Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


St. Monica School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
St. Monica's is a wonderful school. The principal, teachers and staff are caring and helpful. It is a great community. We love St. Monica's and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great school for their children.

St. Monica School 4

Posted March 24, 2014
- a community member
my nephew who's in the 3rd grade transitioned to this school and good to see that he is doing good. school staff is nice, especially ms Dillon in the office.


St. Monica School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
Trying to decide if a private school is right for your child? We didn't know either until we enrolled our daughter. While I appreciate all the students wearing uniforms along with teaching about God, our daughter has come along well so far since Kinder year who is now in the 3rd grade. I appreciate that it's a smaller school community with a strong parent network. Although each family has a required set of parent service hours that need to be met these hours are very easily attainable. There are many opportunities and different ways to meet those hours and we have actually gone over. I have talked to other parents at other private schools in San Francisco and their required parent service hours are considerably much more than what St. Monica requires which is nice to know.

St. Monica School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
We couldn't be more happier with how our 3rd grader is doing at St. Monica's. Ms. Keb steps it up a notch with teaching her class responsibility and accountability. We appreciate how academics are taught and like how there is a good balance of both academics and creative learning. There are music are art classes plus a number of after school activities that include guitar lessons, Academic Chess, Chinese classes, and sports involvement. We also appreciate Mrs. Harrington who heads the Extended Care program. Since she joined there have been some outstanding changes that involve more creative learning during the after school hours along with dedicated homework time for the students as well. The fees for Extended Care are extremely reasonable compared to learning about after school care programs at other schools.

St. Monica School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
You might pass up this gem in the Outer Richmond district if you think it is like a traditional parochial school. This school has an unbelievable warm mentor and innovative leader in our Principal, Mr. Sweeters. What drew us to this school is the intimate campus and the dedication to the core philosophy that weaves academic excellence, character, civic mind and personal accountability. If you have a child that would love to stretch their vocal cords - there is the honor's choir, if you have a child who loves to use his or her mind - we have chess, if you have a child who is creative and interested in exploring music, we have it all here. And, yes SPORTS! The faculty consists of years upon years of experience and the love each teacher has for her students AMAZING. Every school conference or issue your child might encounter is met with the loving desire to see each and every child succeed. What I have noticed in both my children is a passion for learning and unbelievable growth in comportment. If you are looking for a school that goes beyond your expectations and affordable then come to our next open house. You will not be disappointed.


St. Monica School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
I highly recommend St. Monica School for its quality of teaching, small size, excellent leadership, sports programs and parent community involvement. I have a child in the 8th grade who started here in kindergarten and also a 3rd grade child. I have noticed many improvements over the last nine years under the leadership of our principal Mr. Sweeters. He continually strives to make our school better from obtaining and renewing WAS accreditation to bringing technology into the classroom. The middle school school teachers are definitely challenging but they want to prepare every student for success in high school and beyond. My children have made good friends here and I feel that it is a close-knit community that takes care of each other.

St. Monica School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
My son is currently an 8th grader at Saint Monica School. We highly recommend this school and following are some of the reasons: 1) Academic standards are set high, but the teachers create opportunities to motivate the children so they can correct their occasional failures. My son is well prepared academically and now has a number of options to attend some of the best high schools in SF. 2) All the teachers (Mrs. Aguire, Mr. Devine, Mr. Mullen, Mr. Bussey) set high standards for good conduct and have a lot of heart. They paid close attention to my son's character development and kept us informed when there are any problems so improvements can be made. 3) Mr. Sweeters, our principal, is very nice to the children and the parents. He creates many opportunities for parents to get involved in the school. Mr. Sweeters works very hard for the welfare of our school. I have seen him standing in the middle of the street, in the rain, directing traffic to keep our children safe. 4) Saint Monica has a tutoring program where 7th & 8th graders can gain experience tutoring younger kids.

St. Monica School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
We are so glad to have found St. Monica School! Our daughter is in kindergarten and so far she is loving it! Not only are the teachers and staff excellent, the school also has a close and responsive parent network/club. We find that St. Monica School's Kindergarten is not only warm and nurturing, but also academically focused, with a curriculum that is engaging and fun. We love that arts and PE are incorporated into their daily routine and not compromised. In addition to regular school activities, my daughter is also learning Mandarin in their After-School Enrichment program. We love that the school is small and intimate and that the principal is easily accessible should we have any questions or comments. The tuition is also very reasonable compare to other private/parochial schools. Highly recommended!


St. Monica School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter started kindergarten at St. Monica this past fall and it has been a great experience so far. It was a smooth transition from preschool and we are amazed on a daily basis by the things she is learning. It is proved to be a nurturing and structured environment at just the right balance. Instilling a sense of independence and accountability while simultaneously fostering an environment of respect, compassion and kindness. The kinder/8th grade buddy program has been one of our daughter's favorite programs so far. She also enjoys Chess Club that is offered in the after school program. We are very happy to be apart of the St. Monica community!

St. Monica School 5

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
We love St. Monica School! The parent community is extraordinary, and academics very competitive. Its friendly and safe. Our children love going to school there!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Monica School
5950 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA  94121
(415) 751-9564
Last modified St. Monica School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Monica School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.