Advertisement

Immaculate Conception Academy

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $675,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2012

The work study program prepared me for life. I was offered several entry level jobs right out of high school and gained two years of professional work experience. I don't regret coming here because it was good for me, but that is only in retrospect. I honestly dreaded every single day of school after the work study program began. Our programs have been cut drastically and several top-notch faculty members have been forced out to compensate for the lack of money. Send your daughter here if you want her work-ready, the academics are nothing special anymore and neither are athletics/electives.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2011

ICA has been around for over 100 years in San Francisco. Instead of closing the school due to lack of funds/enrollment they decided to try and turn things around and joined the Cristo Rey Newtwork. As with any change there have been ups and downs over the past 2 years. Bell schedule extra circular activities, & staffing just to name a few. The girls are getting a great education, making life long friendships and gaining work experience that your typical teenager will not have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

I really liked ICA when I started as a freshman, but the change to the work study program my junior year really messed things up. The school has doesn't give enough energy for the actual learning or after school stuff. There were more activities when I started, but they're slowly getting rid of them because there's no money, but they always have more money and time to put towards the work program. The school cares about us as workers but not as people or students. The teachers try their best, but I think if the administration could, they'd cut all of them and have us work full time. I want to be a doctor someday, not just a secretary, but that's all they train us for here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2010

ICA is unlike any school in the Bay Area. Every student here works 5 days per month in a professional, entry-level position to subsidize their private school tuition. 100% of graduates are accepted to college and the tuition is 10% to 20% of the cost of most other private high schools in San Francisco. So when a previous commenter says that the work-study program only cares about the bottom line...they are somewhat correct. The school wants to ensure that families who want college prep, Catholic education can afford it! 4 out of 5 stars, because there is always room for improvement...we can always serve the students better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 29, 2010

My opinion of this school changed dramatically in 2009. With the conversion to the Cristo Rey network, a new principle was hired and the combination of the two was a nightmare! Though her intentions are usually good, she has all the assertiveness of a paper napkin. She allows the work study program to dominate school life, ignoring the few parents who speak up, and all of the many student concerns. The work study program only cares about the bottom line, and seldom communicates with parents, because they don't have to - very few parents are involved because many work full-time. The teachers are the one redeeming factor at this school, but the administration doesn't support them, so their efforts are in vein. My daughter has had a miserable time here since the switch, but she wanted the support of the counselor for college applications. Prospectives: Don't bother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

ICA is an incredible Catholic School with an option for those who can't afford a Catholic Education. The new president and NEW principal are incredible! Along with all the teachers, they work tirelessly to give the girls the best education EVER. I am so pleased with the results! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

The best four years of my life. The teachers become your friends. ICA has the best college guidance counselor in the city. The classes are small. There are cliques but you can pretty much hang out with anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

Small welcoming environment. Student and parent involvement. No clicks. Power School: you can follow your child's grades and homework progress. Best Councilor in town. Teachers love their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

The teachers genuinely love what they do and care for the students. Unfortunately the administration doesn't give a flying fart. The principal will try to browbeat anyone who doesn't agree with her, and I mean anyone, students, faculty and parents. PTA membership is compulsory as is the yearly 'donation' which is required on top of the tuition. They only offer French and Spanish as foreign languages. I really enjoyed the sewing and drama classes
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2005

Great academic programs, small classes one on one help if needed.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 51%
Two or more races 17%
Asian 14%
Black 9%
White 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3625 24th Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
Phone: (415) 824-2052

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sand Paths Academy
San Francisco, CA



Mission High School
San Francisco, CA




Brightworks School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT