Advertisement

St. Elizabeth School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $423,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2011

I found that the school is closing or has closed this year. The declining enrollment and increased debt was proof to me that the surrounding area is no longer able to or willing to support the school with declining enrollment over the last five years. I graduated from here in the 1960s when bullying the kid with glasses was the most interesting contact sport. Though I resent those days, it's really too bad that the neighborhood did not have the wherewithal to support the school. Economic factors I guess.


Posted August 16, 2009

My son will be a 4th grader and he is looking forward returning to the school that he loves. It has the best investment I have ever made. My son receives the highest level of education, socially nurtured and in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Care To Share St Elizabeth School With Friends? 5 star rating 'I am a past alumnus as well as two brothers, and now my son attends St. Elizabeth's and other than the school having no nuns, this is a GREAT school. The teachers are there for the children and they make the learning environment wonderful and challenging. From the moment you walk into the school you get the feeling of community and caring. Though a catholic school, the school population is a mix on catholic and non-catholic, religion though important is not the primary focus, it really is the education of the children. This school has a history of graduates moving on to high school (and graduating) and going on to college (some Ivy league) and being successful adults. It is an awesome place and a jewel in the part of San Francisco that is often overlooked. If you are looking for a school, check this one out.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

St. Elizabeth is a school that builds strong Catholic foundation. There is diversity of students that would expose children to multi-cultural backgrounds. The class size average is about 20 students. The teacher student ratio ensures effective learning and enables the teacher to closely monitor the student s individual academic progress. The faculty and staff are highly experienced, credentialed and caring educators. Most of the faculty and staff have been with the school for many years. It s a reflection of the good administration and management of the school. Overall, we have a very satisfying experience with St. Elizabeth School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

the academic program is good. the children are motivated to learn. kind of disappointing with extracurricular activities. they are very limited and some years there have been none. sports are conducted by parents and there is a lot of control and selectivity by parents who are coaching. some of the teachers should consider retiring since they continue to over control the students. parents are very involved in the school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

St. Elizabeth is a hidden gem. My son was reading and calculating addition problems before kindergarten. So I was looking for a school which would recognize and work with his skills. St. Elizabeth's kindergarten program is the best, not only is my son challenged academically, but he is also adjusting well socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 46%
Hispanic 19%
Two or more races 19%
Black 10%
White 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Somerset St
San Francisco, CA 94134
Phone: (415) 468-3247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alta Vista School
San Francisco, CA



El Dorado Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


The San Francisco School
San Francisco, CA



Cornerstone Academy
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT