Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 196 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2013

I and my daughter in general education kindergarten at Daniel Webster really enjoy the place. It's small, very focused, and offers tons of options. Plus it's right in the neighborhood which makes it all the more valuable. In response to the parent concerned about test scores: Sometimes test scores don't tell the whole story and sometimes they're a bit out of date. You should definitely tour a cluster of schools as well as Daniel Webster to get a sense for what you like and what makes each distinct.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

It sounds to me like the parent that gave Daniel Webster one star really wants to send her kids to private school but can't afford it. Instead she decided to judge Daniel Webster without even having children in attendance. Daniel Webster has an amazing parent involvement that are doing so many great things for the school. The teachers are great at Daniel Webster so there is no "false picture of their ability" as you say. Public school in SF is based on a choice system and you don't have to chose DW for your children. However writing a review about the school when your children don't even attend and giving it only one star without being involved on a daily basis is doing everyone's efforts a disservice. Life isn't only about test scores! We think Daniel Webster is a great school that is only getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Hello, I am a parent of two boys fast approaching school age. Upon doing my research and planning for my family and finances for the next five years; I am very discouraged that my public school option, Webster Elm., performs so poorly. Yet, the ratings from the parents are so high. Can someone explain? I ask parents to be a bit more critical of how their children's education is managed. Simply, these 5 stars we provide teachers will do nothing for our children if they can't meet standard, but more importantly provide the teachers a false picture of their abilities. The money is there, the student: student ratio is low; we are running out of excuses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Our daughter is in 4th grade. We love Daniel Webster because: + DW is a small school where everyone knows your child + DW has an active local community that supports the school + DW has talented, dedicated teachers who work in innovative ways and inspire learning + DW has an active, engaged parent body, including PTA & ELAC who are working together to bring resources and support to the school + DW has a robust and thoughtfully conceived enrichment program serving ALL grades that includes creative and dramatic arts, music, dance, health, nutrition and extensive field trips that help to bring the curriculum to life. + DW's classrooms are undergoing technology upgrades, including smart boards, tablets and computers. + DW is in the process of identifying PROP A renovations and will receive a substantial face lift, if not be partially rebuilt, in the next few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We have been very pleased with Daniel Webster as an elementary school for our son. It's situated in a bright and sunny neighborhood and has excellent parent involvement as well as a dedicated and caring staff. The efforts put forth by the parents and staff truly shows, as this school continues to improve every year. Daniel Webster has a bright future as an exemplary K-5 school and will continue to shine! We are so glad our son is a part of this dynamic small (yet growing) school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We are very impressed with the spanish immersion program at Daniel Webster. The school has a strong sense of community, great parent involvement, and a fabulous principal! This is a school to watch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Excellent parent involvement and coordination with the teaching staff makes this gem on the top of Potrero Hill really shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

This is more than just a school, it's a real part of the Potrero Hill community. I love that my daughter went to kindergarten with 11 of her friends from preschool and that she's building friendships that will last a lifetime. Spanish Immersion has been an amazing experience for her and it's been wonderful to see her reading equally well in English and in Spanish. Her teachers have all been awesome - energetic, creative, passionate, and caring. My daughter loves to learn and I give the teachers big credit for keeping her engaged and challenged!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

A true Phoenix rising story, DW was on the brink of closure when a group of concerned parents stepped in to save it and build a Spanish-immersion program. My son has been a student from the beginning and we could not be more satisfied with the dedication of the teachers, the quality of education and the strong community that has formed around our little school that could. Every year things seem to get more organized and efficient. It's truly a pleasure to join the morning circle every day and pledge to be the best possible me along with the children and our dear friends from the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

Daniel Webster Elementary is a great school with wonderful teachers. We have good parent participation and it feels like being part of a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

My daughter has attended the Spanish Immersion for two years now. We are thrilled with the teaching quality and sense of community this school offers. It is a hidden gem. The kids are learning and happy, the parents are extremely involved and the teachers are top notch. Additionally, there are lots of enrichment activities for the kids , not to mention a second language!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My daughter has only been in Daniel Webster for K and 1st grade and her General Education teachers (not Spanish Immersion) have been excellent. Also, the parent involvement in this school is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

My school, Daniel Webster Elementary, is one of the "up and coming" San Francisco public elementary schools!! It that has a dynamic Spanish Immersion program and committed PTA. Parents play an active role each day at our school. The kids are awesome!! We celebrate diversity and share our rich cultural traditions throughout the year. We seek to create a learning environment for each child to thrive academically, socially and emotionally. We have a 0 tolerance for bullying. Our warm kind-hearted, dedicated teachers and staff reach out to kids that are struggling and lend support. Located in the sunny beautiful neighborhood of Potrero Hill,,,Daniel Webster is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I have 2 kids in Daniel Webster, my son (4th grade) and my daughter (2nd grade). The community of families is culturally diverse and active. The teachers are young and full of energy. I love our principal, she is very understanding and open to new ideas. The building is old but the playground is really nice, safe...and sunny!. The PTA is very passionate, dynamic and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Our daughter was in E R Taylor the first week of school but we thought that school wasn't the right school for us. We saw the difference when we were at the office to do the paperwork, this is just one example of the many good things in this school, the people was so friendly and one think that we notice was that they knew the name of all the kids. We couldn't be happier, we are involved in the school and having everyone there with a big smile makes all the difference. Please don't mind the low rating, we didn't think this was a good school just because of the numbers, but what a big difference once you are there, give it a try, you won't regret it. ER Taylor has 8 out of 10 and believe me that we are happier here, Ms Gonzalez is my daughter's teacher and she is GREAT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

DW has made great strides due to heavy parent involvement at every turn. The result is a school where kids are learning in a supportive, multicultural environment. Many more kids from white collar families than the (outdated) stats imply. One of the few truly diverse schools in the city, and my daughter is benefiting in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

Our daughter is in Ms. Gonzales' Spanish Immersion kindergarten class, and we are very happy with her and Daniel Webster as a whole. We are a bilingual family, but didn't feel that our daughter really enjoyed or understood the importance of speaking more than one language until now. She comes home singing, reading, and writing in Spanish. She is happy to go to school everyday and has made many good friends. We also feel that DW is the right match for us as parents and are connecting and making new friendships with many wonderful people. The parent involvement is great, and everyone who works at DW seems to be there because they really love these kids and want to give them everything they can. It is exciting and rewarding to be involved in such a passionate and dedicated community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

Our son transferred to DW last year for 1st grade a month into the school year. It was a little tough for him, but made so much easier by the immediate friendliness of his peers and teachers. He came home the first day saying he had a friend. I think this is a good example of the feeling at DW - a small, tight-knit and friendly community. It is also exciting to be a part of a school that is dynamically on the up-swing. A critical mass of neighborhood parents started a Spanish immersion preschool and implemented a new Spanish immersion program several years ago. As part of this effort, the school's PTA began in 2008 and has ramped up quickly, bringing in nearly 100K last year. I include that to point out that this school is solid. This is a school that is increasingly promoting academics and able to solve problems as they arise. As of last year, we now have the EXCEL after-school program as well, which has been a great addition, including great enrichment activities. Of course, there is always room for improvement, but I am so happily a part of this community that comes together to ensure a friendly, safe and dynamic school experience for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Our daughter goes to Spanish Immersion at DW and really likes it. Her friends are smart, she interacts with a broad range of kids and is becoming very fluent in Spanish. I'm bilingual and am very grateful that she will have that gift also. The parents are great here; the PTA is determined to help all the children from all backgrounds learn to their fullest potential. We chip in for extra programs and are working with the SFUSD board to move our school to a K-8 model. Our test scores are low because we have a LOT of English language learners, but our local ELAC committee is working with community groups to get tutoring and other programs in place to help those children also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

Great sense of community and commitment to improve. The test scores do not reflect how passionate this school is about nurturing it's students to fulfill their potential. We haven't had a second thought about having our son attend Webster Elementary and look forward to the years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

754

Change from
2012 to 2013

+51

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

754

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+51

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
4%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females77%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%

Math

All Students54%
Females59%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Females33%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino11%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state38%

Math

All Students57%
Females52%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Females29%
Males21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability26%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only27%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students14%
Females7%
Males20%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino19%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability15%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only13%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students53%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students54%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 51%
Black 19% 7%
White 16% 27%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 11%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Moraima Machado
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 826-6813

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Muni
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Daniel Webster Early Education School (after school program)

About the program
  • The Early Education Schools work collaboratively with elementary schools to support children's learning. The afterschool programs offer a homework/tutorial period, outdoor experiences, and learning/enrichment activities. Afterschool programs are offered year-round. Bussing is available between a number of SFUSD elementary schools.
Operated by
  • SFUSD Early Education Department
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Is financial aid available?
  • No
Website
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

465 Missouri Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 695-5787

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Live Oak School
San Francisco, CA


La Scuola
San Francisco, CA


AltSchool - Dogpatch
San Francisco, CA



Rise Institute
San Francisco, CA


Brightworks School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT