about science instead of reading about it. She tells me all we do is "read" and we don't do science, we just read about it. She no longer gets to do any science exploration and discovery. The teachers have been wonderful, but I hope that she will be prepared for middle school. Also, the stress on testing is my concern too. It seems that the school is primarily to teach to the test.....perhaps that is why the test scores went up so drastically??? Now, I feel I have to make sure I teach the other subject areas to make sure she is well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

I am thankful every weekday that my son attends such a wonderful school. After touring many schools in the district (and being pleasantly surprised about the number of good schools there are), we listed Sherman as the first choice for our future kindergartener. Fortunately, we got it in the first round. Simply, Sherman has all the resources: amazing enrichment opportunities--arts, music, P.E., its crown jewel garden, active and activist parents who support the school financially, a full-time librarian, a full-time computer teacher, and a warm and loving environment. The principal (Sara Shenkan-Rich) is a bright and dedicated optimist. Her energy was one of the many reasons we chose the school. My kindergartener is thriving here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Great nurturing school with a good atmosphere and lovely campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Sherman is wonderful in many ways. Top of mind I would say: wonderful kids, great teachers, involved parents, an inspiring principal and a great space, particularly with the Green Schoolyard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Enrichment programs like Art, Music, Movement. A great Edible Schoolyard through which kids are introduced to biology, nutrition, environment. Committed parents that work on school issues. Sherman School should be held up as an exemplar!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Sherman was an awesome school up until the new principal came along. The new principal is bringing this school down...the discipline in the school is lacking (not so the case with Ms. Matsuno, the previous principal), the scores went down (the new principal had no explanation why that happened under her leadership). She is rude, has no respect for either the teachers or the parents. She seems to have the wrong priorities...The kids don't like her...and neither do most parents. A lot of hard work went into making Sherman a top school in the city...it would be a shame to let the new principal drag it down. The school has awesome teachers and great set of parents...but the principal needs to go for the school to get back on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Teachers, administrators and parents work together to make Sherman the best public school in San Francisco city. Go check out the happy faces!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Why do I love Sherman? Fabulous teachers and staff, lovely building, interesting and enriching education, and a terrific mix of people. No school is perfect, but Sherman comes close. Almost every day I pick my daughter up I think, 'I love this place.' That's pretty remarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

931

Change from
2012 to 2013

+25

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

931

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+25

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Females94%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state75%

Math

All Students88%
Females88%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learner93%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females70%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian70%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females95%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females83%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state81%

Math

All Students95%
Females96%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females87%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females83%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students86%
Females83%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 44% 11%
White 30% 27%
Hispanic 12% 51%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Black 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Reading specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sara Shenkan-Rich
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 749-3433

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Muni

Sherman Elementary School GLO Afterschool Program (after school program)

About the program
  • GLO provides quality before-school and afterschool programming.
Operated by
  • Growth and Learning Opportunities
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
Website

Summer program 1

About the program
  • Each program has an academic, enrichment and physical activity component. The programs are based on a youth development model and include project based learning activities. The summer programs are operated by community based organizations that are contracted by SFUSD to provide the services based on grants to the school from California Department of Education. Each organization has a site specific enrollment process. Priority enrollment goes to the students from the school site. Students from other SFUSD schools are eligible to apply though in many of the elementary schools there is more demand than available slots. Funding changes year to year and program offerings change.
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
Operated by
  • GLO
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Marina Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1651 Union Street
San Francisco, CA 94123
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 749-3530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hergl School
San Francisco, CA


St. Brigid School
San Francisco, CA


The Hamlin School
San Francisco, CA




Stuart Hall for Boys School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT