Advertisement

St. Gabriel Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $660,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2013

Strong academic program and dedicated teachers. Wonderful science program. If you want to try it out, recommend going to 5-week summer school program, which is open to all students. Wonderful fit for my child. Grateful to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

Excellent education and parents involvement. Very traditional education. Weakness being it is very hard to change the way things being done here. Parents have lots good ideas and can provide more professional helps, but hard to get anything changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2010

The teachers are very educated and hardworking, but the students are not very friendly most of the time. The students there gossips and spread rumors a lot.


Posted May 18, 2010

Good science program and hard working kids. Structured K-8 program with many nice families from the parish. Unfortunately, the principal does not lead in the manner in which she portrays to lead. Disappointed by the lack of flexibility with respect to the leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

I discovered that St Gabe's is one of the best investments I could have ever given my boys - the opportunity to have an education in an environment full of inspiring teacher's who really do care about each of their students and want them to do exceptionally well, not just in their studies, but as they grow into young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Great leadership, creative and excellent teachers and staff!


Posted March 20, 2010

Probably overrated but does a good job of promoting itself. Academics are solid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

Strengths include student body and facilities such as computer lab and science lab. Weaknesses include leadership and a focus on group rather than individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

St. Gabriel is a great school that lays the foundation of a great education. They foster a caring and loving environment and groom contributing citizens to society. SG Knights forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

We love St. Gabriel's school for the exceptional academic programs and especially the warm christian community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The best years of my childhood were spent at SG, I have made life long friends and appreciate all my wonderful memories!! I am proud to be a knight!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

A top class education in a caring environment where each child matters. St. Gabe's has a great community and small town feel. The Extended Care program is a really fun place where kids love to go after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The joy of seeing my grandchildren receiving a great education as well as thier participation in numerous school activities. The challenge of seeing all my grandchildren on grandparents day. And who has a better CRAB FEED than St Gabs.....


Posted September 17, 2009

St. Gabriel is a warm, comfortable community, and the school provides our kids with a first-rate education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the community of St. Gabriels. The parents all work together to make it the best school possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

great kids, great parents and great teachers & staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Fantastic school. Great kids, great families, great teachers, great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school has a very caring and extremely educated staff. The curriculum is outstanding and the community is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

St Gabe's provides a value based, excellent education and is also the center of a caring, committed, and family oriented community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

Where do I begin in what my child has gone though with this school. Overall this school has a very tigh community. However, it has alot of issues. I am all for a great academic program. The problem is even the honor roll students have to have extra help from tutors. The school is good up until middle school. The middle school teachers do not make school fun. They treat the kids like as if they were in college. Here's the material now learn it. It's the sink or swim approach. If your child has any learing differences... Forget it! They will weed you out! The school only wants cream of the crop kids to feed the ego. If your child does not fit their 'profile' then you are not welcomed to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Asian 24%
Two or more races 22%
Hispanic 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2550 41st Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94116
Phone: (415) 566-0314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ulloa Elementary School
San Francisco, CA




Sunset Elementary School
San Francisco, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT