Advertisement

St. Anne School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $675,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

My child attended St. Anne for K to 8. The school subsequently added a pre-school. All of the teachers were credentialed, with many of them having advanced college degrees. Although my child certainly had her favorite teachers, we thought all of them were very dedicated to their jobs and students, and were well qualified. We have no regrets about sending our child to St. Anne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

My child attends here, and I can tell you the academics programs are stellar. The school is about 3/4 asian and 1/4 caucasion. I do wish they were a bit more diverse, but it still is one of the best catholic schools, with high test scores in the city. Low class size too. Kindergarten classes are at 22 students with 2 teachers per class. The kids test very well here. Teachers demand excellence and most if not all students seem to love it here. Hidden gem, but not so much anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

excellent curriculum. Best in building a great academic foundation. The students are respectable and the teachers are great. They are strict but they are also fun. The children are happy here because the St. Anne school community is strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My children have been well educated here at St. Anne. They have a very strong Jr. High and the teachers are terrific. Mrs. Meek and Ms. Ferrari are wonderful and caring teachers. Sr. Rosan is an excellent English teacher with so many wonderful ideas. This school also has a resource teacher by the name of Claudine Hallisy. She is a very caring teacher and has helped my child tremendously with algebra. Parents and students respect and love all the teachers and are grateful to them for all they have done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

My son is graduating this year and St. Anne's has been a great experience ! The jr. high teachers all strive to make your child the best they can be and the kids are very prepared to move on to high school. The jr. high teachers are very supportive in every way. These 4 teachers run like a well oiled machine !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

There are a lot of great qualities in this school. The teachers, staff, principal, and their overall pholosophy are well established over the years of experience. The dedication of the parents and the continuous education opportunity given by the principal to his teachers are just the best. The school's pholosophy is whole child first with a little more emphasis in academics. Some teachers may seem old school on the apparence, and, I don't agree with the previous comment. In my child's class, the whole class was given the chance to take out the trash on rotating basis. I thought this was a great way for my child to learn to become a responsible, helpful, (no matter how small or dirty the chore is.) and down to earth person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

The resource teachers at St. Anne are excellent. Claudine Hallisy and Sister Katie are kind to the students they work with and go to great lengths to see that their students get the professional help they need. St. Anne's students are lucky to have them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

St. Anne's has an excellent English program. The teachers are very well versed in this department. The social studies, math, and science curriculum is excellent as well. The only drawback is that some teachers have a very 'old school' way of disciplining kids (i.e. writing 100 sentences of the same line, or picking up trash outside, etc.)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 82%
White 13%
Hispanic 3%
Black 2%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1320 14th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94122
Phone: (415) 664-7977

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jefferson Elementary School
San Francisco, CA





Argonne Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Lisa Kampner Hebrew Academy
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT