Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,340 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
I attended a top-tiered college, and I believe that my admittance and success at my college was due to the preparation that the teachers at Sacred Heart Cathedral provided me. My teachers were hugely inspirational, and I've kept in touch with many of them even today (over 10 years after graduating). I've started doing volunteer work at the school, and I see the same amount of dedication from the current staff.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
The school supports a hugely diverse student population. The one commonality between all of the students is that the school tries to shape each one of them into doers, leaders, and supporters of one another. Some tactical examples of the ways the school develops determination is through its rigorous academics (including robotics classes), helping students conduct TedX lectures, state championships in various sports, and so on.


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
The faculty is dedicated in supporting its students. I have still kept in touch with many of my old teachers from the school while I was in college and even after. The faculty truly believes in its students.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
Every school's mission is to educate students to become successful adults. Sacred Heart Cathedral, however, sets itself apart from all other schools though because it truly emphasizes the importance of community within the school as well as serving the surrounding community.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
There is a motto above the school's entrance that says "Enter to learn, Leave to serve." I can't emphasize enough of how much the school tries to instill this in their students.


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted February 21, 2016
- a community member
I am an alum of Sacred Heart Cathedral, and I could not be more proud of having attended this school. Not only was I able to receive financial aid and a scholarship, but I received an amazing education with dedicated faculty members, participated in a strong sports program (I later played volleyball in college), and joined a number of other extracurricular activities to build a well-rounded application that got me into a top-tiered college. Above all, the school emphasizes the importance of serving the community. This inspired me throughout my life, and I've now recently volunteered my time to give back to the school that helped shape me into the successful adult that I've become. Now that I've been back, I've only seen a stronger student body than even I experienced during my time there.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 3

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
good, but the kids are terrible and bad influences. By the time a kid is out of the school they're on a bad path

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of two college age alumni and a current freshman, I cannot say enough great things about Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory. My college age sophomores were well prepared for college with rigorous study and academics at SHCP. They were able to choose the extracurricular activities that interested them and became leaders in the areas of their interests. There is so much to be involved with at SHCP - theater, tech crew, speech and debate, sports, music, chorus, newspaper, magazine, service clubs, dance – there is literally something for everyone! The sense of community that is built at SHCP is really what makes it stand apart from all other high schools, in my opinion. From day one, staff and faculty make it clear that they are grateful to parents for “allowing” them to educate your child. The community that is built within each class starts at freshman orientation with a class dance and carnival, and ends with a senior grad night lock-in/dance/carnival. Parents are welcomed at freshman orientation with a class Mass and BBQ. I always feel welcomed on campus and find the faculty easy to approach and available to parents. I think the biggest testament of the welcoming spirit and inclusiveness at SHC is that when my college age children are home from school, one of the first places they visit is SHCP. They created lasting bonds with so many of the faculty and staff. Teachers challenged their intellects, listened to them, directed them and cared for them. I am so happy that my youngest child is starting as a freshman and am sure that he will have a similar experience.


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a teacher
I've worked at many institutions, but never before have I felt such a warm sense of community at SHC. It really it an extended family. Students, faculty, staff, parents and alumni all support each other and work together. The students are bright, hard-working kids that are driven and excited to learn about their world. The parent community is very involved, and alumni continue to give back. The balance of rigorous academics with cocurricular activities (not "extra"-curricular) nurture the whole student. I'm grateful to be a part of such a community and contribute to student success.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a student
How do i start??? The school is overall AMAZING. I am currently attending the Summer Institute camps and I LOVE it. SHCP is my dream highschool. I feel like I will achieve in that school. BEAT SI.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
1055 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA  94109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (415) 775-6626
Last modified Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top