Advertisement

St. Ignatius College Preparatory School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $660,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2012

My brother goes to the school I wanna go there it's awsome I love the school grounds soo cool


Posted November 28, 2008

The Best in the city, has educated 2 generations of our family, and under the leadership of Charlie Dullea for the last 25 years as asst principal, principal and now director of new teachers an SF native steeped in integrity, Jesuit tradition and values, he has developed this school into something better than it ever was.. this school is top notch.Now all they need is a lay president.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Undoubtably the best education money can buy. It's expensive because the faculty is first rate, athletics year after year rate very high and the S.I tradition for community, politics and high moral culture among the student body is unparalleled.


Posted August 23, 2008

Overall a very good school. Its strengths are sports programs, the values, service immersions, beautiful facilities, outstanding counsellors and college support. The teaching quality is uneven. My son's best teachers have been in non-honors classes. The school walks a difficult balance between continuing valued traditions and the need for a new generation of ideas. A very good tuition value in comparison to private independent schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

My grandson attends. It is great providing you are a star athlete. Many teachers are quite good, but the general atmosphere favors sports achievement vastly over any academic achievement. In his AP History class, the students mostly watch films, and many of the lower track classes are not challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I attended Lowell High School and thought that I got a great education. The educaiton that my kids are getting at S.I. is even better. Any parent who doesn't take a hard look at this school, and who lives anywhere in the Bay Area, is being foolish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

Best school in the Bay Area hands down. It got me and my friends into Stanford, so I can't complain. I can't imagine having gone anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

Mostly love this school, however it does have some problems- not enough AP classes for qualified students, over emphasis on sports, at this point no real exercise facilities for non team athletes, a slowness of process when it comes to scheduling, TAing, etc. And getting help from teachers- it seems some teachers go the extra mile, while others are never available for students. And SI puts its students in tracks...if you aren't perfect as a freshman, it is almost impossible no matter how well you do as a sophomore to get into AP classes. One of my biggest problems is that they aren't consistent when it comes to rules, coaches, tryouts, etc. The academics are excellent, the facilities are top notch, the staff is generally wonderful. However, I have had to supplement my daughter's education too often with outside programs. SI looks great, and is often great, but there are some problems
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2005

great school, my daughter absolutly loves it, it has a great balance of academics and althelics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

Our son loves his school. The academics, sports, extracurriculars are all top notch and the parents are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

Best teachers and curriculum balancing core educational values as well as athletics and artistic curriculums.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 13, 2004

Absolutely superb in every respect, (building mind, body,& soul). Have two currently attending('05 & '07) and would send more if I had more to send.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2003

An amazing school! My daughter will graduate in '05, and she loves it. As a parent I like to see the involvement of the students, the caring community that they are a part of, and the absolute interest of the faculty and counseling departments. No student can fail in this environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is an absolutely incredible school... A fine example for all public schools to follow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Excellent academics. Every sport available. Wonderful music and drama programs. Well balanced student body. Excellent school in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Asian 21%
Hispanic 11%
Black 4%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 37th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94116
Phone: (415) 731-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Independence High School
San Francisco, CA





Lowell High School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT