Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 550
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a community member
This mainly refers to middle school at AFY. As a student, I constantly thought about how much I hated this school. The same can be said for many other students and alumni. I repeatedly reminded myself of how much homework I had and how hard school was. Years later, as now a graduating senior in high school, I understand why AFY methods are the best. Many people say it is outdated teaching and that students are taught to take tests.The "out dating teaching technique" pays off the most. It is so intense and rigorous that it makes high school seem like nothing, or even less, literally. At AFY we are taught to take tests, but this IS middle school. How many more tests will you take in your life? From high school placement to college exit exams, that's a lot of tests. When considering this school, keep in mind what type of learner your child is, it's like college, not every school is a bad school, but there is a different and unique touch to them and your kid. If I, a high school teenager, can understand and appreciate the different prod and cons of this school, so should each parent out there. Good luck too all the parents considering schools :) Love, JL C/0 '10
2 people found this helpful

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
My kids are lucky to have such a high level education at AFY! This school is clean, safe, the teachers are dedicated, very involved and super creative. They are teaching Cantonese, Mandarin and English and still managing to get some of the highest scores in California. The Principal is a strong leader, which has set this school for success over the years. We have a great parent community with many fun events and strong support for the school. My family loves AFY!


Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Our school is led by a visionary Principal, who guides a team of dedicated teachers, who in turn drive the students to achieve amazing results, with the strong support of the parents. We are a true community, committed to raising our children to be multilingual and responsible citizens of the world.

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Alice Fong Yu Alternative School is an excellent. Both my children (one in middle school and the other in elementary), while very different in temperament and interests, have both thrived here. I initially had concerns that the school would be too rigid in but have found that it's AFY's structure that allows kids to thrive. The principal sets the standard with high expectations for all: her teachers and staff, the students and the parents! High expectations that every student can succeed and the support given (before, during and after school tutoring) so that this is attainable. The staff performs at a high level and there's plenty of homework (a necessity in order to learn the Chinese language). Parent participation is high which is a big part of why the AFY community is such a unique and vibrant place. My children are looking forward to their 8th grade class trip to China, the culmination of their education at AFY and an experience that will remain with them forever.

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2013
- a parent
Alice Fong Yu (AFY) is a K-8 school and is the nation s first Chinese immersion public school. Its mission is to prepare students to be caring, responsible, and competent citizens with global perspectives and English-Chinese bilingual skills who can face the challenges of the twenty-first century. AFY has a strong focus on high academic achievement and student leadership. Students have unique opportunity to acquire language proficiency in Cantonese and Mandarin. AFY prepares students to be responsible stewards of the environment. It provides a comprehensive tutoring and support program. There are enrichment activities, opportunities to develop leadership skills (student government, peer mediation, buddy programs), and team sports. All 8th graders have an opportunity to participate in AFY s US-China Cultural Exchange Program. They can participate in a two-week study tour to China, during which they use their language skills in homestays with their sister school in China. The exchange program includes reciprocal hosting of students from China who homestay with AFY. Students graduate understanding Chinese language and culture to participate in a culturally diverse world.
1 person found this helpful


Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
My son is in first grade and every day we are thankful that he got into Alice Fong Yu. We do not speak any Chinese and were a little nervous initially about the immersion component but after seeing the amazing progress that he has made, not just in the Chinese language component but in math, science, English, etc., we know we made the right decision. The quality of teachers, the principal leadership, the parent involvement and the entire community at the school is excellent.

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
Truth be told, I was hestitant to send my first child there due to its high academic standards. However, after being there long enough to have three of children attend, I would never have my children anywhere else. The school is filled with spirit and the parent participation is HUGE. This makes a TON of difference and I appreciate all of the teachers for their dedication and constant caring. Of course, "our fearless" principal is an amazing woman and makes sure that no child is left behind. She will recommend a free after school tutor for your children if they fall behind on any subject. There are plenty of after school activities to get your children involved in and grow into an outstanding member of our community. My only compliant is that it has to stop at 8th grade!
2 people found this helpful

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2010
- a parent
Everyone outside the AFY has an unsolicited opinion about this school. Some say it's too much pressure at a young age. Others claim it's too much emphasis on homework. The truth is AFY is what the students and parents make of it. AFY is an alternative K-8 school. It's an EXCELLENT SAFE school that offers students academic challenges with a non-traditional curriculum and methods. 80% of instruction in kindergarten is in Chinese! Students and parents must embrace not only the Chinese immersion but culture wholeheartedly in order to seek the many opportunities AFY has. THIS IS NOT THE SCHOOL FOR EVERYONE. This is not the school for and English learner kid. The principal and staff are fully committed to the school and it isn't all cracking the whip. Success in public schools in not often reported; bashing public school education, however, is a national hobby in this country. As a parent, I strongly believe what AFY has accomplished, its best qualities, its culture of high expectations and emphasis on academic achievements, could serve as a model for other schools.
1 person found this helpful


Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 3

Posted November 22, 2010
- a community member
this school, alice fong yu is a school i atten. it is fun and easy to make friends but also easy to make enimies for life. yes, some of the teachers are very strict but some are very kind.some will brib your kids to be good by giving them no homework or feeding them.if your kid comes home fatter then usawal then they etheir ate their friends snack or the teacher bribed them.this is a real student

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
AFY is an amazing school. If you have any doubt about the value that public schools can bring, your faith will be restored by the education provided at AFY. My child is a 3rd grader. The quality and dedication of the both the teachers and principal is unrivaled by any private school based on what I know an heard about other families experience. When you consider how much budget pressure has been placed on the school in the last 4 years, it is amazing how the "body and soul" of the immersion program has been preserved. I have no complaints about the school and after 4 years and trust that the Principal will maintain the high quality of the faculty and curriculum that she has put together of the last 10 years. (I might add that I consider myself a very tough critic.)
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School
1541 12th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94122
(415) 759-2764
Last modified Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yu (Alice Fong) Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top