Advertisement

St. James School

Private | K-8 | 176 students

Our school is know for being a safe and loving place and no one left behind.

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $675,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2010

En st. James ud . puede encontar un alto nivel academico, valores religiosos y morales, sus maestros son bien capacitados,nuestros hijos estan seguros, y todos somos una gran familia, ideal para los tiempos que vivimos actualmente.mi hija esta feliz en la escuela st. james.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

As a parent of four children I have had experiences with other catholic schools as well as public schools. I currently have two daughters who attend St. James. I decided to send my daughters to St. James due to the programs that differentiate St. James such as the special needs program and music programs. After joining the St. James community I became even more impressed with the quality of the programs- there is a big difference on having a program and have a quality program that is going to help your child excel. As one of my daughters prepares to graduate from St. James- she leaves academically strong which is critical in order for her to thrive in High School. Although, she has a learning difference she is confident due to the support of the staff and encouragement for her to take risks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

Great environment, good education, everyone is happy and parents are friendly, nice , and participate in all events the school offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I'm really happy with my decision to send my daughter to St. James. The teachers are all really qualified and caring. It is a very nurturing, safe environment. I really like that all of the teachers know all of the kids names and the parents get involved to make the school a really nice community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

St. james is a great school, the teacers are great . The principle , teachers and parents are very involved in our childrens growth and future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

I haven't had a problem since my daughter (2nd gr) has attended here at SJ. I love that the the school has a Zero tolerance on bullying. The parents are are great! I am not talking about from my class but from within the whole community. Please check out the school, you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

Great school! Highly recommended!!! The 2009-10 was the first year my girls attented St. James, and there academics improved greatly. Both of my girls transferred from an immersion program and I was a little scared that they were behind in there english comprhension, by the end of the year they are both above average. My first grader made irst honors!!!! (Honor's start in 3rd grade and my other daughter is in 2nd). I do not regret transferring them at all, great school would recommended to anyone. The teachers are great, they are always there to talk to and always willing to help. The Principle, Sister Mary Susan, is great, helps you out in everything she can; she is very involved and knows all her families!!! Great community!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

We love St. James and by "we" i mean my daughter too. It's a safe, nurturing environment with highly qualified teachers and a principal that is very involved, the kids love her!. I love the fact that there's so much parent involvement. It's like a home away from home. They have a very strong academic program as well. My daughter is soaring there! i highly recommend that you visit this school and see for yourself. Nos fascina esta escuela es un ambiente muy sano y seguro con excelentes maestros muy profesionales y muy lindos. La escuela tiene un extenso programa academico y la directora tanto como los padres estan muy involucrados. Les recomiendo que la visiten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

I did not like this school at all. My son just went to this school for 1 yr. and i took him out..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

Good school, very friendly environment, very academically sound. But, lacks drive and true structure needed when it comes to it's student athletes. The entire package needs to be completed (mind, body, and soul)for this school to be one of the best. Almost there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2003

My child has attended St. James for 3 years and has grown tremendously. Not only academically, but socially as well. The parent/teacher/community relationships are strong and it's wonderful that the principal knows every family by name and takes sincere interest in the well being of all the children. Because the school is small (approx. 220 students for K-8) my child knows kids from all grades. The after school program is wonderful and provides a place for my child to complete his homework, have snack and play with his friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 72%
Two or more races 19%
Asian 6%
White 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hispanic 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sister Mary Susanna
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (415) 647-0166

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
  • volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • We encourage students to shadow for a day. Contact us for a tour today! Saint James School was established in 1924 and continues to be administered by the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose in association with their lay partners.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
The Basic Fund

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Immaculate Conception Academy
Archbishop Riordan High School
St. Ignatius College Preparatory
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

321 Fair Oaks Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 647-8972

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Katherine Michiels School
San Francisco, CA



Synergy School
San Francisco, CA



Buena Vista Horace Mann K-8
San Francisco, CA


Sand Paths Academy
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT