Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John's Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $700,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2012

My daugther came just before Mr. Willers left. I remember him caring about the students and the school. Now the active Principal Sister Shirley which I have been to her office a couple of times to complain about bullying. Which there a lot of that going on in the school. Now even more since two other school came aboard. Before we only had like 20 students per class not theres 38 students per class for 1 teacher. I don't even thing public school allow that much students per class room. Not happy with this school at this point. Alot more to say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

This school is such a wonderful place. It is our fifth year there and we are still in awe of the terrific teachers our children have had and will have. The value of the education here is great - the kids learn and are challenged. I would recommend this school to anyone - whether they are Catholic or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

My husband and I are so happy that we selected St. John's. Our son loves going to school here and the teachers/faculty are wonderful! Parent Involvement is SPECTACULAR! Great diversity and the students are really surrounded by a loving/caring student body altogether.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

St. John's was a great school (past tense). The parent involvement is wonderful. It is great to see how the parents really want to participate. As a student I enjoyed my education until i reached Junior High. I knew things were going to get hard and i could handle that, but it was the teachers who were making the mistakes. My 8th grade year especially, teachers were losing my assignments and i was the one paying for it. I appreciate how they go out of their way to teach more than what is in the books, but just as the students there is no excuse to be losing assignments and forgeting things. It is the students job to do the assignments and it is the teachers job to record it. This did not just start my junior high it has been happening over previous years. I have heard many complaints.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

St. Johns is a great school. My kids are safe and the teacher/parent involvement is excellent. The school has undergone changes but sometimes change is needed. Mr. Willers and Sister Shirley are always available to hear any concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I feel so blessed that my children attended St. John's pre Mr. Willers. I am still involved with the school and it is very disheartening to see the tradition and the harmony of the school lost because there is a lack of caring on his part. While the technology he brought to the school is wonderful, it does not make up for the areas that are lacking. I am saddened that the families no longer experience the tradition that is St. John's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Principal Willers aims to make St. John a school of tomorrow. Good academics. P.E. twice a week and either music or art once a week. Each grade has drama lessons for a short while. Afterschool, kids are involved in sports through CYO. Extracurricular activities, for a fee, includes piano, basic gymnastics, Mandarin, and guitar lessons. Due to parents participation, they have Black History day, Christmas Pageant, Fall Dinner, Crab Feed, Pancake Breakfast, Silent Auction, and Carnival, just to name a few. The school is equipped with wireless laptop computers, flat screen TV's with cable service and DVD players. Students are responsible for the maintenance of it. Only complaint is that the school needs to be more stricter with the students there. Otherwise, it's a school who is gathering more and more applicants each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Principal Willers is an excellent principal. He is easily available and was surprised how he was totally willing to work with the parents if they were not happy with the class. He believes that the parents and the school are here to give the students the best education and personal development. He is very progressive. He is not afraid to try new approach to make this school the best. There is a lot of parent involvement with the school and PTG. Our school are doing really well financially. In the curriculum, there is P.E. twice a week and Rhythm and Music once a week. The extended day care are trying to arrange afterschool activities such as Piano, Guitar lessons, Spanish, tumbling, etc. It's too bad that second language is not incorporated into the curriculum. Otherwise this school is a hidden gem and words are getting out that it's great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 35%
White 21%
Black 18%
Two or more races 15%
Asian 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

925 Chenery St
San Francisco, CA 94131
Phone: (415) 584-8383

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Glen Park Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Corpus Christi School
San Francisco, CA


Mission Education Center
San Francisco, CA


St. Finn Barr School
San Francisco, CA


Sunnyside Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT