Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
271 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Philip School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
Honesty and Integrity start from the top. When the staff does not trust who they work for, it is hard in a work environment. Staff members have expressed they deeply miss Remy Everett running the school.

St. Philip School 3

Posted March 01, 2016
- a community member
The school has been consistently behind in English and Math. As my child studied to take the HSPT there was so much to still learn. Hopefully the test will not be the only determination to get into our high school of choice. Speaking to parents of children who have graduated from this school, it seems to be they struggle a bid more than kids from other SF Catholic Schools. We also still do not have a Principal.


St. Philip School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
I feel it's time I update my previous review, now that my son has entered the 6th grade middle school area of the school. He is very enthusiastic and is really enjoying learning and taking on more responsibility. After attending the Back to school night recently, I can see why, each teacher for the various subjects such as math, science, literature and history had one common denominator they expressed us to encourage our children to ask questions be involved. If a child was having trouble each of them made it clear they were available at different times either at recess or after school for any additional help! With support like that no wonder the kids get into the best high schools of their choice in the city!!

St. Philip School 1

Posted September 08, 2015
- a student
This school has a large class size. There is not enough supervision on the school yard and kids get hurt. The school is fine until you have a problem and then the administration is not equipped to properly deal with it. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

St. Philip School 2

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
It's important to understand that Catholic schools do not require the same rigorous credentials that Public School teachers need to have a job teaching... in fact they do not even need a teaching degree. We were at this school for one year, since we could not get into any of our choice schools for SF Public. We are not religious, and I felt way too much time was wasted in a Religion Class (and assignments/activities), which students are graded on and reflected in the report card... when they could be focusing on some more important subjects. We transferred out back into a SF Public school - (Miraloma) which has been leaps and bounds a better education for my kids.


St. Philip School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
This is my 19th year at St. Philips and my 3rd child going through. My daughter is in 7th grade and wants to attend SH. My other 2 went to Riordan and SH. This IS a Catholic school so of course Religion is taught. This is why we sent our kids here! We have been here through 4 principals and many teachers, and the hiring is excellent. Yes, it can be expensive but you are told up front all the costs and how much participation is required. We have a huge active community that is supported and loved by our church. All children and their parents are accepted at this school. My oldest son is a Catholic grade school teacher at another school. This is what we want for our family. If religion upsets or scares you, then it's not the right place for you. It has been the absolute best thing we could have done for our kids. And the parents are a great, fun, hardworking team

St. Philip School 1

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
As a gay parent I can't justify sending my kids there anymore. We initially went since we didnt get in any of the public schools we applied for. But the kids being graded on religion (and wasting school time with that rather than a useful subject like reading, math or science) and the feeling that I'm giving money to the Catholic church as an organization makes me feel sick. Religion should have no place in education. Yes, this school's teachers and staff are great, and have been with my family... and I don't think any of them really support the Catholic church's larger discrimination... but the best thing we can do is show the church our disapproval by our checkbooks. We were fortunate enough to get a second chance at SF Public, and have been really happy there. Good riddance Catholic Church.

St. Philip School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
Join us for Kindergarten Open House, Wednesday October 15, 2014 at 7pm in the kindergarten classroom. Learn about the curriculum, tour the classroom, meet the teachers and talk with parents.


St. Philip School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
We have not been at the school very long, but we are easily very happy with it. We initially went the public route, but failed to get any of our top picks, so we decided to go here as it was local. Funny, now I'm happy how things turned out - it really has been great/solid experience. Pro's: Smaller school so you do feel a bit more care. Easy to talk to teachers, other parents, etc. Very nice (and involved!) parents (get ready to be as well if you attend..but it's worth it). Also, this may sound odd but I don't find the school 'too Catholic'-ly bent - it's not crammed down or anything. Only one of us (parents) was raised Catholic (and didn't do Catholic schools growing up) so that was big. The cost is not nearly as high as other privates but I feel you get way more for your $. Also, I like how this provides us grade 6-8th solution and (if we want) potentially sets us up with a few good Catholic high schools options. The public route had me a bit worried about Jr. High and High School. Only a few cons I can think of: no real big playground, which is a bit of a bummer. And of course, there is a cost.

St. Philip School 4

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
I feel the bad reviews about the middle school are a bit unfair. My child is now at Lowell, and doing great. She had the organizational skills and knowledge to transition easily into high school. She was extremely well prepared in English and literature. Math was a bit different. I had been warned that students who arrived at Lowell from small school did not do as well as students from big middle schools. At smaller schools, teachers tend to make sure that all students have mastered a subject before moving on, and parents of kids who do well need to make sure that their kids get challenged (and cover all the material in 8th grade before the high school math placement test... please learn from my shortcomings.) If a small school would be a good fit for your child, St-Philip is as good a place as any, led by a wonderful principal, with a caring, knowledgeable staff. They do their best to help students, but like anywhere else, you need to know what's happening, and be an advocate for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Philip School
665 Elizabeth Street, San Francisco, CA  94114
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (415) 824-8467
Last modified St. Philip School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top