Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 4

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
I and my daughter in general education kindergarten at Daniel Webster really enjoy the place. It's small, very focused, and offers tons of options. Plus it's right in the neighborhood which makes it all the more valuable. In response to the parent concerned about test scores: Sometimes test scores don't tell the whole story and sometimes they're a bit out of date. You should definitely tour a cluster of schools as well as Daniel Webster to get a sense for what you like and what makes each distinct.

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
It sounds to me like the parent that gave Daniel Webster one star really wants to send her kids to private school but can't afford it. Instead she decided to judge Daniel Webster without even having children in attendance. Daniel Webster has an amazing parent involvement that are doing so many great things for the school. The teachers are great at Daniel Webster so there is no "false picture of their ability" as you say. Public school in SF is based on a choice system and you don't have to chose DW for your children. However writing a review about the school when your children don't even attend and giving it only one star without being involved on a daily basis is doing everyone's efforts a disservice. Life isn't only about test scores! We think Daniel Webster is a great school that is only getting better.


Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in 4th grade. We love Daniel Webster because: + DW is a small school where everyone knows your child + DW has an active local community that supports the school + DW has talented, dedicated teachers who work in innovative ways and inspire learning + DW has an active, engaged parent body, including PTA & ELAC who are working together to bring resources and support to the school + DW has a robust and thoughtfully conceived enrichment program serving ALL grades that includes creative and dramatic arts, music, dance, health, nutrition and extensive field trips that help to bring the curriculum to life. + DW's classrooms are undergoing technology upgrades, including smart boards, tablets and computers. + DW is in the process of identifying PROP A renovations and will receive a substantial face lift, if not be partially rebuilt, in the next few years.
1 person found this helpful

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
We have been very pleased with Daniel Webster as an elementary school for our son. It's situated in a bright and sunny neighborhood and has excellent parent involvement as well as a dedicated and caring staff. The efforts put forth by the parents and staff truly shows, as this school continues to improve every year. Daniel Webster has a bright future as an exemplary K-5 school and will continue to shine! We are so glad our son is a part of this dynamic small (yet growing) school!

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
We are very impressed with the spanish immersion program at Daniel Webster. The school has a strong sense of community, great parent involvement, and a fabulous principal! This is a school to watch!


Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
Excellent parent involvement and coordination with the teaching staff makes this gem on the top of Potrero Hill really shine.

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
This is more than just a school, it's a real part of the Potrero Hill community. I love that my daughter went to kindergarten with 11 of her friends from preschool and that she's building friendships that will last a lifetime. Spanish Immersion has been an amazing experience for her and it's been wonderful to see her reading equally well in English and in Spanish. Her teachers have all been awesome - energetic, creative, passionate, and caring. My daughter loves to learn and I give the teachers big credit for keeping her engaged and challenged!

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
A true Phoenix rising story, DW was on the brink of closure when a group of concerned parents stepped in to save it and build a Spanish-immersion program. My son has been a student from the beginning and we could not be more satisfied with the dedication of the teachers, the quality of education and the strong community that has formed around our little school that could. Every year things seem to get more organized and efficient. It's truly a pleasure to join the morning circle every day and pledge to be the best possible me along with the children and our dear friends from the community.


Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 4

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
Daniel Webster Elementary is a great school with wonderful teachers. We have good parent participation and it feels like being part of a big family.

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended the Spanish Immersion for two years now. We are thrilled with the teaching quality and sense of community this school offers. It is a hidden gem. The kids are learning and happy, the parents are extremely involved and the teachers are top notch. Additionally, there are lots of enrichment activities for the kids , not to mention a second language!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Webster (Daniel) Elementary School
465 Missouri Street, San Francisco, CA  94107
(415) 695-5787
Last modified Webster (Daniel) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Webster (Daniel) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top