Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Brendan Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
This used to be a better school. New principal, some new teachers, new pastor have not been able to continue the tradition of an excellent school. The students are not performing as well or getting into their first choice high schools as easily as they used to- but most do get in somewhere. Not a horrible place (unless you are one of the many bullied kids), nice school building, lots of parent fund-raising. Okay uniforms.

St. Brendan Elementary School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
If your child is creative, an in- depth thinker, or has great ideas, forget St. Brendan. St. Brendan offers very traditional classes where the child just sits, listens, takes test al the time, and produces work. Classes of 39 kids and 1 teacher, has really been a bad experience for our child. Also, there are few rotten teachers and even more rotten students.


St. Brendan Elementary School 1

Posted March 24, 2013
- a parent
please never go here it is terrible my child never wants to go to school in the morning because he is afraid he is going to get beatin up by some jerk

St. Brendan Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
To the poster that states 8th graders at St Brendan's are scoring at college level on standardized testing, that is simply not true here or at any school in SF. I can tell you the school is filled to capacity. I do wish the classes were smaller, as some of the other parochial schools in San Francisco are. The Kindergarten Class for 2011 had 29 children in it. Is that too many, some may think so, I certainly do not. The school has it's pros and cons. It does tend to lean towards the white upper class, so let's be honest here. The racial diversity is what it is. You will not find any african american children here ( yes that is sad ) and hardly any latino children either. It's primarily upper class Caucasian and Asian children. At their Dinner Dance auction I attended last year, they were auctioning off Botox Treatments for the parents. I agree with the other poster, test scores are not given out, and we've asked for them too. We're always told that all of the students score well above any other school in SF. I would like to see proof of that though.

St. Brendan Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2012
- a parent
It's unfortunate that a previous poster should have a forum for their retaliatory ranting and raving. Certainly, the school, as a living and breathing institution is prone to make mistakes, however not letting this idiot in was not one of them. The school is quite simply - Outstanding! Not because it's Catholic, or private, but because it cares tremendously about every facet of the child's well being, and it shows! The faculty, administration, support staff, and parents are the village that raise the children of St. Brendan's. The students stand taller, shine brighter, and smile wider. The success of the students, and thus the school, is such that generations of returning families fill the seats, leaving little room for new families. The staff is a highly regarded group of caring professional - caring of the students and their education. They not only teach, but they lead by example. This is evident from the top down. The principal knows every child by their first name, and greets them daily with a smile - be it opening a car door or putting on a band-aid. There's a reason why the teachers and staff have such longevity. It's a great place to teach, learn, grow & return.


St. Brendan Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2012
- a community member
I am responding to pevious post where facts are incorrect The current principal has lead the school for the past seven years. There are two classes of kindergarten with a maximum of 20 children per class The school reflects the ethnic make up of the parish and local neighborhood. Over 25% of the population is non caucasion. Since the school is a catholic parish school preference for admission is given to active registered contibuting parishioners of St. Brendan school. The school has wait lists for all its classes . This is testament to the stellar education provided. I am aware that the administration would love to accept all students who applied there, but space is an issue. There is no space to build more classrooms. Students at St. Brendan School consistently show more than 1.7 years growth on standardized test scores, so that by the time they are in eighth grade they score a grade equivalent score of 13+. This means that students at St Brendan School score at the same level as the average college freshman taking the same test. Great teachers. Great students. Great principal. Great parents. Test scores

St. Brendan Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2010
- a parent
The school is outstanding. Enrollment, although not very diverse, is stable. The principal and pastor are always available. The current principal is relatively new, but ideally suited for the job. The school's is always so well kept. My child is so delighted here. Faculty is a mix of young and old, but both highly skilled. Many of the personnel have been here for a long time. The school offers a limited number of extracurricular activities, yet with an emphasis on academics. Parent involvement is high - Great parent, great neighborhood! Safety and discipline are not a concern.

St. Brendan Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
Would rate it 6 stars if that was a choice... fantastic school. We feel very fortunate to be a part of the school and community. Although relatively new to the school and community, we are thoroughly impressed. Lots of parent involvement, great staff, great principal, strong sports program and a serious commitment to the kids from the entire community. If your child has the opportunity to attend, I recommend taking a serious look at this school.


St. Brendan Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
The school is top rate, the teachers nurturing, supportive and dedicated, and the Mothers' and Mens' clubs are second to none. The principal is devoted to the kids and there couldn't be a better place in the country to send your children to learn how to be great students and more importantly great people. Blessed to be a part of this amazing community.

St. Brendan Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Brendan Elementary School
940 Laguna Honda Boulevard, San Francisco, CA  94127
(415) 731-2665
Last modified St. Brendan Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Brendan Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.