Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
255 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 79 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Brigid School 3

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Our kid used to go here. While we thought it was great when we there, realize now that it is really quite average. There are many, many great schools out there, which get the job of educating done well without beating kids down with homework and rules and more rules, This school will not help make your kids into independent thinkers. However, it will ensure your kids are well-behaved, polite and meek. The administration is pretty ineffective. The school lacks a strong principal.

St. Brigid School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Starting our 3rd year at SB and and are still pinching ourselves that our daughter got into such an amazing school. Just read the reviews below and you will see why. Solid academics, wide array of extra-curricular activities, a top-notch parent community, all supported by a strong and caring teacher\administration base. Our daughter LOVES SB and I see it's positive affects in her every day. To quote from the previous post, which sums it up nicely... "There is something magical about this school and we're so lucky to be a part of it."


St. Brigid School 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a parent
Our kids wake up in the morning looking FORWARD to school! We stumbled upon this school 8 years ago and it was best stumble we ever had. The Sisters, the teachers, the academics, the nurturing and supportive atmosphere are everything a parent could possibly want. Don't take my word for it, take a tour and attend a class. It is an affordable education with a diverse student body, yet a group of children that show enormous support for each other. The church (closed in 1995) now holds mass for the children. There is something magical about this school and we're so lucky to be a part of it.

St. Brigid School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a community member
Review from a St. Brigid 2014 Graduate, I went to Saint Brigid since kindergarten and graduated last year. I just wrote this review to show you what this magnificent school means to me. St. Brigid is a rigorous and centrally located school. It has small classes and each student receives one-on-one attention. Students take Spanish for six years and are immersed in the culture. Sports are also a big part of community life. I played both volleyball and basketball for six years and recommend joining a sports team. My high school application journey was successful, mostly because of how much Saint Brigid prepared me. When application time came around in eighth grade, I got into every high school I applied to. This includes two private schools (University and Bay), one catholic school (Sacred Heart Cathedral) and a public school (Lowell High School). I received a large scholarship from Bay and was accepted into Sacred Heart under the DePaul Program. Now, I attend Lowell, the top public school in the state. I was placed in an honors math program and a junior year Spanish course. I enjoyed my experience at St. Brigid and hope more people take advantage of this magnificent school.

St. Brigid School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Best kept academic secret in San Francisco. Incredibly caring faculty, rigorous academic program, diversity like the United Nations, and amazing children and families make Saint Brigid a wonderful school. Could not recommend it any higher.


St. Brigid School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
My two kids attends St. Brigid School, and since the day my son started kindergarten 8 years ago, I feel we have been so lucky to have been able to part of the school community at St. Brigid. They offer an advanced curriculum, and the children are way ahead of the game in comparison to children from other schools. But it is not only an advanced curriculum that makes the school. The kids are also taught to care and respect one another. The community is very involved in helping fund the school, allowing the school to maintain a low tuition for the children.

St. Brigid School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in his second year (first grade) at St. Brigid. He loves the school and looks forward to going every day. There is a strong academic focus. I was talking with a recent St. Brigid graduate who now goes to University High, and she said she was very well-prepared for high school. The student body is diverse ethnically, socio-economically and religiously. Half of the students are Catholic. The students who go there are all good kids. Even the eighth graders are friends with the kindergarteners. The big kids watch out for the little kids. Our son loves going to their aftercare program because he gets to spend time with kids in the other grades. There are many extracurricular programs offered after school. Our son takes karate, chess, piano and Mandarin. He also plays on the soccer team which is a great way for the parents to spend time together too. There is a very strong community at St. Brigid with involved parents. We have a lot of social activities such as TGIF BBQs in the courtyard, Halloween carnival,Christmas pageant, and the annual Taste of SF party and auction organized by the Dad's group. We are so happy with our decision to go to St. Brigid.

St. Brigid School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Our school is a hidden Gem. Small, close and tight community of kids and parents. It feels like home when you are there because the entire faculty knows you and you them. The kids are challenged every day as academics is key at this school. The kids leave SB feeling beyond prepared at any other school they have gone to. Our kids also move onto to some really impressive schools so as a parent it makes me feel good to know the path of my child is a solid one thanks to picking this school!


St. Brigid School 5

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
SB is a special place. The parent community is second to none and the kids receive a solid and well-rounded academic foundation and move on to some of the top high schools in SF. I drop my kids off everyday knowing they are safe, well cared for and academically challenged. Good after school activities and lunch program too. The front office can be a bit bristly, get past that, the heart of the school is the community. It's a real place with real SF families.

St. Brigid School 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
St. Brigid is an academically rigorous school that turns out some of the politest, most well-rounded kids I've seen in a while. The school's approach is quite old-fashioned with a strong focus on traditional scholastic achievement but they offer dance, piano, karate, chess and many other on-site extracurricular activities. Children are challenged but the school also works extensively with those kids who need more help. Every child graduates from kindergarten reading and writing well. Don't be put off by the rude office staff. Generally, the teachers here are excellent and care deeply for all of the children. The student body is incredibly diverse (only half are Catholic) and the school is a commuter school, attracting families from around the city and even Marin and Daly City. (It's just a quick trip through the Broadway Tunnel to get to the financial district.) The school is a great option for middle-class families, seeking a solid education for their kids. As another poster said, St. Brigid kids go on to some of the best high schools in the city.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Brigid School
2250 Franklin Street, San Francisco, CA  94109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. (415) 673-4523
Last modified St. Brigid School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top