Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,340 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 3

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
good, but the kids are terrible and bad influences. By the time a kid is out of the school they're on a bad path

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of two college age alumni and a current freshman, I cannot say enough great things about Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory. My college age sophomores were well prepared for college with rigorous study and academics at SHCP. They were able to choose the extracurricular activities that interested them and became leaders in the areas of their interests. There is so much to be involved with at SHCP - theater, tech crew, speech and debate, sports, music, chorus, newspaper, magazine, service clubs, dance – there is literally something for everyone! The sense of community that is built at SHCP is really what makes it stand apart from all other high schools, in my opinion. From day one, staff and faculty make it clear that they are grateful to parents for “allowing” them to educate your child. The community that is built within each class starts at freshman orientation with a class dance and carnival, and ends with a senior grad night lock-in/dance/carnival. Parents are welcomed at freshman orientation with a class Mass and BBQ. I always feel welcomed on campus and find the faculty easy to approach and available to parents. I think the biggest testament of the welcoming spirit and inclusiveness at SHC is that when my college age children are home from school, one of the first places they visit is SHCP. They created lasting bonds with so many of the faculty and staff. Teachers challenged their intellects, listened to them, directed them and cared for them. I am so happy that my youngest child is starting as a freshman and am sure that he will have a similar experience.


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a teacher
I've worked at many institutions, but never before have I felt such a warm sense of community at SHC. It really it an extended family. Students, faculty, staff, parents and alumni all support each other and work together. The students are bright, hard-working kids that are driven and excited to learn about their world. The parent community is very involved, and alumni continue to give back. The balance of rigorous academics with cocurricular activities (not "extra"-curricular) nurture the whole student. I'm grateful to be a part of such a community and contribute to student success.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a student
How do i start??? The school is overall AMAZING. I am currently attending the Summer Institute camps and I LOVE it. SHCP is my dream highschool. I feel like I will achieve in that school. BEAT SI.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a student
I would also like to add that although people say the area around the school is bad, I in particular don't agree. Just don't go down that area. But one thing I do love about this school is the different places we can go to after school. There's Japan Town that's only a 10 minute walk away, Little Saigon about 15 minutes down, and many other resturarants.


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a community member
Its a good school and they do help in financial aid but the kids that go there are bad. The school were its near is bad. Mostly all those kids are bad influence.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children attended SH, the eldest from Class 2006 and the younger one is graduating this year, Class 2010. I have nothing but good praises for the school. Teachers are great and supportive. They work with the students well and most of them, if not all, are approachable and willing to mentor the students. They have counselors who guide the students by making sure that they are on the right track. As the years progress, they have made so many improvements to the school--their facilities are being upgraded constantly and they have new teachers who are well qualified and dedicated to their responsibility. We are so happy to have picked this school for our kids.

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a student
SHCP has provide many fun activities and has many good circulars for me... I am a freshman and I hope to enjoy the rest of my years at this school with a new 300 seat theater coming up!


Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
no rating

Posted September 05, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a senior at SHCP wonderful wonderful school super responsive faculty and I cannot say enough. This was NOT our first choice REALLY but looking back I am SO glad that things worked out this way... for a school this size they manage to know EXACTLY whats going on with your child like a big caring family I will always support this school As far as the price it is worth every penny i am a single mother that works on straight commission in the car business and if I can afford it with no financial assistance anyone can GREAT JOB SHCP!!!

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
no rating

Posted September 03, 2009
- a parent
SHCP is an excellent school! It has the perfect balance of academic rigor, co-curricular variety, athletics and parent involvement. The faculty and administration staff are high-caliber. Discipline has been firm, fair and consistent. Finally, the whole community is down-to-earth, not 'cliqueish' and very welcoming.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
1055 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA  94109
(415) 775-6626
Last modified Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top