Advertisement

St. Brigid School

Private | K-8 | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $597,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

57 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

SB is a special place. The parent community is second to none and the kids receive a solid and well-rounded academic foundation and move on to some of the top high schools in SF. I drop my kids off everyday knowing they are safe, well cared for and academically challenged. Good after school activities and lunch program too. The front office can be a bit bristly, get past that, the heart of the school is the community. It's a real place with real SF families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

St. Brigid is an academically rigorous school that turns out some of the politest, most well-rounded kids I've seen in a while. The school's approach is quite old-fashioned with a strong focus on traditional scholastic achievement but they offer dance, piano, karate, chess and many other on-site extracurricular activities. Children are challenged but the school also works extensively with those kids who need more help. Every child graduates from kindergarten reading and writing well. Don't be put off by the rude office staff. Generally, the teachers here are excellent and care deeply for all of the children. The student body is incredibly diverse (only half are Catholic) and the school is a commuter school, attracting families from around the city and even Marin and Daly City. (It's just a quick trip through the Broadway Tunnel to get to the financial district.) The school is a great option for middle-class families, seeking a solid education for their kids. As another poster said, St. Brigid kids go on to some of the best high schools in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

I have two kids at St Brigid and both are thriving and learning so much in the short time they have been there. It is a relatively small school, but just right in my opinion so that you can get to know others and the school office staff gets to know you. The Principal is wonderful and knows ALL of the children's names! It's amazing, even kindergarteners. It's a very nurturing environment with friendly faces. A real family. Lots of extracurriculars to choose from. High expectations. But they also make it fun and always about the kids. All the kids learn respect and kindness for one another and you could see the older kids really mentor the young ones. We've NEVER once regretted our choice in schools for our kids. It's a win win!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

I have two children at St. Brigid School. My husband and I actually belonged to a Parish up the street. We were reviewing schools and did some "drop" in visits not during the designated school openings. We were disappointed at what we saw at the other schools. We are very happy with St. Brigid. You can see in each classroom the attention being given to the children and respect toward teachers and students. It is a highly academic school with all of the wonderful assets that children can utilize to grow their education. Starting with Kindergarten they offer Mandarin, Japanese, Spanish, piano, dance, choir and more. They have a reading program with Sister Oviedo that is amazing, supportive and energizing for children who need the added attention. There is no tolerance for bullying at all. Children treat their classmates with respect. Each class is its own family. I honestly can not say enough about how happy we are with this school. My husband and I call it the "best kept secret" in the city! We are now four years into the kids education!!! I am seeing 8th graders go to Sacred Heart and SI for high school from St. Brigid. The teachers should be proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

When my husband and I decided to move our two children from another SF school to Saint Brigid, we hit the jackpot. St. Brigid has, by far, the best academics, hands down. A bonus is the Spanish class the children learn early on that helps them tremendously in highschool. They have a myriad of after-school options. Their sports program is incredible - leading the kids to top divisions and wins. The teachers are great; the staff, nurturing; the parents, very much involved with the school. And the high school preparation is amazing and cannot be beat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Kids are very well prepared, while staff is caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

my daughter very like it, it's a nice place to learn and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The students and the faculty are unbelievable! amazing to see an academic institution with such genuine interest and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Ilove st. brigid because there is disipline,education,and care for students to be sucessful in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

It has a great academic program and extensive extracurricular activities, The principal and teachers care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My wife and I are glad we chose St Brigid. Our daughter loves her teachers, classmates and the competitive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

The teachers motivate the students to do their best and the children are supportive and respectful of each other. Sister Carmen Santuiste maintains good order and supports her teachers. The PTG is enthusiastic and very involved in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

St. Brigid, is the best well kept secret in San Francisco, with super small class size, dedicated teachers and a curriculum that is both challenging and fun it stands out among the options available in SF. The sports program is amazing and provides the kids with a great opportunity to work on team building and cooperative learning. The community is diverse with kids from all over the City, Marin and East Bay. We have been very pleased with Saint Brigid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

It is a great school, from both academic and social points of view. Children receive a formal, old school education in the good sense of the word, but they also have a happy social life. Our daughter is very happy to go to school every day and we are happy we chose Saint Brigid as her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

St Brgid is a small school so we feel like a family, kind of like everyone knows each other. Great teachers and strong PTG.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

St. Brigid School believes in developing every student spiritually, morally, physically, and mentally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Great teachers, students, parents, staff and especially a caring and wonderful principal, Sr. Carmen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Teachers are great and the school has a long tradition of providing excellent care and education for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

They show extreme care for balancing the best education standards and concern for the students... both win at St. Brigit School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school is awesome! Great principal and staff. The teachers are excellent and the parents are friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 54%
White 20%
Two or more races 17%
Hispanic 5%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2250 Franklin Street
San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone: (415) 673-4523

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sherman Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



Hergl School
San Francisco, CA


The Hamlin School
San Francisco, CA



Stuart Hall for Boys School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT