Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
My daughter started Kindergarten this past fall and we are very happy with the school, especially with the new principal Mrs. Lau-Yee. She seems to truly care about the students. Its hard to leave your kids in the hands of someone else but I believe under the new leadership of Principal Lau-Yee, my child will gain academic, social and emotional skills that will help her prepare for her future.

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2016
- a parent
My son started kindergarten this school year. Although we had RLS in our list, it was not one of our top 3 choices. However, we are very pleased with the school. The new principal Ms. Lau-Yee is bringing positive changes to the school. She also knows the name of most , if not all the kindergarten students! The teachers we have met are very dedicated and caring as well. Most importantly, my son likes and enjoys his school! If there's room for improvement? of course there is, like any other schools. However, I'm confident that with Ms. Lau-Yee leadership together with dedicated parents, the school will have a bright future.


Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2015
- a community member
I am a parent of a kindergartner. My son has attended this school for just over 3 weeks, and I have been very happy with what I've seen so far from the teachers and administrative staff. His teacher has been very responsive to any concerns I have had and the communication from the staff at the school has been fantastic. Admittedly, this school was our 7th choice and I was not initially impressed with the school during the school tours. The older looking facilities, lack of diversity, a seemingly inactive PTA where some of the major turn offs for me. It doesn't have some of the bell and whistles of some other schools, but if you are looking for a school with great teachers, strong academics and a safe environment, you should consider this school.

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2015
- a parent
I have a daughter that is currently attending this school, due to her special condition, she required a lots of personal attention by different teachers. I found teachers in R.L Stevenson to be very accommodating and cares a lot for their students. We also have a new principle in the school now, and he is wonderful. He is always visible in greeting with students and parents, and seem very personable to talk to as well. I felt privileged to have enrolled my daughter into this school.

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
We are very disappointed with this school. Children who are 1-5 grades are not provided with time in the cafeteria to eat lunch and have to eat standing in the school yard. The main bathrooms never have soap. The principal and many staff members are rude and not supportive to the parents. Gossip is terrible at this school too. The principal would not make any improvements when parents suggest sponsors or greening of the school, which is especially sad since our city has so much resources to offer. The principal is a bully who makes everyone fear her. She threatens people, if they bring any concerns to her.


Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
My son goes to Robert Louis Stevenson School. He enjoys learning here very much. All the staff and teachers are great to him and me. There are many activities at this school such as the All Stars ceremony, Read Aloud Day, Potluck, and Students' Assembly.

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a teacher
Robert Louis Stevenson Elementary is a great school. The principal, teachers, and staff encourage open communication to all parents. New incoming Kindergarten parents are invited to attend the Kindergarten Orientation before the first day of school. New parents can come to learn about the school, meet their child teachers, learn about the curriculum, learn about the teachers expectations, and meet other parents. During the school year we will have our annual Read Aloud Day. We invite all community people such as the police officers, firefighters, doctors, bakers, coast guards, etc. to come to our school to read aloud to our students. This is a fun and exciting day as the students get to learn about the different careers and meet different community people in their neighborhood. Another event that we have at Robert Louis Stevenson Elementary School is the All Star ceremony. We have this event every Friday at the end of each month. We acknowledge each child for his or her talents and creativity.

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
Robert Louis Stevenson School is a wonderful school. My teachers were great to me. They cared about me and were eager to teach me. I had learned so much from my teachers since they were so knowledge in all subject areas. I enjoyed going to the school library to hear the school librarian reads aloud and she taught me and the students activities on the laptop. I went to many wonderful field trips and had a lot of fun.


Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 2

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
The principal lacks ability to get things done. And she is full of excuses for her lack of leadership. That said, there are some excellent teachers (whom I feel sorry for since they received little support from their boss). The PTA tries hard but not enough overall parents involvement.

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School 4

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
I have two daughters at Stevenson. This is a great school. The staff for its most part is super, supportive and provide a great quality of education. It is very academic driven and like any other school, will only continue to thrive as long as we have parent involvement. There are a few things that could be improved in the school, such as the cafeteria and the kids play areas. However, this will only be possible with the community support. This is a call to every parent with kids are RLS. Let's support our school and get involved in community activities that will elad to the improvement of the campus. Go Dolphins!

Nearby schools

Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School
2051 34th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94116
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (415) 759-2837
Last modified Stevenson (Robert Louis) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top