Advertisement

St. Brendan Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $838,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,630.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2014

This used to be a better school. New principal, some new teachers, new pastor have not been able to continue the tradition of an excellent school. The students are not performing as well or getting into their first choice high schools as easily as they used to- but most do get in somewhere. Not a horrible place (unless you are one of the many bullied kids), nice school building, lots of parent fund-raising. Okay uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

If your child is creative, an in- depth thinker, or has great ideas, forget St. Brendan. St. Brendan offers very traditional classes where the child just sits, listens, takes test al the time, and produces work. Classes of 39 kids and 1 teacher, has really been a bad experience for our child. Also, there are few rotten teachers and even more rotten students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

please never go here it is terrible my child never wants to go to school in the morning because he is afraid he is going to get beatin up by some jerk
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

To the poster that states 8th graders at St Brendan's are scoring at college level on standardized testing, that is simply not true here or at any school in SF. I can tell you the school is filled to capacity. I do wish the classes were smaller, as some of the other parochial schools in San Francisco are. The Kindergarten Class for 2011 had 29 children in it. Is that too many, some may think so, I certainly do not. The school has it's pros and cons. It does tend to lean towards the white upper class, so let's be honest here. The racial diversity is what it is. You will not find any african american children here ( yes that is sad ) and hardly any latino children either. It's primarily upper class Caucasian and Asian children. At their Dinner Dance auction I attended last year, they were auctioning off Botox Treatments for the parents. I agree with the other poster, test scores are not given out, and we've asked for them too. We're always told that all of the students score well above any other school in SF. I would like to see proof of that though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

It's unfortunate that a previous poster should have a forum for their retaliatory ranting and raving. Certainly, the school, as a living and breathing institution is prone to make mistakes, however not letting this idiot in was not one of them. The school is quite simply - Outstanding! Not because it's Catholic, or private, but because it cares tremendously about every facet of the child's well being, and it shows! The faculty, administration, support staff, and parents are the village that raise the children of St. Brendan's. The students stand taller, shine brighter, and smile wider. The success of the students, and thus the school, is such that generations of returning families fill the seats, leaving little room for new families. The staff is a highly regarded group of caring professional - caring of the students and their education. They not only teach, but they lead by example. This is evident from the top down. The principal knows every child by their first name, and greets them daily with a smile - be it opening a car door or putting on a band-aid. There's a reason why the teachers and staff have such longevity. It's a great place to teach, learn, grow & return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

I am responding to pevious post where facts are incorrect The current principal has lead the school for the past seven years. There are two classes of kindergarten with a maximum of 20 children per class The school reflects the ethnic make up of the parish and local neighborhood. Over 25% of the population is non caucasion. Since the school is a catholic parish school preference for admission is given to active registered contibuting parishioners of St. Brendan school. The school has wait lists for all its classes . This is testament to the stellar education provided. I am aware that the administration would love to accept all students who applied there, but space is an issue. There is no space to build more classrooms. Students at St. Brendan School consistently show more than 1.7 years growth on standardized test scores, so that by the time they are in eighth grade they score a grade equivalent score of 13+. This means that students at St Brendan School score at the same level as the average college freshman taking the same test. Great teachers. Great students. Great principal. Great parents. Test scores


Posted January 15, 2010

The school is outstanding. Enrollment, although not very diverse, is stable. The principal and pastor are always available. The current principal is relatively new, but ideally suited for the job. The school's is always so well kept. My child is so delighted here. Faculty is a mix of young and old, but both highly skilled. Many of the personnel have been here for a long time. The school offers a limited number of extracurricular activities, yet with an emphasis on academics. Parent involvement is high - Great parent, great neighborhood! Safety and discipline are not a concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

Would rate it 6 stars if that was a choice... fantastic school. We feel very fortunate to be a part of the school and community. Although relatively new to the school and community, we are thoroughly impressed. Lots of parent involvement, great staff, great principal, strong sports program and a serious commitment to the kids from the entire community. If your child has the opportunity to attend, I recommend taking a serious look at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

The school is top rate, the teachers nurturing, supportive and dedicated, and the Mothers' and Mens' clubs are second to none. The principal is devoted to the kids and there couldn't be a better place in the country to send your children to learn how to be great students and more importantly great people. Blessed to be a part of this amazing community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

We love St. Brendan. It is an excellent school with a great principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I currently have three kids in the school. The very best school in the city (bar none). The students test consistently in the top five of the country among Catholic schools. In Iowa testing, 7th and 8th graders tested #1 in San Francisco. The school is a little deficient in the arts, but great in sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

The very best Catholic school in the city. Great mixed of middle class, upper middle class, and upper class families. It also provides for a well grounded students. Kids from this school normally go to SI after graduation, however, they can compete anywhere. J.H. Father
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2005

Quality - Best Catholic grammer school in the city. Sports - As always CYO can't be beat. Parents- Active Father and Mothers club.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 14, 2005

St. Brendan's has always had the best reputation in the city for placing kids into SI the very prestegious high school in the sunset. This school has a solid fundamentals program, and the students place in the top 10% for testing in the country when compared with other catholic schools. We have three kids at the school, and we couldn't be happier with their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Two or more races 24%
Asian 6%
Hispanic 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

940 Laguna Honda Boulevard
San Francisco, CA 94127
Phone: (415) 731-2665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maria Montessori School
San Francisco, CA


Oaks Christian Academy
San Francisco, CA


Miraloma Elementary School
San Francisco, CA




Sunnyside Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT