Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mission Dolores Academy 4

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
This school will give your kids opportunity and prepare them for high school. Lots of programs for your kids to join during summer vacation which they are affiliated with other Summer school programs (mainly top notch high school in SF city) for advancement and to bring out the best in your child. They have the resources and Ms.Unruh is a great asset for the school. The students of Class 2014, all of them are accepted to major SF City private high schools (Convent of Sacred Heart, Stuart Hall, Saint Ignatius, SHCP, Archbishop Riordan, ICA, Mercy) and including Lowell high school.

Mission Dolores Academy 2

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
So one of my kids graduated from there since the schools merged and the other one I removed from the school because there was no family support, parent support, and they were all about the dollars! Parents have been with the schools for years and it seemed like they use us (St Dominic kids, staff, and parents) to merge and then kick us out. WELL you can have it because my kid ROCKS at her new school. Get it together people


Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
We placed our son in Mission Dolores Academy after a rough time at SFUSD, and so far we couldn't be happier. This is a new school that combines Megan Furth Academy and Mission Dolores School. The teachers have high academic standards for the kids and high standards of conduct. There is plenty of recess equipment to go around and adult supervision in the morning and after the final bell rings. The administrators make a point to know all the students and parents and are available to talk as long as you need about anything. Best of all, there is a sense of family that allows for all parents to mind each other's child. And no one feels too shy to tap someone on the shoulder as ask them to listen to the principal. Whatever issues were mentioned in previous posts, it looks like they've been worked out. Our child feels safe, happy, challenged and already made a ton of friends. We love it here!

Mission Dolores Academy 3

Posted August 15, 2010
- a parent
The school is newer and trying to iron out its problems. Nothing happens overnight. They are on-route to becoming a very great school. The vision is there, the funding is increasing, and the quality of student/family/teacher is improving. The more connected the school is to St. Dominic's church...the far better it will enjoy the bountiful blessings that St. Dominic's parish and its members continue to receive. Hang in there Parents!

Mission Dolores Academy 1

Posted May 21, 2010
- a community member
TOO MANY BULLIES IS RIGHT! MY LITTLE ONE HAS COMPLAINED NOTHING WAS DONE! #2 HE WAS SENT HOME FROM SCHOOL FOR POUTING&CRYING!!! #3 HE HAS GAINED 10-12 LBS SINCE ENROLLING 9MOS AGO NOT ENOUGH PHYSICAL ACTIVITY! VERY UNHAPPY, AND I BELIEVE HE IS TOO! CLEARLY STRESSED..


Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school overall from discipline, sports, academic excellence & family values. Everyone is working together as one community.

Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
I am confident to say that Megan Furth Academy is a phenomenal school. The teachers are amazing and the students seem to succeed because of the high engagement. There is a strong sense of community and Catholic focus. Highly recommend!

Mission Dolores Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
To many bullies ... administration would reprimand kids who are simply defending themselves and let bullies get away with anything. It's sad to see how my child's confidence decline drastically.... Will look for another school ASAP


Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2008
- a teacher
The Megan Furth Academy is private K-8 school that promotes high quality education with a strong sense of community. The core values of the school are to instill a passion for learning, respect for others and self confidence. I love teaching at the Megan Furth Academy.

Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
This school is a hidden gem. Every year my child has been there it has gotten better. The teachers this year are on top of things. The dean and principal take care of the students. More parents need to go out into the community and let people know what a great school this is.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Dolores Academy
3371 16th Street, San Francisco, CA  94114
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (415) 346-9500
Last modified Mission Dolores Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top