Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
I agreed that the Principle is the worst. She yelled everyone everywhere in the school.
12 people found this helpful

Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
Principal Carol Fong needs to be more passionate and professional at her job. Her bipolar personality ruins a positive, nurturing environment. Being fed up by her negativity and power hunger, the front clerks also acted rude most of the times. Teachers in Ulloa work under a leader who is aggressive, & always wants to get thing in her way. No one dares to challenge her in any way (earlier review). If there is any slight behavior issue, she may overreact & suspend the students for a day without trying other useful options. This school leadership just wants to impose responsibilities & pressure onto parents & every issue is due to lack of parenting . If there is any dispute, she would yell loudly & has to win the argument every time. What makes Ulloa great is the students, not the principal. Most teachers are fine, but Carol Fong s negative leadership ruins the teachers compassion. If Carol Fong works for a private company, she would have been fired long time ago. I encourage parent to file complaint to SFUSD for unfair treatment. Although they tend to dwell on the trivia and evade the importance, if more people are voicing their concerns, they have to treat it seriously one day!
9 people found this helpful


Ulloa Elementary School 3

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
Ulloa elementary has some great teachers. I do agree that the principal needs to be more compassionate with the teachers and parents. If a student do not fall into a behavior which is acceptable then the parents are scolded as if they were bad parents instead of the school finding a way to work with them. And I have heard the same complaints often when the principal does not even know the entire story or listen to the teachers who know more about the personality and behavior of the child. The parents work with the child at home but the school should be working with e child when they are in school when this is their job and what these professionals educate themselves for this type of career! Being a principal should be the leader into providing a compassionate environment and caring for kids instead of having the parents feel like it is their job and the school does not work with the child or parents for a nurturing and caring experience. This school has some very good teachers but the principal can be a better leader! Everything starts from the top and she is lucky that it has not trickled down to having bad teachers so far! I hope she does think about why she wanted this career!
7 people found this helpful

Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
gOOD TEACHERS BUT - Uncaring principal. Never a smile from her staff. Unfriendly office. Intimidating atmosphere. Scolded for absence even when reason was death or illness in the family. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL.
8 people found this helpful

Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted July 10, 2013
- a teacher
Many of the teachers at this school are really great, but the principal, Carol Fong, is truly evil. She was the most horrible person I have ever worked for. She yells at her staff, children and parents alike. She will not treat you with respect unless you keep your eyes down and never challenge her in any way. She ruins what could be a great school. Everyone feels her negativity and her disrespect for her staff adversely affects their ability to teach. Working at this school was the worst experience of my life.
11 people found this helpful


Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted May 27, 2013
- a parent
The reason I gave just 1 star because I got very disappointed having one year experience. Dear parents, if you pick Ulloa because of the high score, then you may not care of how your kids being in school. The first visit in Ulloa, I saw two little kids was crying and standing in the main office and no one talk to them. I guess they probably had trouble so the school punished them. The Principle was so mean, the teachers never can tell how your child doing in school, When my son sick, what they calling for just a doctor paper, not care of my child condition. The Ulloa teacher almost always give you perfect review of your child, so parents feel proud of their child being. The fact is that the teacher doesn't care how is your child doing. Teachers work there just for money. Think of who wants to work with so mean principle? Dear parents, finding a right school for your child is not easy, I believed the most important thing you would care is providing a health school life for your child, a school respects your child, care of your child and love your child. For my experience, I very regret the first year in Ulloa. my child will be in other school soon.
9 people found this helpful

Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2013
- a parent
I AGREE with other parent, please be sure to obtain your own mental health specialist if the school counselor is "assigned" to your child for any reason. Not trying to help your child in heart, but giving your family tons of more trouble instead!
8 people found this helpful

Ulloa Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
The principal of this school, Carol Fong is one of the cruelest people on this planet. She seems to enjoy yelling at the top of her lungs at some of the parents in the office. I have found her behavior to be unprofessional as she is verbally abusive to those parents that she decides she does not care for. This seems to be allowed when you complain to sfusd at the district level. This has scared some parents enough to leave this school. The teachers are excellent, which seems to be the reason people allow the principal to act in the manner in which she does. Before you decide to send your child to school here, it would probably be wise for you to ask yourself if it is worth the headache of placing yourself, as a parent, in the position of being bullied by a power hungry principal. This is my opinion as a parent who has been there for a few years.
9 people found this helpful


Ulloa Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2012
- a community member
I was Class of 2010 and the teachers are really nice, but to push you to do the homework. The teachers are all nice and do know each other. It was fun until the last day of 5th grade. :)

Ulloa Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
I have a 8 year old son that attends Ulloa and one more that will attend next year. The teachers and staff are excellent. My son loves every one of his teachers. By far the best way a child can learn is to be given a comfortable environment which includes but not limited to, teacher and student interaction, teachings of respectfulness towards others, being attentive towards the need of the children and getting the family to be involved in their child's learning. Ulloa has definitely met this. Thank you to all the staff of Ulloa.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ulloa Elementary School
2650 42nd Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94116
(415) 759-2841
Last modified Ulloa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ulloa Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews.