Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


41 reviews of this school


Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
This was not my child's first choice of high schools because it is a small high school (averaging 160 students per grade). However she has blossomed there and made new friends and tried different sports and clubs and even starting a new service club. She now is a huge advocate and fan. The teachers and administration know her name. This is a public high school with a varied student body. The same social pressures, challenges and issues exist here as with all public schools in an urban setting. The difference I feel is that with the size, there is no hiding it. It is true Principal Foster is not popular with the students as she is strict. However some in the administration and some teachers are among the best you can find in the SFUSD. Overall, it is a hidden gem. Invest your time and you will get rewarded with a quality education and experience. If you're a student that bullies others then yes the district policy is Restorative Practices. Overall in the last few years the dance and music programs have expanded along with parent involvement.

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a student
Academically wise, this school is decent. But besides that, this school isn't very good. If you like being bullied, you should come to this school. Cliques are everywhere; you either fit in or you don't; If you don't, have a nice time being harassed everyday. People smoke in the bathroom. Teachers are unable to control students; some kids actually bully their teachers. Those students get sent out basically everyday, and they are sent right back in with no consequences. They deter the students who want to learn from learning. Also, almost all the students and teachers hate the administration. So overall: Come to this school if you want to be unhappy and in a bad mood for your whole high school life.


Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 1

Posted April 16, 2014
- a student
This school is a horrible place to be. There is constant bullying, and nothing is done about it. I see other kids being harassed everyday. Even the most friendly kids are being bullied and I am too. I've actually considered skipping just to avoid some people. When bullying get reported, we have restorative circles that don't do anything except make the bully even angrier at the other. Some teachers are decent, but many aren't. A lot of the time teachers don't have any control over their class. The kids can't keep quiet and the teacher doesn't do anything. You can't learn anything in that environment. I think there should be more severe punishments. If a student is being kicked out of class almost everyday, there's probably a reason why. But they just keep on coming to class, with no punishment whatsoever. Overall, if you want your kid to be happy, don't send them here. Either you fit in or you don't and then you're going to be bullied either way. I haven't been happy at school or wanted to be here even once during this school year.

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
I would rate it Zero stars if that was an option. The current principal has ruined this school. She is a bully and has made all the best teachers either leave or quit. Parents, students and teachers have petitioned to get this principal out so that the school can be a learning environment vs. a chaotic one.

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 1

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
All parents with special education children should avoid this school. The principal lacks the leadership to properly assist the special education staff. The general education teachers are also equally unmotivated by the lack of leadership. The teacher moral is so low that the annual teacher turnover rate over 30%. The special education department is inexperienced and is capable of doing more harm than good. Students that are enrolled in special ed inclusion with diploma are now being informed that all of their school work has been modified since being first enrolled (without prior parent notification or parent authorization) and they re now disqualified from graduating with a high school diploma. Some students are being informed of this after attending the school for years. I regret ever enrolling my kid in this school.


Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a community member
Wallenberg has a very good counseling department and conscientious, accessible teachers. The campus and student body is smaller than other neighborhood high schools, but this allows your student to stand out. The school s community service requirement is a great tool for teaching kids to reach out in their communities. Kids are able to enroll in the classes that they need and are showcased well. Their acceptance rate to good colleges is high. We have not encountered any incidences of bullying. The school is located in a good neighborhood, halls are immaculate, classrooms are well lit and conducive to learning. No, the school does not have a football team, but unless your kid has his heart set on playing football, who cares? Overall, very pleased.

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 4

Posted August 23, 2012
- a community member
I am a Wallenberg graduate and I think Wallenberg is a good school. If you were to send your child to Wallenberg, s/he will come out just fine. The class offering isn t the largest often due to budget issues. Most students that stay for all 4 years are in it for the grade. It s pretty easy to do well, but for those who do not do well, lack of effort plays a big role. But the real gem here is the ability to form and/or join any kind of clubs one wants and the ability to join almost any sports one wants as well (as well as multiple sports in one season). If you want to get into true school politics, students can run for the Student Site Council and/or run as the Student Advisory Council. SSC and SAC positions have the most power to make true changes. It is not difficult to participate; anyone can actually join the meetings. Self-initiated is the most concept one must understand in order to have a great experience at Wallenberg. They should challenge themselves by taking on ridiculous task like managing a library and becoming the project leader for yearbook. Admittedly, most students and faculty at Wallenberg tend to hate the administration. I partly blame the education politics.

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 4

Posted September 02, 2011
- a community member
This school has a lot to offer. It's up to the student and parents to make things happen. There are lots to do. We got music (they always had it...band), computer, art, languages just like the other schools. We have all the sports, just not football. We've got clubs galore. Want drama, cooking, sewing, photograpy, glee, BSU, Latino, Muslim, Asian, string club, pholospy, ecology, science, health pathways, so much more. New renovations, beautiful clean new campus, and it's a breath of fresh air. We are also climbing the charts of the API score and have done better then most other SFUSD high schools. Tours on Tuesdays. Come make an appointment and check us out!


Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 1

Posted October 03, 2010
- a parent
This school was the last choice for my child and now he is stuck there. i am really trying to move him to a charter or other high school that can offer more creative outlets. why doesn't this high school have music or drama classes? they offer some idiotic yoga class now but no music. last year at least there was choir and a play for kids. now nothing- even after school has no clubs for creativity. i would never choose to send a student to this dull place. and by the way the principal is very uninformed and a really rude person.

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
I was so impressed at last nights Meritus dinner. As a new parent to Wallenberg I m very excited for my son to be involved in a school with so many resources and helpful dedicated teachers. It was a powerful experience for my son and I to hear the personal account of a student who was struggling, in and out of foster care, low GPA, had no motivation for school until the Meritus Program offered him a chance and opportunity to turn his life around. They followed this student through high school, tracking his academics and making sure he rose his GPA above a 2.5 now this student is enrolled at SFSU working for a degree in Biology all paid for and sponsored by Meritus. I want the Best for my Son and I believe he will succeed and Shine like a STAR in his next 4 years of high school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School
40 Vega Street, San Francisco, CA  94115
(415) 749-3469
Last modified Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wallenberg (Raoul) Traditional High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 41 reviews.