Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


112 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Portal Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
Ms Callaghan is very nice and helpful! My child is 5th grade now. Sometimes I do volunteering for this school so I know a little better about this school. Staffes here always have lunch meeting to share their teaching thoughts and students' issues. I think this school is should place at one of top ten schools in SFUSD.

West Portal Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Principal Lucey is great. Mrs Callaghan, the elementary coordinator is also super-helpful. My son loves this school.


West Portal Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing school. I have 2 sons here. One I the general education track and one in the Chinese immersion track. They have both had wonderful teachers. We feel very fortunate to be a part of this community.

West Portal Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
We've had girls in the Chinese Immersion program @ West Portal for the past 6 years and have seen a great school continue to improve. The principle is really strong, engaged, present and available. He addresses issues raised. Most of the teachers are really wonderful. But, as one would expect, there are a select few that are not. Parent involvement has helped provide the feedback to improve below expectations situations. The community of parents and alum are strong. And, the campus is an example of the community. The garden, the art murals, and the imprint of the students around campus makes the school special. And, the extra curricular programming, such as the Chinese Parade, School Musical and sports activities define the West Portal experience.

West Portal Elementary School 4

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter started K in the Chinese Immersion Program this fall and she loves her teachers and school. She really enjoys her weekly music class, twice a week PE class and special art program. The school's parent community seems very organized and active, especially with fundraising and special events. For an elementary school, the school feels very large and a bit impersonal, though.


West Portal Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are very friendly and helpful. It has a great atmosphere and the school culture is very attentive to parents needs. It also has a great Bilingual Immersion Program (Chinese/English). In addition, it is located in a great neighborhood that allows foot access to many of it's neighboring high lights (promotes walking/exercise).

West Portal Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in 1st grade and in the Chinese Immersion Program. This is a very popular school in a great neighborhood. The teachers, staff, and principal are awesome. The parent participation/volunteering is even better. Academics and extra curricular activities are well-rounded. Our daughter is so enthusiastic about going to school everyday because she is learning so much from her classmates, her teachers of course, the immersion program, the after-school program, and from the whole environment surrounding the school itself.

West Portal Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers, great enriched programs, high parents involment, culture deversity reflection.


West Portal Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
West Portal Elementary is a great school. The entire staff; the principal, all the teachers, all the supporting teachers/helpers, and the custodial staff; all strive to make West Portal Elementary the best place for children to learn. I believe that the children have fun while going to school!

West Portal Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a parent
My daughter loves her school and would like to go to school 7 days a week. Their Chinese Immersion Program is the first in the nation with experienced and devoted teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Portal Elementary School
5 Lenox Way, San Francisco, CA  94127
(415) 759-2846
Last modified West Portal Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Portal Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 112 reviews.