Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Philip School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $910,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

We have not been at the school very long, but we are easily very happy with it. We initially went the public route, but failed to get any of our top picks, so we decided to go here as it was local. Funny, now I'm happy how things turned out - it really has been great/solid experience. Pro's: Smaller school so you do feel a bit more care. Easy to talk to teachers, other parents, etc. Very nice (and involved!) parents (get ready to be as well if you attend..but it's worth it). Also, this may sound odd but I don't find the school 'too Catholic'-ly bent - it's not crammed down or anything. Only one of us (parents) was raised Catholic (and didn't do Catholic schools growing up) so that was big. The cost is not nearly as high as other privates but I feel you get way more for your $. Also, I like how this provides us grade 6-8th solution and (if we want) potentially sets us up with a few good Catholic high schools options. The public route had me a bit worried about Jr. High and High School. Only a few cons I can think of: no real big playground, which is a bit of a bummer. And of course, there is a cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

St. Philip School is quite accepting to children with Learning Differences. Kids are not asked to leave once they are diagnosed. The school had a math and reading specialist but children attend these activities in groups. Most teachers agree to aid the progress of the child but no additional individual attention in given. Teachers are open to children using electronic aids (calculators, ipads etc) but this really only applies to the older grades. Diagnosed children are given extra time to complete timed testing. The homework load remains the same however. My son is dyslexic and his hand is ready to fall off after we have spent 3 hours completing his homework each evening after he has attended specialized tutoring. He is also emotionally and physically exhausted. I think that the school could improve on this by somehow incorporating the particular grade curriculum with outside tutoring work completed or having it count as part of the grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I have one child in the preschool and one in kindergarten at St. Philip. The school's marketing may not be slick, but don't misjudge. This school is great - excellent teachers, good discipline and academic rigor, great parents. I feel confident that my children will be well educated and well rounded. My husband and I intend to raise our kids in San Francisco, so we feel lucky to have found this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

I feel the bad reviews about the middle school are a bit unfair. My child is now at Lowell, and doing great. She had the organizational skills and knowledge to transition easily into high school. She was extremely well prepared in English and literature. Math was a bit different. I had been warned that students who arrived at Lowell from small school did not do as well as students from big middle schools. At smaller schools, teachers tend to make sure that all students have mastered a subject before moving on, and parents of kids who do well need to make sure that their kids get challenged (and cover all the material in 8th grade before the high school math placement test... please learn from my shortcomings.) If a small school would be a good fit for your child, St-Philip is as good a place as any, led by a wonderful principal, with a caring, knowledgeable staff. They do their best to help students, but like anywhere else, you need to know what's happening, and be an advocate for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

We just moved here from another School and LOVE IT! The Kids are happy and learning in a positive environment. We have been very impressed with the Third grade teacher, she is truly passionate about teaching! The parents are dedicated and upbeat and always working on how they can do more to support the kids and school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

I have one child at a top-notch elementary public school and one at St Philips middle school and I can tell you that the expectations and teaching standards are quite different. At St. Philips, the teachers are excellent and the curriculum is challenging. The kids are engaged, caring and thoughtful individuals. Kids are given lots of homework and although you are not required to take notes of your textbook, my child does so because he wants to get honors. The academics are tough so if your child is too stressed, the school may not be a good fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

The middle school has been a great experience for my daughter. In one year she learned organizational skills, dedication, respondibilty for her own homework, and of course contents. And most positive surprise after 6 grade, for the first time she said she enjoyed school and would miss her 6 grade teacher over the summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Two of our children attend St. Philip School in Noe Valley. I find it sad that one or two of the families are feeling frustrated. I honestly do not believe that any teacher or member of the faculty hold grudges or do not want to hear about complaints that parents or students may have. Even though my children are still in the lower grades, I have easily gotten to know the teachers of the upper grades. The Principal is very open to new suggestions, ideas and is willing to deal with the smallest of concerns. My sons learning difficulties were quickly identified and he is receiving extra curricular attention for this. The community spirit at the school is very, very impressive and families from many diverse backgrounds and culture attend. St. Philips truly is a hidden gem in the Valley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2012

LOL! It is a Great School for teachers! The middle school teachers are now in the process of cramming in all the lessons over the last few weeks school that they did not cover during the year. No regards for the students. Where did they find these parents to write 5-star reviews? I hope highschool is not like this. Student


Posted May 15, 2012

St Philip's School is a wonderful neighborhood school with a strong sense of community. It's teachers are dedicated hardworking professionals. The principal is a very caring, compassionate person who in my experience has always been available to answer questions or concerns and very receptive to suggestions and ideas from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

St Philip s is an excellent school with amazing teachers. I have three children at the school, including one in the middle school. The teachers are very committed to providing a great learning environment for the children, and we feel lucky to be part of the St Philip s community. St Philip s is a small parochial school and is anchored strongly in the local community. The parental involvement is incredible. Students are well prepared for and go on to the best high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

I don't agree with the recent negative review of the middle school and I know there are many who also disagree with it. Frankly, I don't recognize the school they describe. I am a parent of a child in the middle school and my child is extremely happy there. I know many kids that have gone to the best high schools from St. Philip and were well prepared for that step. The school, like many others, is not without its faults, but the teachers, parents and administration all have the best interests of the children at heart at all times. The school community is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

The "terrible middle school" reviewer hit the nail on the head. The parents are all talking about that post and nobody disagrees with it. There are lots of fed up parents that are too scared to speak up because their kids will be singled out by the teachers or they will get poor high school recommendation letters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

This school has a terrible middle school. The students are afraid of the teachers and therefore don't ask questions. The teachers DO NOT communicate with the parents and DO NOT want to hear from the parents. The Head of School does not control the school. The teachers run the show and not very well. They don't communicate with each other. The parents are afraid of speaking out in fear of not receiving a HS recommendation. The children spend lots of time studying for test that never take place. TO MUCH STRESS! The teachers don't talk to each other to coordinate schedules. Kids can end up having 4 large test on the same day as a paper being due. Moreso, the feedback from children in highschool is that they are behind their peers in math, science, reading, and technology. They have to drop their AP classes because they are inadequately prepared at St. Philips. Too bad because the families and kids are wonderful. But that is not enough to compensate for having a fearful, stressed out, exhausted child with no time for any joy besides because of the chaos at this school.


Posted April 28, 2010

St. Philip School is a Catholic, family style school with the care and education of the students at heart. Parents have been very supportive of class activities and the Fr. Tony, the pastor is present and and very supportive of the students, teachers and educational and spiritual development of all. Mrs. Everett is an open door policy principal, who is a supportive Catholic administrator and believes in and implements the values of a Gospel life and Gospel values for all at St. Philip School. Phone for a tour and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2009

Popular after school programs include Science Adventures, Music, coordinated and well organized off-campus sports led by volunteer parents and Cub Scouting. There is a need however for afterschool assistance for students who desire to do their homework while waiting to be picked up by their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

Our 2nd Gr son's transition from an independent school was very smooth. The school is well run, parent involvement is VERY high. Lots of sports, science adventures, music clubs, and Cub/Girl Scouts. The library is expanding. But a global school email is needed for more effective communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

St. Philip's is one of the best values in San Francisco. The combination of a dedicated faculty and activist parents, supported by a parish who puts a high value on education, creats a community which works together to ensure the finest education for our children. Though we have endured a few rocky spots this year, we have worked together to prevent these problems from affecting our childrens' education. St. Philip's graduates can get into any school to which they apply.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

The school was okay but not enough diversity and they ask for alot of money donation request...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

This school is just amazing! Students are happy, confident, caring and well balanced individuals, academically and emotionally ready for high school and beyond! Schedule a tour and experience for yourself what makes St Philips special...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Two or more races 21%
Hispanic 20%
Asian 4%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (415) 282-5746

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

665 Elizabeth Street
San Francisco, CA 94114
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 824-8467

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Alvarado Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Eureka Learning Center
San Francisco, CA


Rooftop Elementary School
San Francisco, CA



Marin Preparatory School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT