Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

King (Starr) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 329 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

I could not be happier that my child was able to gain admission to Starr King's mandarin program. I had applied to private mandarin school programs, which I could simply not afford, and when I compare what friends who have their kids in those programs versus Starr King, I am entirely pleased that my child is at Starr King. Great principal who is quite committed and who went to Starr King herself. Great teachers so far (we're a couple of years into it and have heard great things about future years' teachers), great curriculum which continues to be improved, and an urban setting and diverse student body that gives my child a broader view of the world than she might otherwise have. I can't praise this school enough -- even while recognizing that it is not perfect. The PTA is engaged and parents give of their time, resources. And so on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Starr King has a wonderful principal and a very supportive staff. The school has many opportunities for parents to get involved, and a very diverse student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

Our child is completing 1st grade at Starr King in the Mandarin strand and is thriving and succeeding in both English and Mandarin. The teachers are energetic, organized, dedicated and the support staff at the school are as well. The warm, open parent community in the PTA has made us feel really welcome as a family. The changes coming in the next year with additional on-site Mandarin support, extra English support and expanded onsite Mandarin after-school options are all things we look forward to. The off-site after school at Fei Tien has been a great option to provide additional Mandarin language and Chinese arts exposure for our child. Although I agree with previous posts that the school reflects the diversity of San Francisco the one change I would love to see is more integration of the Mandarin, English-only and Autism strands during class-time as recess & lunch don't provide enough time for all of the students to truly know each other. We've looked private schools and you would pay at least $25,000/year more with tuition and expected fundraising for similar results so we're very glad we're at Starr King!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

Update: This school has decided to finally use the zhongwen textbook - Finally! Surprise: The current principal has decided to give way to a new principal in the coming grade in 2013/14, to one who is bilingual in both english and mandarin. SKMI and JOSE is on course for a major readjustment in terms of curriculum, but I won't rate this school higher until all the necessary changes are made. I want to transfer from MI to GE because our kids are way ahead in mandarin by privately using Zhongwen and leveled readers at home while school offers insufficient ENGLISH. We made it to CIS in the 2013 transfer round, but since immersion schools have the same time slices for the respective languages, we will stay until we get into GE. I suggest that immersion schools teach science and math in ENGLISH instead of Chinese, and make sure CLA time is properly accounted for. If you're an incoming parent, be sure to ask what subjects are taught in english vs. chinese throughout grade levels. Issues are no fault of the principal as the architectural issues existed 6+ years ago. If done correctly, SKMI can easily best CIS/AFY, but my kids are growing fast and they need more english. I will update.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2012

One of the biggest problems at this school with respect to the Mandarin Immersion program is that the majority of families enrolled in the program are not from Mandarin-speaking backgrounds. The parents who are happy with this school are likely to be the ones who do not know the language. They can't tell that their kids are not learning the language very well at all, not for the investment of full-time study over the 6 years of K-5th grades. If Chinese families want their kids to learn the language without sacrificing the English and other academic subjects, then doing Chinese school or after school is a better investment of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

After joining the school with great excitement, I have been tremendously disappointed. Despite having dedicated teachers in the Mandarin Immersion program, there is a profound lack of leadership to provide them with the necessary supports to accomplish their goals. The problems are multifaceted. The classes do not have the appropriate mix of students (native:non-native speaker ratios) to make an immersion program feasible. Furthermore, there has been tremendous parent opposition to providing the teachers with the necessary in class resources to overcome this handicap. The school has lacked basic educational materials - i.e. books, an integrated curriculum, or assessments. There is no significant Mandarin afterschool program. Additionally, the behavioral problems in the classroom, particularly within the MI strand, are a monumental drain on the teachers, and are simply not dealt with by the school leadership. Because the kids are not learning Chinese well, they are not learning anything that is taught in Mandarin well. Additionally, a great deal of English education is sacrificed, which is expected, but for which there is no return on investment. Truly a disappointing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I have three children enrolled in the Mandarin Immersion Program. When my first entered a few years ago, my wife and I were hoping for a quality educational experience, and we weren't disappointed. The principal, teachers, and staff provide the atmosphere necessary for the children to flourish. With the choices of private and public elementary schools in San Francisco, I would consider Starr King the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2012

I have been affiliated with SK, since 1990, initially as a volunteer. I then joined the staff as the librarian, until my retirement 6 yrs ago. I have continued to volunteer in the SK office, and be the SK arts coordinator. My position has given me the opportunity to become personally acquainted with a majority of our families and know the children by name. I contend the parent who wrote the one star review is misinformed. We have a diverse enrollment which is supported by a dedicated staff; including an Integrated Reform Facilitator(assists teachers with curriculum and strategies to address academic needs of underachieving students), SFUSD LSP(with a MMFC), intern(acquiring hrs for her MMFC), nurse , student advisor, anger management program through PH Neighborhood House and UCSF. A team meets twice monthly to try/solve referred students' needs. Our parents are outstanding; raising enough funds for an extra teacher, tutors and enrichment programs, which SK would not otherwise have. Everyday I witness high expectations of students; in academics and behavior. We conduct SK tours on Tuesdays for parents/guardians to learn for themselves.(Please call ahead 415-695-5797)


Posted October 18, 2012

I find it telling that the parent who posted the one-star review on 10/17/12 starts by identifying the children's problems, which suggests s/he has an issue with the student population. I send my child to this school BECAUSE of the population, because, as a well-educated, middle class parent, I do not want my child to grow up in a fishbowl thinking that the world is one way when it certainly is not. The children at this school are diverse and lovely and human. In other words, they are our school family like family you can't pick who those members are. So it goes in SF PUBLIC schools. My family loves the teachers, the community (warts and all!), the support staff, the program we love it all. Are there struggles? Of course. Are expectations of students low? Lord, no. Kids are all over the map in abilities some kindergartners read at a 4th grade level. Others haven't had the opportunity to read much at all. The teachers have a wide range with which to work. So it goes in public school. If you don't like it, pay the $22K for private where the population is selected and privileged, and kids with learning differences can be out on their rears if they bring the good scores down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

I have placed both my kids here after having a teacher/Aid tell me my 5 yr old might be ADHD, and after having an Aid assault my then 8 yr old. Both boys are thriving here. I love Starr King, The principal is hands down very involved and caring, all the teacher take their time to get to know the kids, parents are very involved... teacher & parent communication is excellent... dont let the neighborhood fool or scare you...this is a great and safe school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

SK is a great school. My child is finishing up kindergarten and has had an amazing year in the Mandarin Immersion program. The K teachers are unbelievable-- the Mandarin proficiency the kids have achieved is remarkable, and it hasn't come at the expense of reading and writing in English. The fact that these teachers have done what they've done in one year gives us hope for the future of public education. The community is an eclectic group with a wide diversity of opinions and perspectives, but is cohesive when it comes to wanting the best for the kids. As the Mandarin program continues to expand, especially in the upper grades (the program started small), it will be interesting to see what happens to test scores. All in all, we're very happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

This is an amazing school. My oldest of two daughters is in the Mandarin Immersion program with my second entering next year. She is thriving. The test scores may be a little low bacause of the fact that the children are learning Chinese as well as English. However, don't let that keep you from a great school. I was concerned about SF schools and seriously considered going private. My wife, thankfully, dug deeper and found that Starr King program is as good if not better than competing private schools. I believe the difference is the parent involvement. The PTA is very organized and very motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

My daughter is a Kindergartener in the Mandarin Immersion program. She loves going to school, loves her teacher and loves her friends. She is thriving here; what more can we ask for? Other things we love about Starr King Elementary: the staff is knowledgable and caring, the parents are involved whether it be coordinating or coaching after-school soccer teams, volunteering in the classroom, fundraising, or cleaning the school, the student population is extremely diverse, the curriculum includes music, art, obviously foreign language development if you choose the Mandarin Immersion program. Our family loves Starr King Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

don't let the low test scores and neighborhood scare you. it's a great school. my daughter goes to K there, and I can see her improvements in mandarin every week. you won't believe how much mandarin she picked up in 6 months. image how much she will know after 6yrs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

We are so happy to be a part of Starr King. We love this school, the hardworking teachers, and all the support staff. Recently the school nurse and the principal won awards for their work here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

Starr King is a great school! Very diverse, involved parents, super principal, excellent teachers. I am very happy here. It is what makes living in San Francisco worth the struggle and sacrifice. We are proud to be part of Starr King
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

We love this school. Our daughter is a first-grader in the Mandarin immersion program. By the end of kindergarten, she was conversant in Mandarin--flooring our Mandarin speaking friends. This is a warm community with involved parents and faculty. The principal and teachers are wonderful and demonstrate their commitment to the children every day. I know potential parents will look at the test scores and disregard this gem. Please don't. This is a extremely diverse school, where not every child has has the same advantages. But that is the beauty of Starr-King: it tries to help all children. Many parents are doctors, lawyers and other professionals, graduating from top schools. If you want your child in a warm, loving school, to speak Mandarin fluently, have friends from diverse backgrounds, then come visit us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

The school has been transitioning for the last few years and the prinicpal is doing a great job of balancing all the different groups. We have general education as well as Mandarin Immersion. The children and families are all from diverse backgrounds and incomes but they all work well together for the benefit of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Starr King is a unique in that it has four distinct programs (Gen. Ed., Special Ed., Spanish Bilingual, and Mandarin Immersion) and highly diverse student/family population in every sense (language, ethnicity, economic, leaning ability and family structure) - it is truly representative of San Francisco. Despite this, we operate as one school community, serving all of our students and families. We find unique ways to mix students together, such as 'unified teaching blocks' where students from the various strands are grouped together for English language arts. And for families, we have many all-school events such as our 'International Potluck Dinner' where families from all backgrounds get to develop relationships with one another. Starr King also boasts the smallest average class size (16) in the district. This is intentional. We believe that skilled teachers and low class sized make the difference. Our largest class is 5th grade, with only 21 students. Another unique feature of Starr King is our comprehensive wellness program, which focuses not only on students, but on families as well. We believe when students and their families are healthy and stable, it frees children up to focus on learning. Starr King is not just a school, it an integral part of the surrounding community. Some parents are even alumni of Starr King, and now send their own children to the same school. Many volunteers come from the community, some of whom have been volunteering for more than 10 years! For all these reasons and more, Starr King is a special place of learning, and it shows in the dedication of the principal, staff, volunteers and parents who are making Starr King shine in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

It's a wonderful neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

812

Change from
2012 to 2013

+21

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

812

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+21

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females63%
Males33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females75%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females35%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females65%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females67%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students66%
Females62%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females75%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females67%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students49%
Females44%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 24% 11%
Hispanic 24% 51%
Black 21% 7%
White 15% 27%
Two or more races 12% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Wendy Cheong
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 695-5338

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Muni

Starr King Elementary School Afterschool Program (ExCEL Program) (after school program)

About the program
  • Urban Services YMCA provides afterschool programs that focus on academic standards, high level creative enrichment, and healthy lifestyles.SFUSD ExCEL afterschool programs ensure involvement of teachers from students' schools to make sure that afterschool academics are aligned with the school day curriculum. Every school with an ExCEL program partners with a nonprofit community-based organization to run activities and build bridges to the neighborhood.
Operated by
  • Urban Services YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Website

Summer program 1

About the program
  • Each program has an academic, enrichment and physical activity component. The programs are based on a youth development model and include project based learning activities. The summer programs are operated by community based organizations that are contracted by SFUSD to provide the services based on grants to the school from California Department of Education. Each organization has a site specific enrollment process. Priority enrollment goes to the students from the school site. Students from other SFUSD schools are eligible to apply though in many of the elementary schools there is more demand than available slots. Funding changes year to year and program offerings change.
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Athletic
Operated by
  • Urban Services YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Aptos Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 Carolina Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 695-5797

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bryant Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Rise Institute
San Francisco, CA


Meadows-Livingstone School
San Francisco, CA



St. Peter's School
San Francisco, CA


Live Oak School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT