Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas the Apostle School

Private | PK-8 | 318 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $750,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2013

This school is a hidden gem in San Francisco. My daughter has just blossomed here. The teachers and principal are all very engaging and helpful. The small classes and family feel of the community is amazing, and the academic support is incredible. I couldn't be happier with our decision to attend STA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

The preschool at STA is nothing short of amazing. I've interviewed at several preschools throughout the bay area and eventually found this to be what I need. As a SAHM, there had to be a compelling reason for me to choose to send my child away to school since there was so much I could offer him at home and by taking him to all the museums in San Francisco. STA preschool offers a facility that dwarfs any other preschool in the bay area with highly educated and skilled teachers who know how to bring out the best in the children. They are tremendous at building confidence and inter-personal skills, as well as the educational foundation for early learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

STA is a rare find! We transferred our son here this school year after a year of being bullied and unchallenged in our local public school. The academics are superb, faculty and staff are warm and caring, and the principal is a true leader. You can't find a better Catholic school in the SF Archdiocese.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

Best school in the SF by far! As a recent graduate of this school, I was able to live through 9 years at STA. This school, as I see it, is one of the main reasons why I became who I am today. The school has much to provide from wonderful drama programs and an awesome tutoring program to supportive teachers and a loving community. The best part of STA, in my opinion, would be the faculty and community. The faculty at STA truly helped motivate me to be a successful student and athlete. The teachers are always there with their doors open for everyone. Being a student that wanted another supporter by my side, this really helped and as one of my teachers said, "this is a marathon and I am running beside you. We need a strong start and a strong finish." I am truly thankful for EVERYTHING that STA had provided for me and given to me to become a successful student. Without STA, I would never discipline myself and learn moral values.


Posted May 30, 2012

We transferred our daughter here because she was not challenged enough in a highly rated public K-8. We're very happy with the quality of education at STA. This school sends students to top private high schools every year such as University, L-W and SI. In addition, it's a warm family atmosphere that emphasizes moral behavior and good manners, so lacking for young adults right now. This school is an incredible tuition value compared to some schools that cost as much as UC and provide frills but not much substance. STA has everything we wanted and our daughter is thriving there. For us it was definitely the right move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Both of my children attend this school, one in K and one in 2nd. Ms. Borelli is a great principal and is very open to our suggestions. Mrs. Greenhouse, the office manager, is wonderful as well. This school exceeded our expectations and I would definitely recommend it to everybody. It is a smaller school but to me, that's the appeal. You develop a bond with other parents and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

My kids love STA. My son has a learning disability and if it were not for Mrs Harrison-Wong, I doubt if he would be reading at his level at this time. She works with him four days a week after school and I do not have to pay any extra fees for this. I had spent hundreds on private tutors and specialists before STA but my child never improved. It was not until STA that this became a possibility. I am so happy. I see my child reading and keeping up with the rest of the students in his class. His third grade teacher, Mrs Anderson is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

This is a great school. The principal Mis Borelli is open and supportive of her staff and teachers. The school has a family atmosphere and most of the parents know each other. The academic standards are high and there is a great Big brother/Big sister program in place. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I am currently an 8th grade student at St. Thomas the Apostle and just received my letters of acceptance this past week. Thanks to St. Thomas the Apostle's fabulous education and foundation for the past 9 years, I am able to choose from some of the many prestigious high schools in the city such as University High School, Lowell, Saint Ignatius, Sacred Heart, Lick-Wilmerding, Urban, Drew, and Bay.


Posted March 22, 2011

My son was transfered to the school in 3rd grade and at the time he was an average to above average student. Today he is on 1st honors for every report period and at 98 percentile for the Iowa Test Nationally. He now has aspirations to attend Oxford University. All this is possible due to the love and professionalism shown by everyone from the Principal, to the Vice Principal and the exemptional teaching staff. I am active in the Parent Teacher Group for the last three years and I am very proud that we have been able to bring the Science, in class teaching equipment (smartboards) to the students. Along with that the single classes, which are involved in families, which consist of one student from K-8, are ways that Integrity, Love and Stewardship are promoted in the school. I am proud to be involved in the whole school and all that are there. I can not imagine my son ever going anywhere else for the most important foundation for his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

This school has been fantastic for my son. We transferred him to STA in 3rd grade several years ago and have never regretted the decision. The principal and teachers are highly dedicated and the parents and students are respectful and involved. The academics are very strong and the children and their success are the number one priority at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

This school takes education very seriously and prepares the child for high school sholastically and also teaches good manners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It is a great school and the school stresses out the importance of education and family values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Students, teachers, academics are all top notch! Transferring my child to this school from one of the local high-priced elite schools was a correct decision. This school has a no-nonsense approach with a high level of academic and performance expectations. Children are kind and the faculty and the administration are highly supportive and friendly. I wish we would have come here sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

The teachers at sta are always will in to help the students no matter what the problem or condition is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2009

As a parent (2nd yr) who researched and visited many schools in the SF area, I found St. Thomas to be top rated school and very good value for a private school. The staff/faculty are excellent in terms of educational knowledge, community & value building, very important qualities for todays young people. I highly recommend the school, principal, staff (very friendly, good communication), curriculum, and location. See their web site too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

Excellent school for the price. The students are regularly admitted to top high schools. The absolutely best thing about the school is the amazingly kind, large-hearted students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2007

It's a well educated school where students have a very safe environment. All our kids love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

ST. Thomas the Apostle is a top acedemic school, the faculty constantly challenges the students. In addition to the strong academic core subjects - ST. Thomas has computer, drama, P.E., Spanish and other art oriented classes in their curriculum. In the the upper grades the 7th and 8th grade students can join the speech team who are undefeated for the last 6 + years. There is a fall and spring play which is lead by Mr. L (who is fabulous!), he is also the summer gate drama director. In a nutshell, with one of the most reasonable tuition in the city, you really get your money's worth and then some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

STA has many fine teachers and programs. Many of the teachers are dedicated and hardworking. However, the class size is too large. She also struggled in some subjects, but was not always able to get the help she needed in a large setting. If children do not have a learning disability, are in a big size classroom, and need extra help, they will not get quality there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 73%
Two or more races 12%
White 10%
Hispanic 3%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (415) 221-8611

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of San Francisco
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3801 Balboa Street
San Francisco, CA 94121
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 221-2711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lafayette Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


Presidio Middle School
San Francisco, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT