Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Dolores Academy 4

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
This school will give your kids opportunity and prepare them for high school. Lots of programs for your kids to join during summer vacation which they are affiliated with other Summer school programs (mainly top notch high school in SF city) for advancement and to bring out the best in your child. They have the resources and Ms.Unruh is a great asset for the school. The students of Class 2014, all of them are accepted to major SF City private high schools (Convent of Sacred Heart, Stuart Hall, Saint Ignatius, SHCP, Archbishop Riordan, ICA, Mercy) and including Lowell high school.

Mission Dolores Academy 2

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
So one of my kids graduated from there since the schools merged and the other one I removed from the school because there was no family support, parent support, and they were all about the dollars! Parents have been with the schools for years and it seemed like they use us (St Dominic kids, staff, and parents) to merge and then kick us out. WELL you can have it because my kid ROCKS at her new school. Get it together people


Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2012
- a parent
We placed our son in Mission Dolores Academy after a rough time at SFUSD, and so far we couldn't be happier. This is a new school that combines Megan Furth Academy and Mission Dolores School. The teachers have high academic standards for the kids and high standards of conduct. There is plenty of recess equipment to go around and adult supervision in the morning and after the final bell rings. The administrators make a point to know all the students and parents and are available to talk as long as you need about anything. Best of all, there is a sense of family that allows for all parents to mind each other's child. And no one feels too shy to tap someone on the shoulder as ask them to listen to the principal. Whatever issues were mentioned in previous posts, it looks like they've been worked out. Our child feels safe, happy, challenged and already made a ton of friends. We love it here!

Mission Dolores Academy 3

Posted August 15, 2010
- a parent
The school is newer and trying to iron out its problems. Nothing happens overnight. They are on-route to becoming a very great school. The vision is there, the funding is increasing, and the quality of student/family/teacher is improving. The more connected the school is to St. Dominic's church...the far better it will enjoy the bountiful blessings that St. Dominic's parish and its members continue to receive. Hang in there Parents!

Mission Dolores Academy 1

Posted May 21, 2010
- a community member
TOO MANY BULLIES IS RIGHT! MY LITTLE ONE HAS COMPLAINED NOTHING WAS DONE! #2 HE WAS SENT HOME FROM SCHOOL FOR POUTING&CRYING!!! #3 HE HAS GAINED 10-12 LBS SINCE ENROLLING 9MOS AGO NOT ENOUGH PHYSICAL ACTIVITY! VERY UNHAPPY, AND I BELIEVE HE IS TOO! CLEARLY STRESSED..


Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school overall from discipline, sports, academic excellence & family values. Everyone is working together as one community.

Mission Dolores Academy 1

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2009
- a parent
I am confident to say that Megan Furth Academy is a phenomenal school. The teachers are amazing and the students seem to succeed because of the high engagement. There is a strong sense of community and Catholic focus. Highly recommend!


Mission Dolores Academy 1

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
To many bullies ... administration would reprimand kids who are simply defending themselves and let bullies get away with anything. It's sad to see how my child's confidence decline drastically.... Will look for another school ASAP

Mission Dolores Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2008
- a teacher
The Megan Furth Academy is private K-8 school that promotes high quality education with a strong sense of community. The core values of the school are to instill a passion for learning, respect for others and self confidence. I love teaching at the Megan Furth Academy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Dolores Academy
3371 16th Street, San Francisco, CA  94114
(415) 346-9500
Last modified Mission Dolores Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Mission Dolores Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.