Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Epiphany Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $460,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2012

The teacher at this school are nice and work hard. The teachers he/she had are great. HOWEVER! the principal is a different story, She doesn't have much contact with parents. This school is constantly asking form money and to sell staff when we are already paying enough money for tuition. I feel that you are seen well only if you are constantly donating staff, which most parents can't do it, because we don't have enough to keep principal happy. is just ok. school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Epiphany has remained one of the stronger Catholic schools in San Francisco. While other private Catholic schools have experienced a loss in enrollment, Epiphany has managed to retain its student body. It is apparent that administration at Epiphany knows how to keep up with the times -- a beautiful new building equipped with the latest and the greatest technology, an excellent exploratory program for its junior high school students, and many educational resources that students need to ensure academic success. Not to mention many after school activities and sports programs. In reading previous reviews it is noted that some parents are unhappy with Epiphany, but every school will have its growing pains throughout the years. Nevertheless, Epiphany is the "best bang for you buck" when it comes to SF private Catholic schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

It s disappointing how the standards at Epiphany have fallen. June can t come around soon enough! Blame the parents, blame the teachers..who suffers the most from this; The Students. I m pretty sure that a public school has a better math & science depart. then Epiphany. The fact that I m paying a monthly tuition for the lack of education is blow to my family. The school year is almost over and my child continues not to understand the math curriculum, or the instructor. Why would you assign 8th grade math to someone that has no background in Math. Who pays the consequence the students. Why aren t teaching credentials not available to see? Either the Archbishop needs to take a very close look at the leader of this school or Epiphany will end up being a school that will be a last resort due to the SFUSD lottery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

It is amazing to see how the absence of one teacher can make such a difference! With the loss of the science teacher, Epiphany's value to strong education has really taken a backseat. No longer are students pushed to 'do their best work' as they say each morning. This year was rather disappointing with regards to the middle school and as always administration! Why is that all the good teachers leave? The Epiphany Science Program was by far above and beyond most other schools, now they are just getting by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

Epiphany middle school includes exploratorys (photography, music,cooking, art, drama etc.) and weekly advisory for kids to be heard.Grads are in Honors and AP. Caring observant staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

My overall view of the school is satisfactory. As a parent of a student who has been attending the school for a couple of years, I would have expect the principal handling of her staff and a issues pertaining to a student would have immediate attention rather then attention months after the fact. I feel the interests of educating our students who are our leaders for tomorrow is failing and it has been failing for the last couple of years. My personal thoughts of the school is curriculum is satisfactory as long as you are involve constantly with your child learning and you are following up with you child teacher on a regular basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

'This school has been a big disappointment'. It is probably fine for elementary age children, but our Middle school age children need better learning opportunities which will not be provided at this school. Its outstanding Science program has dramatically deteriorated over the past couple of years, so that it is at best mediocre currently. and the caliber of most of the middle school teachers has been shockingly poor. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a Private school, with all of the disadvantages of some public schools. I can recommend it only in contrast to most of the other private schools in San Francisco.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

The school is great but above all love the teachers . Ms Rodrigez is wonderful my daugher loves the school and has learn lots in the first year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I think Epiphany is a great school, especially academically. Also, it is culturally diverse which is nice. Lots of parent involvement which is very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I think that this is one of the best schools in San Francisco better than corpus christi. Corpus christi only favor asians unlike here they make sure that everyone is happy and learning. they are much more advanced and ready for anything unlike corpus chirsti so please parents sen your kid to this school not corpus christi also their princpal is not doing a very good job. My girls are always being bullied to and epiphany as i hear doesn't not have all that. Also the princpal lets the kids do what ever they want many even have beening kissing in the staircases. I regret taking my kids to corpus christi when epiphany is way better. Corpus Christi's student's mother
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

I think that this a great school to send your children and am very pleased with the results with my children the show my children resonsiblilty and show them a lot of love. The only big problem that this school has is a parking problem and still haven't been able to resolve it. teachers are amazing and they do have high expectations and as for parent involvment there is a mandatory 10 hours at the ball park and totaling 40 with other paticipation. I is nice to have parents involved and not just expect the school to do everything after all they are our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Teacher ratio 36-1. Focus on academics and values. Parent mandatory involevement. Follows State standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Epiphany is blessed with a very committed and involved principal. He seems to have a talent for relaying information to parents and reaching the kids on their level. My only complaint about the school is it's large size. It has 2 classes per grade and there are 32 children in my daughter's 1st grade class. She is not receiving the individual attention she needs to succeed. It has been a struggle since day one of Kindergarten last year. The second complaint I have is that the school has early dismissal every Monday, requiring working parents to spend more money on extended care. I don't understand why the children need to be let out at 12:35 p.m. every Monday, when we pay just as much tuition as other comparable schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Epiphany has exceeded our expectations on delivering quality education and Catholic values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

This school is the best school in San Francisco Mr Parada is the best principal he will help you get your child motivated and ready for High School. I give this an A+
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 44%
Hispanic 37%
Two or more races 13%
White 4%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Italy Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94112
Phone: (415) 337-4030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Living Hope Christian
San Francisco, CA


Guadalupe Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Cleveland Elementary School
San Francisco, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT