Advertisement

Corpus Christi School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $460,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2011

We have 2 children at Corpus Christi school. Since the new ipad program has started, they've come home every day overjoyed to show us the latest math, science, geography etc... apps they've downloaded. Technology isn't the future, it's the present...We're so proud of our school for being the trailblazers in this community!


Posted August 4, 2010

Wonderful school! This school has been around for generations. Caring staff, excellent academics, and many after school activities for the kids. Small enough to foster communication and individualized attention for its students, yet large enough to create the feel of a "big school" without losing focus on its students. Old fashioned morals, values, discipline, and study habits are emphasized at this school. The only downside is I wish there were a larger playground/greenery around campus, but it is located in an urban neighborhood so it is understandable. All in all Corpus Christi is an excellent choice for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

The first time I visited CCS, I feel like I am at home. You can easily see the present of the sisters and fathers. The school has changed for better in the last two years or so. It started from the top. They have a new principle who in my opinion the hardest working principle. Her door is always open to anyone who has any concern or question. She has hired some excellent top notch teachers in the past 2 years and it shows. My kids are learning how to read, write, and do math far better than a public school. There are many free after school clubs for student to participate in. The technology is also first in class at CCS. They have the latest smart interactive board. CCS also have champion even though they do not have gym. Sent your kids there and you will not be regreted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

I have two children that have attended Corpus Chrisit School since kinder. They love their teachers and the school. I love that the principal knows each child and is always walking around with a Big Smile on her face! They even have a cheerleading program! The teachers are very caring and reply to a parents concerns immediately. We are planning on moving, but the only reason I want to stay in the City is to keep my children in this loving school. My children are excelling in school because they have the support they need to move forward. My kids never complain about school. I went to visit Epiphany before sending my children to Corpus and when I did the walk through I was quite sad at the fact that the prinicipal hardly knew the children. That is why I chose Corpus Christi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I attended Corpus Christi School for eight years of my life and I have to say that it was one of the best choices that my parent's ever made for me. Academically, Corpus Christi is top notch when it comes to preparing students for high school. A lot of my classmates including myself were accepted to many of the best private and public schools in the Bay Area. I'm currently in my third year of college studying to be a Nurse while a lot of my peers are on track towards medicine, law, and education. Spiritually, the sense of community and belonging is what makes Corpus Christi everything it is. The Salesian philosophy that is integrated in the school curriculum helps the students grow in their faith and everyday lives. The extra curricular activities are stellar and the school is very supportive in attending the games to show school spirit.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

So far Corpus Christ school in SF is great! There are ton of extracurricular activities that are free!!! The Prinicipal has done so much for the school and from Kinder to 2nd Grade the teachers are awesome. I am not sure of the teachers from 3-8 yet since my children are in 1st and 2nd so far. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a school that's small and give a feeling of family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

Corpus Christi has evolved in many ways but the foundation and morals of the school have remained in tact. As alumni, I have fond childhood memories from this school and my child will do the same. My child loves to go to this school! They do indeed have a great accelerated math program and the children are advancely computer literate. I was amazed at how much the internet/computer system has been integrated into the class curriculum. They've been in talks for a gym for decades now and I hope it materializes so that my child can enjoy the one thing the school is lacking. However, the family environment and supportive staff make up for this small shortcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

The most graduates of Corpus Christi School excel in premier high schools and colleges. It speaks well of this fine school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2008

My child is very lucky indeed to be a part of Corpus Christi School. It has dedicated faculty and staff who are all working hard to help the kids become academically and morally sound. It's unbelievable that the kids are winning and even get to be the champions in basketball and other sports even though they don't have a gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

Corpus Christi has limits to its facilities. Its not a terrible school and academically from my personal stand point its the effort of a student to want to learn more not the school's teaching insufficiency. I currently attend one of the top high schools in the Bay Area and I was well prepared for it. No, I'm the not the genius at the school, but personally I have earned grades that are just as good as any other student from any school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2008

I regret sending my child to Corpus Christi because I feet that they were academically behind compared to public schools that my nieces and nephews are attending. Epiphany would have been a better choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

I have been a CCS parent for almost 13 years. My eldest one, who went to CCS,started at SDSU this year (One of the 8000 accepted among 53,000 applicants in this campus thanks to the foundation provided at CCS). My second son will graduate from CCS this year and our daughter is in 5th grade. We have gone to 3 Principals so far but what we like about the school is that their salesian phylosophy of all for the children and the school as a 'second home' for them, doesn't change. Their accelerated math and reading program established 5 years ago has made CCS the number 1 of all elementary school in the SF Archdiocese for Math and English proficiency. The teachers are there for the kids and although it may seem that is for philipino families, there is a diverse population. I'm not philipino. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

i went to ccs from 4th-8th grade and i thought that it was a nice school to attend. i felt extremely prepared for high school particuarly math, having taken pre-algebra already. my freshman year of science was also a breeze. what i liked about this school is that it is small and very close-knit. i still keep in touch with teachers and friends even being a senior now in high school.


Posted April 23, 2007

I totally agree with the prior comment about some of the parents at this school.Very poor participation.They mostly only get involved if really need to do their hours which is so discouraging. On a positive note however I do like and respect the staff at this school.I love that the students mostly know each other and that the interactions I've seen between them are quite friendly which is very pleasant to see.As far as the culture issue,I have no problem with it.You have a choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2006

Corpus Christi is a great school and I would definitely recommend you send your child there. I attended Corpus Christi for 8 years and loved my years there. Its a small school where everyone knows one another. The level of parent involvement is very high. The school is just a wonderful place to send your child . It will be a home away from home where you learn so much . If you send your child to Corpus Christi He/She will be fully prepared for High School He/She will learn in a loving and caring environment He/She will make life long friends He/She will be known by name and personality by not only teachers and students in his/her class but by everyone in the school It's a wonderful school and I learned so much . You will not regret sending your child there It is a school of Unity and Pride
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2005

Although I have had a child in Corpus Christi School for 8 years now I would not enroll another. Unfortunately it is not very diverse and blatently favors Phillipino students. Most social activities are Phillipino orientated and can sometimes exclude the remaining population. I'm not happy that they only offer PE once weekly, and thats only when the weather is good since there is no gym. On a positive note the school is small and everyone knows everyone else, including teachers. No after school activities only baseball, basketball and volleyball and thats only if parents step up and help. no help from athletic director.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2003

My child is currently enrolled in this school. I feel the teachers there are incompetent and have a lack of sufficient teaching knowledge. I regret having ever enrolled my son here. I'm positive he is not anywhere near prepared for high school. Parents, if you are even considering this school, think twice.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 58%
Hispanic 33%
Two or more races 7%
Black 1%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Francis St
San Francisco, CA 94112
Phone: (415) 587-7014

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Monroe Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Glen Park Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



Cleveland Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT